News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Unreal Tournament 2003/2004

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 31st Dec 2003, 02:34 AM   #1
I_LoveToKill
Danish Bastard!
 
I_LoveToKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 11th, 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 480
Question MX500 and UT2003 Problems

I have this problem with the drivers that allmost every damn map I
play, the buttons will suddenly stop working for no reason, this isnt the bug
where you have to suicide to get weapons to work, I have to exit/alt+tab
out of the game and then re-start my mouse driver. I have all my weapons
and a couple teamsay keybinds on the mouse buttons, so its a big problem.

I tried the 'Logi gamer' and other tools that people have suggested and
nothing helps.

I'm using Latest Logitech Mouseware 9.79.

Anyone know a solution to this? - like another mousedriver? - I tried killing
the logitech driver and go with the windows driver but then my buttons on
the mx500 dont work at all and I use them all.
I_LoveToKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2003, 03:29 AM   #2
Selerox
COR AD COR LOQVITVR
 
Selerox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 12th, 1999
Location: TheUKofGBandNI
Posts: 6,494
Exclamation Havn't had that much of a chance to check it out properly, but a lot of people use it

Just started using the MX500 and had the same problem. A clanmate fixed me up with a fix for it (attached). Simply set the right options in the exe, hit "Apply", and you're all set
Attached Files
File Type: zip mwadvanced_enu.zip (69.5 KB, 18 views)
__________________

"There are no Christians, as far as I know, blowing up buildings. I am not aware of Christian suicide bombers. I am not aware of any major Christian denomination that believes the penalty for apostasy is death. I have mixed feelings about the decline for Christianity, in so far that Christianity might be a bulwark against something worse" - Professor Richard Dawkins
Selerox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2003, 03:55 AM   #3
I_LoveToKill
Danish Bastard!
 
I_LoveToKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 11th, 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 480
Thanks

I allready tried this but it didnt help on my problem, maybe I set it
wrong but I dont think so, I tried a lot of different settings and it will still
stop working, the normal left/right+wheel will still work, but all the extra
buttons wont do anything.

It's allmost like the drivers will stop because the game gets overloaded.

I can be playing fine when the server is not that busy, but as
soon as it's realy cooking this will happen once every map.

Right now I have made a .bat file on my desktop with:

START em_exec.exe /q

in it, I can click it 2 times real fast, and it will kill the driver and start
ip up again, but it still takes enough time alt-tabbing out of the game
that my team will loose a cap
I_LoveToKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2003, 04:16 AM   #4
LeJimster
n0b0dy
 
LeJimster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 19th, 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 12
simply dont use logitech software, theirs ur problem right away :-|
__________________
:-D Mr.Fancypants 0wns j00 with his BOOMSTICK :-D
LeJimster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2003, 05:56 AM   #5
I_LoveToKill
Danish Bastard!
 
I_LoveToKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 11th, 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 480
Yeah but then the extra 5 buttons do not work in the game.
I_LoveToKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2003, 06:57 AM   #6
CrazyCougar
CATatonic
 
CrazyCougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 5th, 2001
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,306
Take a look at the other programs your running while you play. If another windows program takes priority over ut2k3 you will lose your mouse assignments. There's likely a program that's running in the background that is confusing the mouse driver.
__________________
[Ci]CrazyCougar|BuF
CrazyCougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2003, 07:10 AM   #7
Swedix
Retired from UT2004
 
Swedix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 19th, 2000
Location: In position
Posts: 4,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by I_LoveToKill
Yeah but then the extra 5 buttons do not work in the game.
I have a MX500 but I don't use Logitech's mouseware. After all years, they still haven't learned how to make decent drivers.

I use XP's drivers for my mouse. It's true that not all buttons work but i can use both thumb-buttons in most games i played. And for me that's enough.
__________________


Download my filemanager for UT2004, UT2004Mi
Swedix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2003, 07:29 AM   #8
I_LoveToKill
Danish Bastard!
 
I_LoveToKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 11th, 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 480
@CrazyCougar, yeah thats the 'enable game detection' that does that I
think, i tried it, but like you say some background stuff would take over
sometimes and my mouse would mess up so I turned that setting off.

@Swedix, ok yeah if the thumb buttons at least work then it's ok, I use the
top button in the middle for my shieldgun, but I guess I can put that on
one of the thumbs and move my two teamsay binds I have on the cruise
buttons to the keyboard instead... Im gonna try that because this is
driving me insane, and it allways happens at the worst times
I_LoveToKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2003, 07:37 AM   #9
Loibisch
The Odd Member
 
Join Date: Jan. 3rd, 2000
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,199
I'm using 9.78 over here with the advanced tool and I haven't had any problems in a long while.

Have you assigned keyboard keys to your extra buttons? I have my mouse set up as
thumb buttons: page up/down
buttons around the wheel: arrow up/down
wheel button: enter
"8th"-button: tab

Game detection is enabled and "keep keypress button assignments" is on. Works absolutely fine and those keys can be used in windows as well (enter to click away dialog boxes, page up page down to browse a page faster, etc.)

How is you mouse set up?
__________________

[Ci]Loibisch - Site/Forum admin and attacker of clan Carpe Imperium
Loibisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2003, 07:54 AM   #10
DaBeatard
Mr.How
 
DaBeatard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 20th, 2002
Posts: 1,261
I think I heard that if you have CTRL bound to a mouse button you may run in to this problem. It's a long shot, but you may want to look at that.
__________________
DaBeatard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2003, 10:28 AM   #11
I_LoveToKill
Danish Bastard!
 
I_LoveToKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 11th, 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 480
Well I just tried with the standard drivers and while it may fix this bug it
caused even worse problems, at slow speeds like I normally use it caused
negative accelleration where if you flick the mouse fast it will just do a
random move so Im suddenly looking at the floor, if I turn the speed up so
this does not happen, it's so unprecise I can't hit anything and the refresh
rate in the windows settings only go to 100, ugh

I don't have any mouse button set to the control key, and all my buttons
are assigned to keypresses in the logitech mouseware control panel.

I had the 'game detection' on but that would cause it to sometimes
lose control and reset my mouse so i turned that off again.

Here is the setup I use on the mouse:

Primary=Fire
Secondary=alt fire
wheel up=pipedswitch between Lighting gun/shock
wheel down=pipedswitch rockets/flak
press wheel button down=minigun
thumb 1=Shock
thumb 2=Goo gun
Cruise down=Teamsay keybind
Cruise u=Teamsay keybind
top middle button=shieldgun

Hmmm, maybe I can setup a shortcut key to my batch file that resets
my mouse driver so I dont have to alt+tab out of the game.
I_LoveToKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2003, 02:08 PM   #12
5150
Frequent Visitor
 
Join Date: Jun. 2nd, 2000
Posts: 417
Check this out, don't know if it will help or not.

http://www.myunreal.com/thread.php?id=6131
5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2003, 07:07 PM   #13
Sir_Brizz
More Than Just Mad Skill
 
Sir_Brizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 3rd, 2000
Location: >:3
Posts: 25,487
yah that problem you just mentioned is because the windows drivers don't utilize the higher resolution of the mx mice so basically you might a well have bought a cheaper mouse if you aren't going to use the mousewares.
__________________
64 65 61 74 68 62 6f 6f 67 65 72 73 20 6d 6f 74 68 65 72 20 6f 66 20 63 6f 75 72 73 65

Liandri Archives - A veritable smorgasbord of information about the Unreal series
If Titanic taught me anything, it's to never let go until you're a frozen corpse staring hopelessly into a barren horizon.
Sir_Brizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Jan 2004, 08:45 AM   #14
I_LoveToKill
Danish Bastard!
 
I_LoveToKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 11th, 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 480
Yeah, I downloaded this cool little macro recorder that I can assign a hotkey
and set it up so it run my batch file that resets the drivers in the
background, so when they stop working I can hit a hotkey and its fixed
in like 5 secs. now without having to exit the game.

If anyone wants to check it out here is a link:

http://www.americansys.com/ezmacros.htm

I have a hotkey set to run a batch file in minimized state with this in it:

START em_exec.exe /q

First time you run it it will kill the logitech driver, second time you run it
it will start the driver up again, not pretty but it works

Last edited by I_LoveToKill; 1st Jan 2004 at 08:46 AM.
I_LoveToKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer