News • UnrealEd • Files • Mods • FragBU • Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Coding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 1st Jan 2004, 06:59 PM   #1
EvilDrWong
Every line of code elevates you
 
EvilDrWong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 16th, 2001
Location: Inside the machine
Posts: 932
blah blah blah... Non-serious replication questions

This is something thats boggled me for a while (though it has no real impact on anything) but what would happen with MyVar replication wise if it were replicated like this:
Code:
reliable if(True==True)
    MyVar;

Or this:
Code:
reliable if(FRand()<0.5)
    MyVar;
__________________
How can you challenge a perfect immortal machine?
EvilDrWong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jan 2004, 10:44 AM   #2
(v)adOnion
chroot /
 
Join Date: Feb. 19th, 2002
Location: TH Aachen, Germany
Posts: 44
The same thing that will always happen will happen - if the condition is true it will be replicated, if it is false it will not be.
__________________
Accelerate your computer - with 9.81 m/sē

Projects:
- TO: Crossfire
- TacticalOps
- TOST
(v)adOnion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jan 2004, 11:15 AM   #3
EvilDrWong
Every line of code elevates you
 
EvilDrWong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 16th, 2001
Location: Inside the machine
Posts: 932
but which 'direction' will it be going? Will the data get all mashed up as the client tries to tell the server what to do with it, while the server tries to tell the client what to do with it?
__________________
How can you challenge a perfect immortal machine?
EvilDrWong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jan 2004, 12:01 PM   #4
JamesKilton
UA Coder
 
JamesKilton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 6th, 2002
Location: Everywhere and Nowhere
Posts: 210
I remember reading, on the Wiki I believe, that using function calls in replication statements is a bad idea as it has a chance of causing serious slowdown. As for true=true, I have no clue.
JamesKilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jan 2004, 12:29 PM   #5
Tynan
Person
 
Tynan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 13th, 2003
Location: The Gutter
Posts: 130
Actually, both of them should keep the server an client in pretty good sync with each other. The question becomes what happens if the variable changes on one end. Theres a chance it could be changed back by replication before changing the var on the other end.
__________________
Tynan Sylvester
tynansylvester.com
Tynan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jan 2004, 05:56 PM   #6
Wormbo
 
 
Wormbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 4th, 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,752
I don't think variable replication works in the client-to-server direction, no matter what you specify in the replication condition.

What about simply coding a class with this type of replication to see what happens?
__________________
Wormbo's UT/UT2004/UT3 mods | YouTube channel | PlanetJailbreak/JDN | Unreal Wiki | Liandri Archives
Everything you ever wanted to know about replication| UnrealScript security considerations
<elmuerte> you shouldn't do all-nighters, it's a waste of time and effort
<TNSe> nono
<TNSe> its always funny to find code a week later you dont even remember writing
<Pfhoenix> what's worse is when you have a Star Wars moment
<Pfhoenix> "Luke! I am your code!" "No! Impossible! It can't be!"
Wormbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2004, 12:54 AM   #7
Tynan
Person
 
Tynan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 13th, 2003
Location: The Gutter
Posts: 130
Its works for AutonomousProxy actors and their children.
__________________
Tynan Sylvester
tynansylvester.com
Tynan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer