News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Editing > Unreal Wiki > Wiki Technical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 9th Dec 2003, 09:19 PM   #1
JohnnySix
Caffienated Haemoglobin
 
JohnnySix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 6th, 2002
Location: England
Posts: 406
Wiki Quote box CSS interpreted weirdly in IE.

If you're using the default CSS and IE, you can see the quoteobx as a big column of words :

http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/wiki/Wiki_Markup


Instead of looking like :
Quote:
You can put quoted text in a neat box.
All Wiki formats apply there.
It goes:

Quote:
You
can
put
quoted
text
in
a
neat
box.

All
Wiki
formats
apply
there.
__________________
Have ESR, will travel.

Extreme W00tabulous

UT99 HI SPEED INSTAGIB CTF ACTION - Custom Map Server
Video Trailer | Map Pack | Stats | Play Now!

2k4 Bulldog WIP thread | Download Current Beta

.
JohnnySix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Dec 2003, 04:47 AM   #2
Mychaeel
 
Join Date: Oct. 3rd, 2001
Location: Frankfurt/Main, Germany
Posts: 3,829
Can't reproduce that (with Internet Explorer 5). Which version of Internet Explorer are you using?
Mychaeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2003, 01:44 PM   #3
Mr.Mitchell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 5th, 2001
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 140
I am noticing the same thing. I am using IE 6.0.2800.1106.xpsp2.030-422.1633. I did a bit of testing and it seems that it only goes wrong when using it in a table.

To reproduce just put the following code in a Wiki page:
Code:
| <wiki>> You can put quoted text in a neat box.
> All Wiki formats apply there.
</wiki> | <pre>> You can put quoted text in a neat box.
> All Wiki formats apply there.</pre>
__________________
My Home: Mr.Mitchell's Unreal Stuff
Coder for Unreal Badlands
Mr.Mitchell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2004, 04:46 AM   #4
tarquin
design is flawed
 
tarquin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 11th, 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 3,929
I have IE 5 and it's fine in that

Have you considered trying Firebird?
__________________

There's a Jailbreak banner for every map.

<tarquin> great work on the llama hud, Wormbo. I really felt like puking
tarquin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2004, 07:44 PM   #5
JohnnySix
Caffienated Haemoglobin
 
JohnnySix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 6th, 2002
Location: England
Posts: 406
IE is my browser of choice simply because it's linked with explorer and I can keep all my nice custom buttons in one place.

I know IE has issues, but since it's the most common browser and an easy fix it might be worth looking into, being as the majority will be IE users.
__________________
Have ESR, will travel.

Extreme W00tabulous

UT99 HI SPEED INSTAGIB CTF ACTION - Custom Map Server
Video Trailer | Map Pack | Stats | Play Now!

2k4 Bulldog WIP thread | Download Current Beta

.
JohnnySix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Jan 2004, 11:31 AM   #6
tarquin
design is flawed
 
tarquin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 11th, 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 3,929
Well... I'm not sure what buttons you might have that are useful both for web browsing and file management ...
but it appears you have a choice: either live with this bug, or upgrade to a browser that conforms to standards.

I can't reproduce it on IE5 - I will have a look on IE6 when I next get to a PC that has it, probably tomorrow.
tarquin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Jan 2004, 11:47 AM   #7
JohnnySix
Caffienated Haemoglobin
 
JohnnySix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 6th, 2002
Location: England
Posts: 406


I've attached a picture of my buttons.

To my knowledge IE 6.0.2800.1106IC is the latest version of IE, I don't think there's been a recent patch. :S?

Ah well, it doesn't bother me, I can live with weirded quotes, just thought it'd be an easy fix.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg thesebuttons.jpg (239.7 KB, 77 views)
__________________
Have ESR, will travel.

Extreme W00tabulous

UT99 HI SPEED INSTAGIB CTF ACTION - Custom Map Server
Video Trailer | Map Pack | Stats | Play Now!

2k4 Bulldog WIP thread | Download Current Beta

.
JohnnySix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Jan 2004, 02:03 PM   #8
tarquin
design is flawed
 
tarquin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 11th, 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 3,929
Yup, it's the latest version of IE. It's been out for a while and it's full of errors that make coding webpages a pain in the butt.
__________________

There's a Jailbreak banner for every map.

<tarquin> great work on the llama hud, Wormbo. I really felt like puking
tarquin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Feb 2005, 12:43 PM   #9
W0RF
BuF Greeter, News Bagger
 
W0RF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 19th, 2002
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 8,731
Quote:
Originally Posted by SabbathCat
I've attached a picture of my buttons.
I don't know your browsing habits but your links bar looks mostly useless. Why not just make a quicklaunch menu in your taskbar? It's much more robust.

When I was using just one monitor, my taskbar was double-thick, with the running program tabs on one bar and my launch buttons on the other. Now that I am running dual-screens, it's just one long bar with my launch buttons right below, and the program tabs on the second screen (I can just alt-tab those anyway). I'll post a screenie sometime when I'm at home, but that can free you up to use a real browser like Mozilla or Opera.
__________________





Maps: CTF-ColaWars-FragBU - current version = 2 | CTF/BR/JB/TDM-BuFferZone - In Progress
W0RF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Feb 2005, 03:32 PM   #10
JohnnySix
Caffienated Haemoglobin
 
JohnnySix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 6th, 2002
Location: England
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by W0RF
I don't know your browsing habits but your links bar looks mostly useless. Why not just make a quicklaunch menu in your taskbar? It's much more robust.

When I was using just one monitor, my taskbar was double-thick, with the running program tabs on one bar and my launch buttons on the other. Now that I am running dual-screens, it's just one long bar with my launch buttons right below, and the program tabs on the second screen (I can just alt-tab those anyway). I'll post a screenie sometime when I'm at home, but that can free you up to use a real browser like Mozilla or Opera.
M-m-m-m-monster bump!

Looks like things have changed a lot with browser habits , for one, I've joined the masses all flocking to Firefox, and the whole links bar thing I hardly use any more. Mainly 'cos I'm spending less time with my PC these days.

Dual Monitor eh? Swanky. I gotta build me a bigger desk first, but I can imagine the benefits of having a set-up like that. I've got a 21" sitting out in my spare room feeling unloved that could be utilised for some Ued/PS side-by-side.
__________________
Have ESR, will travel.

Extreme W00tabulous

UT99 HI SPEED INSTAGIB CTF ACTION - Custom Map Server
Video Trailer | Map Pack | Stats | Play Now!

2k4 Bulldog WIP thread | Download Current Beta

.
JohnnySix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Feb 2005, 02:58 AM   #11
tarquin
design is flawed
 
tarquin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 11th, 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 3,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by SabbathCat
I've joined the masses all flocking to Firefox
yay!!!
__________________

There's a Jailbreak banner for every map.

<tarquin> great work on the llama hud, Wormbo. I really felt like puking
tarquin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Feb 2005, 09:24 AM   #12
W0RF
BuF Greeter, News Bagger
 
W0RF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 19th, 2002
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 8,731
Quote:
Originally Posted by SabbathCat
I've joined the masses all flocking to Firefox,
'bout time, n00b.
Quote:
Dual Monitor eh? Swanky. I gotta build me a bigger desk first, but I can imagine the benefits of having a set-up like that. I've got a 21" sitting out in my spare room feeling unloved that could be utilised for some Ued/PS side-by-side.
Yeah, it's fantastic for editing purposes. It's mostly useless for everything else, although it does give me a bit more (virtual) desktop space to work with, and of course when games fire up, the second monitor auto-hibernates since it's not doing anything. But for UEd it's fantastic. I have the 3d window taking up my entire first screen, the top view taking half of the second screen, and the side and front views each taking one of the two remaining quarters. There's SO much more space to work with, and to properly select actors in the 3d view.
__________________





Maps: CTF-ColaWars-FragBU - current version = 2 | CTF/BR/JB/TDM-BuFferZone - In Progress
W0RF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer