News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Reviews > Nali City > Nali City - Map Making > Level Editing - Basic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16th Sep 2004, 03:17 PM   #1
FW|morpheus
Inconsistent
 
FW|morpheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 21st, 2003
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 31
Terrain height

I kind of hit the ceiling in my map, but simply raising the Z-axis limits of the terrain would alter stretch the terrain and I really don't want that. Is there a "harmless" way to increase the Z-axis limits of the terrain?
FW|morpheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Sep 2004, 02:11 PM   #2
KingMango
pwnt
 
KingMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 12th, 2004
Location: just another suburbia
Posts: 141
I'm afraid I can't really figure out anything from that question. Do you mean the terrain you are building is touching/going through the top of the subtract cube that it's in?
__________________
Regards,
King Mango

"Do people even learn how to think anymore, or do we just cram test answers into their brains?"
-Angel Mapper
KingMango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Sep 2004, 03:11 PM   #3
FW|morpheus
Inconsistent
 
FW|morpheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 21st, 2003
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 31
I'm saying that the terrain has a limit on how high/low mountains/depressions can be and I hit it(bad planning I'm afraid), but simply doubling(or something) the associated values in the terrain settings will mess up the existing terrain, so I need an alternative.

Last edited by FW|morpheus; 26th Sep 2004 at 03:13 PM. Reason: spelling
FW|morpheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Sep 2004, 04:13 PM   #4
KingMango
pwnt
 
KingMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 12th, 2004
Location: just another suburbia
Posts: 141
OIC. You're already at the max paintable height. Well you don't have to double the terrain scale. The terrain scale can be any number you want. Doesn't have to be powers of two, nor does it even have to be an even number. You can feather it up a bit w/o doing too much deformation to your existing terrain.
__________________
Regards,
King Mango

"Do people even learn how to think anymore, or do we just cram test answers into their brains?"
-Angel Mapper
KingMango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Apr 2005, 12:09 AM   #5
ReD_Fist
Banned
 
ReD_Fist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 6th, 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,404
Yes but when I made my own grayscale heightmap,what should the matt value be,cause it was way to high,and waay to flatI am assuming 128 gray,but it didn't seem to act right either.
__________________
RF out...............
ReD_Fist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Apr 2005, 08:25 AM   #6
KingMango
pwnt
 
KingMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 12th, 2004
Location: just another suburbia
Posts: 141
When you use UED to create a terrainmap, it asks you the height and the default setting is 32768. This is the equivalent of 50 per cent grey.
Now I have never measured how high or low you can get a terrain painted using UED at the default 64 terrain scale, but I KNOW it is not 65536 as you might guess from the default settings because I have just recently painted to the max height with a terrain created in UED which really surprised me because I was probably only 4096 above the initial 'sheet.' I do occasionally now bring in exported Terragen maps and those are ALWAYS insanely high and low. And I have to set the terrainscale Z to something as low as even 8 sometimes. So I am not sure what the rhyme and reason to the realation between shade variations. If you can perhaps try using curves (In PS) to adjust your output intensities and then just familiarize yourself with what 'looks' right you may just be able to develop a natural feel for freehand terrain map creation.
So in this long ramble, all I meant to suggest was using curves to adjust your maps
__________________
Regards,
King Mango

"Do people even learn how to think anymore, or do we just cram test answers into their brains?"
-Angel Mapper
KingMango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Apr 2005, 08:31 AM   #7
Bot_40
Go in drains
 
Bot_40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 3rd, 2001
Location: York, UK
Posts: 2,911
Well yeah, I don't think there's a simple way, you gotta increase your z scale if you want more space to work with. Exporting your heightmap to photoshop and fidling with the contrast "should" work but photoshop doesn't support 32-bit grayscale images (which is the format of the heightmap) unless they changed that in a later version.
__________________
New Website
"Purple Ants's national animal is the giant hourences and its currency is the zlal."
Bot_40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Apr 2005, 08:38 AM   #8
KingMango
pwnt
 
KingMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 12th, 2004
Location: just another suburbia
Posts: 141
16 bit.
You have to use G16 to export to a raw file and then open it in PS and then re-import it to G16 to save as a 16 bit BMP to get back in the ed.
__________________
Regards,
King Mango

"Do people even learn how to think anymore, or do we just cram test answers into their brains?"
-Angel Mapper
KingMango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Apr 2005, 10:33 AM   #9
Bot_40
Go in drains
 
Bot_40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 3rd, 2001
Location: York, UK
Posts: 2,911
Yeah sorry 16 bit not 32
__________________
New Website
"Purple Ants's national animal is the giant hourences and its currency is the zlal."
Bot_40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Mar 2006, 12:28 AM   #10
Kitty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 22nd, 2006
Posts: 4
How can I get actor's location info when play in demo.
Thanks.
Kitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Mar 2006, 06:38 PM   #11
Kitty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 22nd, 2006
Posts: 4
function Vector GetCollisionExtent ()
{
local Vector Extent;

Extent = CollisionRadius * vect(1.00,1.00,0.00); // 0x00000016 : 0x0000
Extent.Z = CollisionHeight; // 0x0000002B : 0x001A
return Extent; // 0x00000033 : 0x002A
}
Kitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer