News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Mods > The Fraghouse Mod Team > Off topic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25th Aug 2004, 05:45 PM   #1
Wookiee
Lets Rock
 
Wookiee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 4th, 2004
Posts: 258
My Question

Hey, I just got finished with this cool deathmatch map I made (first one too). I'm done with everything but - How do I put a screenshot in the level description? I tried going into level summary and adding it in there, but it wont let me browse for screenshots. Please help!
Wookiee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Aug 2004, 06:01 PM   #2
Kaithofis
The Seldom Seen Kid
 
Kaithofis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 20th, 2004
Location: Land of the Dutch.
Posts: 916
All you have to do is to have the screenshot selected in your texture browser (by left-clicking it), and then simply click USE at the Screenshot bar in the LevelSummary
also, make sure the size of it is 512x256 for best results
__________________
Kaithofis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Aug 2004, 06:23 PM   #3
Wookiee
Lets Rock
 
Wookiee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 4th, 2004
Posts: 258
Hmm. I tried opening up the shot in its .bmp format and it crashed the editor, then I tried changing the suffix to .utx and that crashed the editor too. Any suggestions?
Wookiee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Aug 2004, 07:53 PM   #4
Daedalus
I don't even...
 
Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 24th, 2001
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 4,261
yo uhave to import it for it to work. I believe you also have to change the extension to a .pcx
__________________
...
____
Daedalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2004, 09:05 AM   #5
Parser
Hello
 
Join Date: May. 7th, 2002
Location: England baby!
Posts: 1,531
Take a screenshot of your map (in spectator mode, using "killall hud" in the console without quotes), then find it in your /Screenshots/ directory. Edit it using an image editor and resize it to 512x256 - it can remain a .bmp - then import it into myLevel using the texture browser. Right click and convert it to DXT5 to reduce the filesize, then use that in your map's level properties.

Simple.. right?
Parser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2004, 10:02 PM   #6
Wookiee
Lets Rock
 
Wookiee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 4th, 2004
Posts: 258
W00T!

Thanks a ton! It worked, and now i have a cool screenshot of each of the four main rooms on the description page - now to find out how to put music in a map.
Wookiee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2004, 09:08 AM   #7
Parser
Hello
 
Join Date: May. 7th, 2002
Location: England baby!
Posts: 1,531
That's under the level properties too.

Just find a music .ogg file that you like, then put the filename but not the .ogg extension in the music path if you find it.
Parser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2004, 02:54 PM   #8
Wookiee
Lets Rock
 
Wookiee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 4th, 2004
Posts: 258
Oh, ok... I was trying to use the music browser lol, and wondering why every level is an .ogg. I'll check that out today.

EDIT: Ok, now if I only knew the legal crap for this because i found some cool .ogg music from other games but don't want my ass kicked by a lawsuit.

Last edited by Wookiee; 27th Aug 2004 at 11:23 PM.
Wookiee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Aug 2004, 04:36 PM   #9
Dark_Dust
Barbecue Biertje Bob ^_^
 
Dark_Dust's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 21st, 2004
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 214
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by Parser
Take a screenshot of your map (in spectator mode, using "killall hud" in the console without quotes), then find it in your /Screenshots/ directory. Edit it using an image editor and resize it to 512x256 - it can remain a .bmp -
Instead of resizing them in a image editor, press Alt+Enter to go in window mode and then typ setres 512x256 in your console before you take a screenshot. It's quicker that way, oi parser.

When you exit and restart UT2004, everything is back to normal, as you configured.

Last edited by Dark_Dust; 30th Aug 2004 at 01:54 PM.
Dark_Dust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Aug 2004, 12:01 AM   #10
Wookiee
Lets Rock
 
Wookiee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 4th, 2004
Posts: 258
Question

So I have my pretty cool map, my cool music, my screenshot/level description - now how and where do I get it hosted for downloads? I cant host games online because it crashes when I do that... must've downloaded some bug.
Wookiee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Aug 2004, 05:05 AM   #11
Dark_Dust
Barbecue Biertje Bob ^_^
 
Dark_Dust's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 21st, 2004
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 214
You can host it on your own website from your isp if that's possible and know how. Or for one, you can put it on www.ut2003hq.com
Dark_Dust is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer