News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Unreal Tournament 2003/2004

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 2nd Apr 2004, 08:06 PM   #1
Mad Max RW
Road Warrior
 
Mad Max RW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 13th, 2003
Posts: 253
WTF, no more reflections?

For some reason reflections and water don't look right anymore, as if I'm not in D3D mode or something. I've been running everything maxed at 1600x1200 resolution and just today out of the blue this started happening. Everything else (shadows, textures, lighting, etc.) look fine. I haven't installed any new drivers or software or messed with ini files.

Reflections and animated water still work in UT2k3 and other games I have with this technology, so the glitch belongs exclusively to UT2k4. I tried deleting the UT2004.ini file, restarting, and I'm now on the brink of reinstalling. Before I go to such desperate measures is this a common problem and is there a simple fix? Thanks to anyone who can help me out.
Mad Max RW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Apr 2004, 08:29 PM   #2
Capt.Toilet
Good news everyone!
 
Capt.Toilet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 16th, 2004
Location: Ottawa, KS
Posts: 5,829
I encountered this as well, but it was in the 2k3 map iron diety. The water on the bottom level doesnt move at all, its just a solid mass. All other water is fine except on that level. Must be a slight booboo when converting the map over.
__________________
Capt.Toilet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Apr 2004, 08:31 PM   #3
Sir_Brizz
More Than Just Mad Skill
 
Sir_Brizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 3rd, 2000
Location: >:3
Posts: 25,655
Do you have a MinFrameRate set in your ini? Defaults to 25, so with everything maxxed out and you drop under that then it turns off details to speed you up.
__________________
64 65 61 74 68 62 6f 6f 67 65 72 73 20 6d 6f 74 68 65 72 20 6f 66 20 63 6f 75 72 73 65

Liandri Archives - A veritable smorgasbord of information about the Unreal series
If Titanic taught me anything, it's to never let go until you're a frozen corpse staring hopelessly into a barren horizon.
Sir_Brizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Apr 2004, 08:40 PM   #4
Mad Max RW
Road Warrior
 
Mad Max RW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 13th, 2003
Posts: 253
The minimum desired framerate defaulted to 35. So far every map in UT2k4 I've checked no longer has good looking water. This is starting to piss me off and I'm probably gonna end up reinstalling.
Mad Max RW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Apr 2004, 08:46 PM   #5
Sir_Brizz
More Than Just Mad Skill
 
Sir_Brizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 3rd, 2000
Location: >:3
Posts: 25,655
turn your details down and see if it still does it, for petes sakes.
__________________
64 65 61 74 68 62 6f 6f 67 65 72 73 20 6d 6f 74 68 65 72 20 6f 66 20 63 6f 75 72 73 65

Liandri Archives - A veritable smorgasbord of information about the Unreal series
If Titanic taught me anything, it's to never let go until you're a frozen corpse staring hopelessly into a barren horizon.
Sir_Brizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Apr 2004, 08:52 PM   #6
Mad Max RW
Road Warrior
 
Mad Max RW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 13th, 2003
Posts: 253
No difference.
Mad Max RW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Apr 2004, 08:54 PM   #7
Sir_Brizz
More Than Just Mad Skill
 
Sir_Brizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 3rd, 2000
Location: >:3
Posts: 25,655
weird. K maybe you should reinstall then

what the f kind of video card do you have to run the game at 1600x1200 at highest settings???
__________________
64 65 61 74 68 62 6f 6f 67 65 72 73 20 6d 6f 74 68 65 72 20 6f 66 20 63 6f 75 72 73 65

Liandri Archives - A veritable smorgasbord of information about the Unreal series
If Titanic taught me anything, it's to never let go until you're a frozen corpse staring hopelessly into a barren horizon.
Sir_Brizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Apr 2004, 09:32 PM   #8
Mad Max RW
Road Warrior
 
Mad Max RW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 13th, 2003
Posts: 253
Well, I went through every single map with any water in it. Iron Deity is the worst with what appears to be a sheet of plastic instead of water that reacts to stuff. The other is Antalus. There could be more but I can't remember. I think it may be the same problem as Cpt.Toilet.exe. Something was lost in the 2k3>2k4 translation.

All the Onslaught, Assault, CTF, and whatever maps with water are perfectly fine.

It just occured to me that I never played the 2k3 DM maps in 2k4 until today. A complete reinstall would have most likely been a waste of time. At least I was worrying about nothing. Hopefully an official patch will fix it, because I did a million crazy things with no luck.
Mad Max RW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Apr 2004, 09:37 PM   #9
Daedalus
I don't even...
 
Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 24th, 2001
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 4,261
still didnt really answer the question Brizz asked. What are you running that would allow you to run 2k4 at 1600x1200 maxed out with minimal FPS drops?
__________________
...
____
Daedalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Apr 2004, 09:55 PM   #10
Mad Max RW
Road Warrior
 
Mad Max RW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 13th, 2003
Posts: 253
Oh, sorry. I got a GeforceFX 5700 Ultra on a 3.0ghz P4, WinME, 512MB RAM and getting another 512MB in a few days. I'm pretty amazed at how well the game runs with everything maxed. And at any lower resolution I don't see a change in performance. The only time it starts to chug is in that awesome Blade Runner map for 2k3. But after a minute of loading everything it runs nicely. In my old Geforce 3 none of this was possible. After upgrading last November I was actually afraid of ratcheting up settings or resolution from 1024x768.

With everything maxed UT2k4 runs better than anything I played before. I think it's a combination of a carefully built and maintained computer and an ultra optimized game with the latter getting most of the credit. In Far Cry I won't bother with a resolution higher than 1024x768, and only one or two settings are maxed.
Mad Max RW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Apr 2004, 10:12 AM   #11
Sir_Brizz
More Than Just Mad Skill
 
Sir_Brizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 3rd, 2000
Location: >:3
Posts: 25,655
??

I have:

Pentium4 3.0Eghz (@ 3.6ghz)
1024mb PC2700 Dual Channel DDR
Radeon 9800Pro
Windows XP Pro

And I can't even run at those details. I don't see how it's possible you are getting more than 12fps on any map.
__________________
64 65 61 74 68 62 6f 6f 67 65 72 73 20 6d 6f 74 68 65 72 20 6f 66 20 63 6f 75 72 73 65

Liandri Archives - A veritable smorgasbord of information about the Unreal series
If Titanic taught me anything, it's to never let go until you're a frozen corpse staring hopelessly into a barren horizon.
Sir_Brizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Apr 2004, 10:34 AM   #12
Doctor7
Registered User
 
Join Date: May. 1st, 2001
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir_Brizz
??

I have:

Pentium4 3.0Eghz (@ 3.6ghz)
1024mb PC2700 Dual Channel DDR
Radeon 9800Pro
Windows XP Pro

And I can't even run at those details. I don't see how it's possible you are getting more than 12fps on any map.
What do people do to their systems? I can run at 1024x768, all details maxed, with reasonable framerates, on a P4 1.6 Northwood (@1.92) and a TI4400, so I would certainly expect a 3.0 and a later card to run fine at 1600x1200.
__________________
Doctor7
Doctor7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Apr 2004, 10:37 AM   #13
Loibisch
The Odd Member
 
Join Date: Jan. 3rd, 2000
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,199
It always depends on what you think is "enough frames". Some people will play at an awful choppy average of 30fps (remember kids, average of 30 means that a good deal of the time you have LESS than 30)...I can't do that. I'm using 1280x1024 and Medium details right now (60-80fps)...

Oh, and you don't need to reinstall really, just delete your user.ini and ut2004.ini and start the game, all settings will be reset...hope this helps.
__________________

[Ci]Loibisch - Site/Forum admin and attacker of clan Carpe Imperium
Loibisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Apr 2004, 10:38 AM   #14
Sir_Brizz
More Than Just Mad Skill
 
Sir_Brizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 3rd, 2000
Location: >:3
Posts: 25,655
also, if you have MinDesiredFramerate set to anything but 0, you're probably losing details. I have it set to 0 and 1024x768 with highest details. Still choppy in Assault...
__________________
64 65 61 74 68 62 6f 6f 67 65 72 73 20 6d 6f 74 68 65 72 20 6f 66 20 63 6f 75 72 73 65

Liandri Archives - A veritable smorgasbord of information about the Unreal series
If Titanic taught me anything, it's to never let go until you're a frozen corpse staring hopelessly into a barren horizon.
Sir_Brizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer