News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 8th Sep 2004, 04:26 PM   #1
Learnu
Where ever you go, there you are.
 
Learnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 1st, 2004
Posts: 49
Lightbulb X and Y movement of brushes goes X, Y and Z

start

Hi, I hope someone can help me, currently I 'm following the tutorial on my 2K4 DVD SE disk, and things are going quite well, except that my view has gone wild or movement has. I used to be able to move a brush or object from left to right, place it, then subtract/add it, but now it goes criss-cross(farther and closer) and I have to use the other viewports to get something moved accurately, which is a pain in the bum.
I may have an example of lots of BSP holes perhaps, so I might start the tute again, that is if I can't get the answer here. which would be ok I guess, because then I'd be able to perfect what I did wrong first time round I guess.

Oops, I think I've just answered my own question - But hey, if anyone out there has got the answer to the above problem, please tell.

I have gotten hooked on the game and the editor is brill, brings a whole new outlook on life in general. But this tiny little thing is frustrating.

And this thread is beginning to look backward, sorry.

Nick
Learnu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Sep 2004, 04:37 PM   #2
T2A`
I'm dead.
 
Join Date: Jan. 10th, 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 8,769
Post a picture of what you're talking about. Sounds to me like you might have the "View Backdrop" option checked. If you navigate outside your subtracted space with it checked it can create a HOM effect in your viewport.
T2A` is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Sep 2004, 05:18 PM   #3
W0RF
BuF Greeter, News Bagger
 
W0RF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 19th, 2002
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 8,731
I've crashed my UEd like 3 times doing precisely that.
__________________





Maps: CTF-ColaWars-FragBU - current version = 2 | CTF/BR/JB/TDM-BuFferZone - In Progress
W0RF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Sep 2004, 06:03 PM   #4
T2A`
I'm dead.
 
Join Date: Jan. 10th, 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 8,769
Shouldn't crash it, AFAIK. Must have been something else.
T2A` is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Sep 2004, 08:58 PM   #5
W0RF
BuF Greeter, News Bagger
 
W0RF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 19th, 2002
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 8,731
:shrug: It just hangs, and I have to hard-reboot. It's never done that before, and it's only done that with skybox active in editor.
__________________





Maps: CTF-ColaWars-FragBU - current version = 2 | CTF/BR/JB/TDM-BuFferZone - In Progress
W0RF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Sep 2004, 09:34 PM   #6
JonAzz
UA Mapper
 
JonAzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 1st, 2003
Location: North of Philadelphia
Posts: 1,181
there is some button or something that messes with this, I've done it before but I can't remember how to fix it.... try resetting your viewpoints, view>configure veiwpoints

that migght help as it sounds like a problem in one viewpoint
__________________
JonAzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Sep 2004, 04:49 PM   #7
Learnu
Where ever you go, there you are.
 
Learnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 1st, 2004
Posts: 49
Unhappy

Thanks a lot for all the help so far.
I thought I partially cured by doing a build all, but to no avail.
Here, attached is a cruedly detailed picture of what I am working on.
It shows my red outlined cube, near the screen, but to the left of it, if i were to move it backwards it would shrink, it's almost as if the X and Y planes have turned by 45 degrees.

Also I tried building a sheet, because I wanted to make a window inside my map, then I subtract it, it subtracts at 45 degrees(again) to what I thought I had positioned it to. I don't know it's awfully confusing.


Thoughts, anyone, I'm going to cry now
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	editor prob.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	254.0 KB
ID:	82931   Click image for larger version

Name:	editor prob001.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	350.3 KB
ID:	82932  
Learnu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Sep 2004, 05:24 PM   #8
Learnu
Where ever you go, there you are.
 
Learnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 1st, 2004
Posts: 49
Wink

Oh, by the way, I am fairly familiar with UTeD, but if there are any references to menu items within, I would like to know how to get there, please.

Thumbs up to the MODS here, they seem to be in check with everything, and keen - some forums I've been to, they just don't want to know. Great stuff.
[UNREAL]Cool[/UNREAL]
Learnu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Sep 2004, 05:33 PM   #9
T2A`
I'm dead.
 
Join Date: Jan. 10th, 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 8,769
I'm not really sure why that sheet twisted like it did when you added it in the second picture, but for the rest of the level it seems you don't have grid snap turned on. See that grayed out boxy-looking thing to the left of the grid size pull-down menu that currently says 16? Click that and your brushes and stuff will snap to the grid.

BTW, you don't need to color out the porn sites in your task bar. We already know what's there.

Last edited by T2A`; 9th Sep 2004 at 05:35 PM.
T2A` is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Sep 2004, 05:57 PM   #10
Learnu
Where ever you go, there you are.
 
Learnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 1st, 2004
Posts: 49
Unhappy grid snap, X and Y

LOL.


The grid snapping seems to work, although I've never actually turned it off in the first place(or maybe, I dunno)

But I tried subtracting the sheet again but still did it at the funny angle, didn't work. I also tried adding it, a sort of doorway appeared just to the left of it, maybe the last subtraction I did? No. the central point of the sheet starts the subtraction of the area, so I dunno what's going on there.
Here's another picky(cleaner)

Can I send you the actual file to look at? ie. could it be my editor is set up wrong? I have tried to reset all, configured the viewports, turned on/off vertex snap, etc.

Nick
Learnu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Sep 2004, 06:02 PM   #11
Learnu
Where ever you go, there you are.
 
Learnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 1st, 2004
Posts: 49
Unhappy grid snap, X and Y

LOL.


The grid snapping seems to work, although I've never actually turned it off in the first place(or maybe, I dunno)

But I tried subtracting the sheet again but still did it at the funny angle, didn't work. I also tried adding it, a sort of doorway appeared just to the left of it, maybe the last subtraction I did? No. the central point of the sheet starts the subtraction of the area, so I dunno what's going on there.
Here's another picky(cleaner)

Can I send you the actual file to look at? ie. could it be my editor is set up wrong? I have tried to reset all, configured the viewports, turned on/off vertex snap, etc.

Nick
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	editor prob003.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	384.5 KB
ID:	82936  
Learnu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Sep 2004, 07:55 PM   #12
T2A`
I'm dead.
 
Join Date: Jan. 10th, 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 8,769
Just so you know, sheets do not block players or weapon fire. Maybe this is all due to brush order and what you're trying to do. I'd recommend finding a good tutorial on basic BSP techniques. I searched the Wiki real quick and found this: http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/wiki/Building_With_CSG. Hopefully it'll be useful.
T2A` is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Sep 2004, 08:06 AM   #13
W0RF
BuF Greeter, News Bagger
 
W0RF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 19th, 2002
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 8,731
Is it maybe Transform -> Permanent or whatever that function is?
__________________





Maps: CTF-ColaWars-FragBU - current version = 2 | CTF/BR/JB/TDM-BuFferZone - In Progress
W0RF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Sep 2004, 09:26 AM   #14
Learnu
Where ever you go, there you are.
 
Learnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 1st, 2004
Posts: 49
Smile

The sheet idea is to make window, then add a volume/material to it.

Anyway, Iv'e scrapped this map and am going to attempt to do another one, this time with grid snap on, so that everything is uniform. (I think that was my problem, where nothing lines up properly). the map has started to do wierd things now, and I can't select anything in wireframe now, so I guess I'll add it to the manky map pile.

Thanks everyone for your help.

Just one other quesy, where is the 'view backdrops' option you mentioned? I can't find it.

Again thanks everyone.
Learnu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Sep 2004, 12:23 PM   #15
T2A`
I'm dead.
 
Join Date: Jan. 10th, 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 8,769
Either right-click on the top bar where it says Perspective and go to the View menu, or have the Perspective Viewport active and hit 'k'.
T2A` is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Sep 2004, 04:00 PM   #16
Learnu
Where ever you go, there you are.
 
Learnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 1st, 2004
Posts: 49
Wink

Thanks, tried it in persp view and the whole thing went extremely wierd, like 1970's top of the pops effects, when camera zooms on the band and moves it around in a circular way, leaving previous frames behind, wo! freaky stuff.

UeD has gotten very slow now, so I must've done something wrong when I added brushes(and tried to make them fit), must be calculating so much, I think.

On an other note, I started re-building my map again with everything turned on that's supposed to be, ie. grid snap, it's working fine now. I suggest that to any noobs(like me) out there that they follow the tutes, strictly! Until they get familiar with it that is!

Thanks again
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	lol.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	390.9 KB
ID:	83028  
Learnu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Sep 2004, 04:39 PM   #17
T2A`
I'm dead.
 
Join Date: Jan. 10th, 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 8,769
That would be a HOM (hall of mirrors) effect. Since it's all around your level, I'm assuming you were outside your BSP subtractions when you hit 'k', which is a no-no. Showing the backdrop makes whatever you have set to be your skybox via a SkyZoneInfo show up on whichever surfaces you have flagged as "Fake backdrop."
T2A` is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer