PlanetJailbreak
top_profile.gif top_register.gif top_calendar.gif top_members.gif top_faq.gif top_search.gif top_home.gif top_logout.gif

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Mods > Jailbreak > General > Jailbreak Maps and Add-Ons

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26th May 2004, 07:38 PM   #1
Kyllian
if (Driver == Bot.Pawn); bGTFO=True;
 
Kyllian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 24th, 2002
Location: 45.64.294
Posts: 3,563
JB Maps

No offense to the creators, but they could be a bit better in the area of optimizing.
I have a GF2 MX400(64MB) and I get about an average of 25fps on them, whereas other large maps I can maintain 40fps or better.

They're good maps, but could use a little tweaking(maybe some distance fog?)
__________________



Quote:
Originally Posted by Azura View Post
Welcome to BuF, home of the bukkake angel O_o...
Kyllian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2004, 07:14 PM   #2
tkmaster
Registered User
 
tkmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 14th, 2004
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keltare
No offense to the creators, but they could be a bit better in the area of optimizing.
I have a GF2 MX400(64MB) and I get about an average of 25fps on them, whereas other large maps I can maintain 40fps or better.

They're good maps, but could use a little tweaking(maybe some distance fog?)
Um its called get a better videocard...

the mx series is utter crap
the reason why you get low fps is because the map is using something the videocard cant handle well
tkmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2004, 10:07 PM   #3
Kyllian
if (Driver == Bot.Pawn); bGTFO=True;
 
Kyllian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 24th, 2002
Location: 45.64.294
Posts: 3,563
Think about this, if I could afford a better card, I wouldn't have this POS gf2.
Back on topic tho, some distance fog would probably give the best benefit(even if it doesn't hide a lot)

Torlan for example, I can look from the base sniper tower to the comm tower and maintain 35-45fps without the fog reducing the visibility too much
__________________



Quote:
Originally Posted by Azura View Post
Welcome to BuF, home of the bukkake angel O_o...
Kyllian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2004, 10:19 PM   #4
Birelli
meh...
 
Birelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 14th, 2001
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 733
Are there any maps in particular that you think need optimizing? Since every map is by a different author there isn't a lot of team control over those kinds of issues, but if there are specific maps that could use some looking into the authors of those maps might be able to help.
__________________
Birelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2004, 10:46 PM   #5
Kyllian
if (Driver == Bot.Pawn); bGTFO=True;
 
Kyllian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 24th, 2002
Location: 45.64.294
Posts: 3,563
Can't remember offhand, but I'll take a look-thru and let you know
__________________



Quote:
Originally Posted by Azura View Post
Welcome to BuF, home of the bukkake angel O_o...
Kyllian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 02:19 AM   #6
RevBillyG
Taking over the world.
 
RevBillyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 10th, 1999
Posts: 1,221
All my maps were tested on an Athlon 600@750 mhz 256mb RAM a GF2mx400 and some FPS-sucking bots.

The FPS weren't high that's for sure, but they ran.
RevBillyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 02:54 AM   #7
Kyllian
if (Driver == Bot.Pawn); bGTFO=True;
 
Kyllian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 24th, 2002
Location: 45.64.294
Posts: 3,563
Well, I checked...
And just about all of them managed to keep me under 35fps
25 was about the average per map(with that dipping into single digits in firefights)
__________________



Quote:
Originally Posted by Azura View Post
Welcome to BuF, home of the bukkake angel O_o...
Kyllian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 07:06 AM   #8
ZedMaestro
Useless
 
ZedMaestro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 18th, 2003
Location: Dorset, England
Posts: 1,206
It really would help if you stated which maps needed optimizing. My two maps:

SavoIsland:
This has been optimized as much as possible. It has 35 Antiportals, which officially is too many, but thankfully most are occluded by others, so its ok. I cant add anymore, or low-CPU machines will struggle to work out what not to draw. With DistanceFog, I cant reduce that any further, or else meshes will start popping up as you get near them. The range I've set prevents obvious popping up of meshes. It does make a surprising difference too!

Conduit:
I've zoned the map as much as is realistically possible, and there are antiportals in place too. Again, no more optimization can be done here. I acknowledge that it is possible to view right from one end of your base to the other, but this is in very few places.

The map I have most problems with optimization is Arlon. Too much BSP is visible in certain places. But other than that, my pc can handle the other maps ok.
__________________
My Maps:
UT: JB-HallOfGiants
UT2004: JB-SavoIsland-Gold, JB-Conduit-Gold, JB-Cosmos, JB-SubZero
Jailbreak 2004 Bonus Pack: Classic Maps
JB-Furia
JB-Relic
JB-Coralation
ZedMaestro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 11:38 AM   #9
tkmaster
Registered User
 
tkmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 14th, 2004
Posts: 25
well optimizing is really depends on who is running it...
i have a geforce 4 ti and i get really good fps from the maps....

yes on your side yes it may look like it needs optimizing
on my side it doesnt need optimizing...



Thing is the geforce2 mx series is the lowest you can get and it meats the bare minimum of the games needs

and when you reach that you will definatly start getting performance issues
tkmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jul 2004, 07:57 AM   #10
-=DARCHANGEL=-
Burning in Hell and loving it!
 
-=DARCHANGEL=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 30th, 2004
Location: Blackburn, Lancashire. (NW-UK)
Posts: 137
Optimization on JB

Ever tried turning of the DETAIL DYNAMIC TEXTURES in the HUD settings for JB?

Helped a few people I know on lesser spec machines.

I have several people that run GF2MX400 64Mb cards and they happily run 800x600@16 (not brilliant I know, but acceptable)

SavoIsland -
No problem, but occasionally jumps in places (graphics problems are covererd in the www.tweaktown.com guide)

Conduit -
Smooth as a smooth thing on smooth pills that went to the college of smooth run by the professor of smooth himself.

I hope this helps.

Last edited by -=DARCHANGEL=-; 19th Jul 2004 at 08:04 AM. Reason: addenda
-=DARCHANGEL=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jul 2004, 08:06 AM   #11
Mychaeel
 
Join Date: Oct. 3rd, 2001
Location: Frankfurt/Main, Germany
Posts: 3,829
That "dynamic textures" setting will only help on certain maps and there only in certain spots near the jails.

We added it because a tester's notebook's frame rates dropped to 4 fps or so when he had one of those dynamic "screens" showing player positions which are in some of the jails rendered on his screen. Other than freezing those screens, it has no effect whatsoever on UT2004's performance.
Mychaeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jul 2004, 08:25 AM   #12
-=DARCHANGEL=-
Burning in Hell and loving it!
 
-=DARCHANGEL=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 30th, 2004
Location: Blackburn, Lancashire. (NW-UK)
Posts: 137
Thanks Mychaeel for clarifying - I assumed it applied to all areas.

But hey! the wifes happy now she can play it too

I know Anisotropic filtering and Antialiasing settings on the MX range can nearly make the game unplayable.

I got a GF4Ti and this game/mod rocks!!!!
-=DARCHANGEL=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jul 2004, 01:59 AM   #13
WhiteRaven
Registered User
 
WhiteRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 22nd, 2004
Location: Hungary/Pécs
Posts: 1
Hello everyone. I am new to the forum, so please tell me, if i am doing something wrong!
The mod and the maps are pretty good.
So why am i here? I am here because a bug in the CastleBreak map. There u can go underground (under the soil) somehow, and from there u can shoot anyone u like and go anywhere u want. Please do something,because some lamer cheaters use this bug --> own the server and we can't even harm them underground!
WhiteRaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jul 2004, 04:50 AM   #14
Trueblood
Silly Brit
 
Trueblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 19th, 2003
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteRaven
I am here because a bug in the CastleBreak map. There u can go underground (under the soil) somehow, and from there u can shoot anyone u like and go anywhere u want. Please do something,because some lamer cheaters use this bug --> own the server and we can't even harm them underground!
Raven, you should send this information straight to the forum moderators and maybe the mapper.
__________________
Trueblood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jul 2004, 04:51 AM   #15
TheSpoonDog
CBP3! Yarrr!
 
TheSpoonDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 1st, 2001
Location: NZ
Posts: 2,590
Yes, it is already on the list of things to fix
TheSpoonDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jul 2004, 06:54 AM   #16
ProjectX
Nicholas 'ProjectX' Udell - UnWheel Maps
 
ProjectX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 9th, 2004
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZedMaestro
It really would help if you stated which maps needed optimizing. My two maps:

SavoIsland:
This has been optimized as much as possible. It has 35 Antiportals, which officially is too many, but thankfully most are occluded by others, so its ok. I cant add anymore, or low-CPU machines will struggle to work out what not to draw. With DistanceFog, I cant reduce that any further, or else meshes will start popping up as you get near them. The range I've set prevents obvious popping up of meshes. It does make a surprising difference too!

Conduit:
I've zoned the map as much as is realistically possible, and there are antiportals in place too. Again, no more optimization can be done here. I acknowledge that it is possible to view right from one end of your base to the other, but this is in very few places.

The map I have most problems with optimization is Arlon. Too much BSP is visible in certain places. But other than that, my pc can handle the other maps ok.
Sorry to sound offensive but I've successfully managed to place fog in a map at a max distance of 1024 (It was a map with dense fog) witout any mesh popping and I happen to know that Savo Island's one must be at least 4000 so what you just said about mesh popping is utter BS.

If I'm wrong, which I hope is the case, then fine by me prove me wrong, If I'm right and with those rocks in the way you could easily decrease the fog distance without harming the visual aspects. Provided the skybox colour matches the fog colour on the sides of the skybox (I recommend using a skybox with a shader, constant color and opacity map, like duplicating the shader from cp_HELL.tex and replacing the diffuse with your own constant color and apply it to the fogring in cp_nightmare.usx)

I hope you treat this as constructive criticism and not trolling
ProjectX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Sep 2005, 01:56 AM   #17
bob181
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug. 17th, 2005
Posts: 6
Just a thought, what video driver version are you running? I have found different drivers will give you faster frame rates depending on the vintage of your video card
bob181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer