News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Original Unreal Tournament

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27th Feb 2000, 02:20 AM   #1
ron1jed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 2nd, 1999
Posts: 37
Post

So does everyone have lag.Even people with cable and dsl?Is it possible to play a game online and have no lag?
ron1jed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Feb 2000, 02:40 AM   #2
Zaccix
Truth, by Banksy
 
Zaccix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 10th, 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,369
Post

Online games will always have lag because it's actually impossible to completely get rid of. No matter how fast the connection, or how good the software/hardware combination, it will be there.

Cable and DSL bring down the lag to the point where it's not so noticable, but it's still there. Someone might ping, for example, 60ms to a server with a fast connection, but that's still a 60ms delay.



Turn it on. Turn it on, turn it on again. - Genesis.
Zaccix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Feb 2000, 03:20 AM   #3
Gouryella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb. 18th, 2000
Location: London
Posts: 67
Post

If you create your own server, you will get 0 pings, but you need to have a fast connection and PC if you want to give other people decent pings too!!
Gouryella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Feb 2000, 05:46 AM   #4
[PuF]Evil_Beaver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 11th, 2000
Posts: 496
Post

Yes, everyone has lag online, but the difference between DSL/Cable vs 56k is night and day. I don't fear bad pings anymore with cable, just packet loss. I ocassionally get PL and it can still throw my whole game to hell.


all that I know...
The Unknown Knows
[PuF]Evil_Beaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Feb 2000, 05:58 AM   #5
Selerox[PuF]
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Exclamation

Even if you have high pings, it can be worked around with practice. PL on the other hand, cannot be worked around and is garunteed to screw up anyones game.


PuF: Ready to take it up a level, once we've stopped trying to be Godlike...


  Reply With Quote
Old 27th Feb 2000, 07:30 AM   #6
BloodKnight
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 30th, 1999
Location: Canada!
Posts: 148
Cool

And believe or not sometimes cable people like myself get the phonejack. The phonejack most of the time is because of the server, not the client (unless you are an idiot and have 400 ping or above)

But yes people do get lag, and we mean everyone!





- BloodKnight
bloodknight@somethingawful.com
bloodknight@yesic.com
bloodknight@ogl.org

ICQ - 12368747
UT Clan Universe -
http://www.unreality.org/universe
OGL UT Admin -
http://www.ogl.org

Computers is a lot like Air Conditioners, once Windows opens up, your screwed!

ngUID: 17391

BloodKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2000, 01:07 AM   #7
ron1jed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 2nd, 1999
Posts: 37
Post

so do you have a delay when firing your even if you have 60 ping and no PL?????
ron1jed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2000, 01:08 AM   #8
ron1jed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 2nd, 1999
Posts: 37
Post

so do you have a delay when firing your gun even if you have 60 ping and no PL?????
ron1jed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2000, 06:13 AM   #9
BloodKnight
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 30th, 1999
Location: Canada!
Posts: 148
Post

How to put it..yes, but REALLY hard to tell.

The ping is in how many milliseconds for the delay

and a 60 millisecond delay isn't a problem for you or anyone else, right?

So yes, you do actually experiance nearly lagless or even lagless gameplay



- BloodKnight
bloodknight@somethingawful.com
bloodknight@yesic.com
bloodknight@ogl.org

ICQ - 12368747
UT Clan Universe -
http://www.unreality.org/universe
OGL UT Admin -
http://www.ogl.org

Computers is a lot like Air Conditioners, once Windows opens up, your screwed!

ngUID: 17391

BloodKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2000, 06:15 AM   #10
BloodKnight
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 30th, 1999
Location: Canada!
Posts: 148
Post

It also varies from the server, for example I can't go to a UK server cuz I am in Canada and that is a LOOOONG Distance, it also depends on the server

As for the peak times, well for downloads it will affect it, in games, NOPE. In games having a major bandwidth isn't a problem, all you are is sending info back and forth



- BloodKnight
bloodknight@somethingawful.com
bloodknight@yesic.com
bloodknight@ogl.org

ICQ - 12368747
UT Clan Universe -
http://www.unreality.org/universe
OGL UT Admin -
http://www.ogl.org

Computers is a lot like Air Conditioners, once Windows opens up, your screwed!

ngUID: 17391

BloodKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2000, 03:46 PM   #11
hal
Dictator
 
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1998
Location: ------->
Posts: 21,379
Post

I play on a cable and have had pretty smooth games on a server in NewZealand (I'm in Eastern US) and also on a server in the UK.

There is a bit of noticeable lag sometimes. Other times it's as smooth as glass. Mostly it depends on the server I connect to.


Yes, I know I'm full of $I-IiT - but I'm Godlike dammit!


hal{PuF}


hal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2000, 04:23 PM   #12
D66
Grey Pilgrim
 
D66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 2nd, 2000
Location: Gondolin
Posts: 3,003
Post

Im a cable user and I get the phonejack very often. I know cable is prone to PL but I also think I may have a problem with my NIC or settings. I'll troubleshoot it when I have some time (which means I probably have to bring my PC to work and claim it is a user machine) Lag is always there no matter what. As to good ping to NewZeland from the east coast, well the main culprit to lag is the number of hops you go through, more hops means more servers to have to wait your turn in. If you are connecting to a NewZeland server with reletively few hops then you will have low ping. If you remove all the hops then your data is moving at close to lightspeed and you would hve virtualy no lag at all. This is why direct dial-up 28.8 between two PCs sometimes are faster than an ISDN over the Net. You can usualy expect a minimum of about 4 hops to just get outside your ISP. After that you are cruising ether. One good way to see if your ISP is guilty of your high ping is to go to a DOS window and type this

C:\windows\tracert {URL}
{URL} is any address you want to use as standard. I usualy use

C:\windows\tracert www.yahoo.com

After that you will be givven a listing of each hop you are sent through and a timing of each ping...
It will look like this

* 24 48 24.25.26.00

*=request timed out, These should be a red flag as they will cause PL

The numbers are your ping to that particular server. The last listing will either be an IP or http adress.

If you see high numbers or * in the first few hops then the problem is in your ISP. Get a new one or if you are brave, get on the phone and tell them about it.

High numbers or * in the later listings are on the Internet and beyond you or your ISP's ability to controll, live with it.

I love this command. Last week I spotted a crippled server on RoadRunners network and once I called, they fixed it and my PL at the same time.

--D66 smoked some of Rooster's stuff today.

--D66 has amazed himself with this informative and non spam posting....WOW!!!!


---Prof. Of Comic-Therory/Comedic-History
Ronnie Mervus will pay for his crimes!!!!
George Lucas, Give us Star Wars DVD! Or I swear I'll kill every ewok there is!!!




[This message has been edited by D66 (edited 02-28-2000).]
D66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Mar 2000, 10:01 PM   #13
D66
Grey Pilgrim
 
D66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 2nd, 2000
Location: Gondolin
Posts: 3,003
Post

Ah hell
*BUMP*


---Prof. Of Comic-Therory/Comedic-History
Ronnie Mervus will pay for his crimes!!!!
George Lucas, Give us Star Wars DVD! Or I swear I'll kill every ewok there is!!!


D66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Mar 2000, 10:12 PM   #14
CHRYSt
You can't help that. We're all mad here.
 
CHRYSt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 14th, 2000
Posts: 4,851
Post

Technically, there is a delay between the time you click the mouse and the time that you actually see it fire.
The electric current from the mouse, to the ps2 port, then it has to be processed by the chipset, sent to the CPU, then sent to memory, and processed along with the game, then sent back to the CPU, then to the AGP port, then to the video chip, then the monitor port, and then to the monitor cable, and the electrons have to go from the back of the monitor to the front, and the photons have to get from the monitor to your eyes.

All that takes time.


"Where's the BACTINE?! Some of this blood is MINE!!" -- JTHM
CHRYSt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Mar 2000, 10:21 PM   #15
StrangeFish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb. 22nd, 2000
Location: Manchester, CT, 06040
Posts: 83
Post

The difference between lag and packet loss.

Bad lag:
Cripes, I just can't seem to hit a damn thing!

Packet loss:
How'd I wind up in this lava pit?


Looks like a fish. Moves like a fish. Steers like a cow.
StrangeFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Mar 2000, 10:34 PM   #16
Smint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 14th, 1999
Location: California
Posts: 202
Wink

Everyone has lag. Unless you start a server (but people playing on your server have lag)


"I got Mad Skillz."

<I am AnonSmint in UT if you want to take a beating>
Smint is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer