News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Coding

Old 6th Sep 2004, 08:05 PM   #1
Axionysus
Don't Call Us, We Won't Call You :)

Question In game IM client mod

I'm relatively new to modding and mutators but I have an ambitious idea for a project that will combine an Instant message environment that supports mulitiple clients including- AIM, MSN, Yahoo, and IRC or at the very least AIM with UT2K4's HUD as a HUD mutator (interaction). I think I'll change the texture files that the program (trillian) uses into .utx's and then write a small script that causes the final graphics product to be called to the game's screen with the press of a designated key. However I'm wondering how I can allow a script that lives in UT and is written in UnrealScript to utilize the actual messaging features (dll.s, buddy list, ignore/block list, log files, etc.). Is it possible to create some type of function that loads all of Trillian's files (dll, xml, dtd, and txt are the main ones I believe) from the client's computer into Unreal and allows the mutator to access them accordingly? Or do I have to somehow create a series of new classes like UT2004's IRC classes used for in game chat that give my mutator IM client functionality.... does anyone have any ideas, links, advice etc.

Last edited by Mychaeel; 7th Sep 2004 at 03:12 AM. Reason: removed font color/face markup
Axionysus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Sep 2004, 11:39 AM   #2
Shambler[Bishop
>Put title here<

That's pretty ambitious...I wouldn't think IRC would be too big a problem seeing as that's already functional on the browser but as for the IM programs....Well you would have to look up technical information on those programs and then probably use the InternetInfo classes (UDPLink/TCPLink) in IpDrv.u to communicate between programs.

I would think it'd be a lot of work.
Shambler[Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote