News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Original Unreal Tournament

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12th Mar 2000, 01:55 AM   #1
Saturn
Average
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1999
Location: wilmington,nc
Posts: 33
Question

My system:
Amd k62 450
dfi p5bv3+ mobo
128mb pc100
voodoo3 3000 agp
sb live!
27 gig maxtor
Question: 1)I play UT with all the settings on high at 1024x768 and average between 23-38 fps;Is this normal for my setup?
2) My friend just bought a gateway with:
PIII 500
mobo ?
128mb pc100
8mb Nvidia Vanta agp (nothing fancy)
His framerate is 37-65 fps
Why is his fps higher than mine? Is it the CPU making it faster? I don't understand this at all! Sorry if I posted this in the wrong section,Thanks for any insight!
Saturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Mar 2000, 07:06 AM   #2
Super(ST)Trooper
Super Like
 
Join Date: Mar. 3rd, 2000
Posts: 281
Post

I'm afraid so [img]/~unreal/ubb/html/smile.gif[/img] humm! 27 gig i'm no expert, but I bet you might need more ram!


Super(ST)Troopers lights are gonna shine on you...
Super(ST)Trooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Mar 2000, 07:20 AM   #3
wiggum_pi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec. 28th, 1999
Posts: 730
Post

You lucky bastard! I run 800x600x16, high world detail, med skin detail. I have a K6-2 300, 32 MB TNT2, 128 MB RAM, and I get 15 to 20 (if I'm really lucky) frames per second in normal combat.

Are you sure your friend is getting from 37 to 65 FPS with a 8 MB Vanta? Are you sure?


Who's gonna be the odd man out? I want to be the odd man out.
-- [Ci]CookieMnstr|PuF


wiggum_pi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Mar 2000, 10:44 AM   #4
Saturn
Average
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1999
Location: wilmington,nc
Posts: 33
Post

I'm positive he's getting that framerate,because I was just over there last night when he installed it. It was pissing me me off because he had such a mediocre video card and it was running fast and smooth some points hitting 71 fps in dark hallways!?
Go figure!I guess I'm gonna have to upgrade my Cpu,that's the only thing I can figure is slowing my game down.
Saturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Mar 2000, 11:07 AM   #5
[IGH]HOju
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 11th, 2000
Posts: 4
Question

I have a slightly different problem, but this seems like a good string to post it on. I have a 500mhz amd k6/2, 128 mb of ram, and a 32mb ati expert 2000 graphics card. When i try to run the resolution at 1024x768, the screen is like divided into four parts and all grainy and rrun together. I can run 800x600 just fine, but i wanna try to push my system. I get the same problem with half-life. Does my graphics card have a bug? I've downloaded and installed the drivers for it, and the problem still continues. Please help!!
PS-I'm new here,so i don't know many of the people, but i have good first impressions of chief wiggum-pi(g), and the beerbaron, for obvious reasons


You should change your name to Homer Junior. The kids could call you HOju.
[IGH]HOju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Mar 2000, 11:19 AM   #6
Talon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec. 26th, 1999
Location: Canada
Posts: 124
Thumbs down

Im not an expert but u have to make sure your desktop is running in 1024 by 768 to or it will not work. I think anyways. Hope that helps.
[PuF]Talon


Let your greatness silence all those who oppose you and cause them to run away cowardly at the sight of your name.

Talon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer