News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 9th Jul 2004, 06:53 PM   #1
CobaltBlue
CobaltBlue
 
Join Date: Jun. 27th, 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 16
Angry None Colliding Ramp Issue

I've had problems with staticmesh ramps from time to time. currently I'm trying to use the T-ramp peace in far.urx, and nothing will collide with it, the rest of the ramp peices work fine, and the properties of the staticmeshes are all okay, so I'm puzzled. Plus with the T-ramp peices in the editor when I try to put objects directly on them with the right click add menu, either it won't do anything or it will place the peice in this random odd place on the map. I don't want to have to hide blockingzones in all the ramping, because I don't think that would be very resource efficiant, and I'm going to have efficiency issues as is. If anyone could help it would be greatly appreaciated.

Oh and... when I go to make a linkdesign for the map is appears that the overhead map scale is way off and I can't even see most the nodes on my screen. my map demensions are something like 3096Hx65536Wx32768D, so it's not that large. I'm thinking it might be still scaled for the last ONS map I did and that I just forgot to do something simple to fix itt like that ucc command, but nothing has worked so far. I could use a little help on that too if some senior ued mapper has some insight...

Last edited by Mychaeel; 10th Jul 2004 at 07:34 AM. Reason: removed font colors... unreadable with some forum color schemes
CobaltBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jul 2004, 06:27 AM   #2
GingerFlaps
(sweet, moist & chewy)
 
GingerFlaps's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 8th, 2004
Location: England, UK
Posts: 144
To fix the Radar Map and Link Designer, centre the map at the origin (Select All, Reset -> Move To Origin).
__________________

If you want your flaps to be 'sticky and slightly soft when pressed in the middle' then follow this recipe.
GingerFlaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jul 2004, 10:38 AM   #3
CobaltBlue
CobaltBlue
 
Join Date: Jun. 27th, 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 16
it's not that it's off center, it's that it's too big. Plus it's already centered. really weird huh?
CobaltBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jul 2004, 12:20 PM   #4
RFairey
King of the Faireys
 
RFairey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 2nd, 2000
Location: Somewhere Else
Posts: 169
ONS maps will default to the size of your terrain - if you have no terrain, or mutiple terrains, or your map only covers a small section of a larger terrain then you'll have to change the map radius manually - you can do this under view-> level properties -> radar map, set the 'use terrain' option to false and enter in the radius you want in Unreal Units into the radius field.
__________________
Bravery is not a function of firepower - JC Denton
RFairey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jul 2004, 12:48 PM   #5
conscripted
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 1st, 2004
Location: australia
Posts: 113
Quote:
I don't want to have to hide blockingzones in all the ramping, because I don't think that would be very resource efficiant, and I'm going to have efficiency issues as is
Blocking volume's (I hope you mean) are very efficient. They are more efficient for collisions than static meshes, so you should be using them for complex static meshes to speed things up.
conscripted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2004, 12:59 PM   #6
CobaltBlue
CobaltBlue
 
Join Date: Jun. 27th, 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 16
Thankyou for the input. ' just solved both my problems!!

-so I'll use blocking volumes for now, and try changing the radar radius...
Although it will take a while to make all those blocking volumes.
Has anyone else had these kind of issues with ramps?

Last edited by Mychaeel; 12th Jul 2004 at 06:30 AM. Reason: removed font colors (unreadable on some forum color schemes)
CobaltBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jul 2004, 11:06 PM   #7
conscripted
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 1st, 2004
Location: australia
Posts: 113
Sort of, I've made stair cases and other objects that wouldn't colide, so I've made collision volumes for them, now they work correctly, It's some what tedious to make, but you can just save all the volumes to the mesh as its default collision mesh for all other instances of the static mesh in the level. You'll find some of the pro maps that ship with the game have manually created collision meshes for these types of things aswell, some of the maps have very thorough optimisations indeed. I'd give you an example, but Im not at home
conscripted is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer