News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Modeling & Skinning

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24th Apr 2004, 06:00 PM   #1
gorgon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 15th, 2003
Posts: 36
export question

I am looking for tutorials on exporting from Maya PLE to 2004. Can some one point me in the right direction. Thx.
gorgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Apr 2004, 11:26 PM   #2
conscripted
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 1st, 2004
Location: australia
Posts: 113
pointing at www.3dbuzz.com

theres video tuts on exactly this, very good ones at that
conscripted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Apr 2004, 09:49 AM   #3
gorgon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 15th, 2003
Posts: 36
yes, I know they have LOTS of info for free on 2003, but I dont have 2004 spec ed and I cant find anything on exporting from Maya 5 to 2004.
gorgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Apr 2004, 07:58 PM   #4
[SAS]Solid Snake
Registered User
 
[SAS]Solid Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 7th, 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,633
UDN, http://udn.epicgames.com

In short you will need a tool called ActorX for Skeletal Meshes and I have no idea what you do with Maya to export static meshes. Also importing/exporting models for UT2004 is the same as UT2003. It hasn't changed.
__________________
I make the impossible possible ... ... ... to some extent.

Digital Confectioners
[SAS]Solid Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2004, 09:48 AM   #5
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 14th, 2002
Posts: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorgon
yes, I know they have LOTS of info for free on 2003, but I dont have 2004 spec ed and I cant find anything on exporting from Maya 5 to 2004.
you don't need UT2004 SE to get the basic exporting process info -- it's in the help files of Maya 5 PLE when the new unEditor plugin gets installed, under Help>UT2004 Exports.

the plugin (and Maya 5 PLE, if you need it) is on CD6, the Play Disk. not sure of its location in the DVD edition, but you don't have that, right? just follow the installation instructions & you should be good to go.

and just for clarity, if you're using PLE make sure you state that in all your posts, as the export process for the retail Maya uses different software (hence Snake's reply re: ActorX).
chip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2004, 03:51 PM   #6
gorgon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 15th, 2003
Posts: 36
Chip, thx. I used Mozilla as my web browser which would not open the page for the export help, so I installed IE and it pulls it up fine.

Duley noted about accuracy in my posts. I try to remember the importance of stating everything, everytime.
gorgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer