NewsUnrealEdFilesModsFragBULiandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Original Unreal Tournament

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4th Nov 2003, 08:00 AM   #1
Szehang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 4th, 2003
Posts: 4
Unhappy Crosshair Problem

Hello

When I play in 1280x1024 the crosshair is more big and blurred.

I cannot play en 1024 because my monitor is a 17" TFT with a native resolution of 1280.

I have tried to make my own crosshair but although now is more small
it continues seeing itself blurred or very translucent.

I 2k3 it does not happen that to me.

What can I do?

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1024UTblackground.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	51.0 KB
ID:	68590   Click image for larger version

Name:	1280ownblackground.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	27.6 KB
ID:	68592   Click image for larger version

Name:	1280owncliffsgreen.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	100.0 KB
ID:	68593   Click image for larger version

Name:	1280owncliffsrojo.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	52.8 KB
ID:	68594   Click image for larger version

Name:	1024owncliffs.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	60.8 KB
ID:	68595  

Szehang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2003, 08:05 AM   #2
Szehang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 4th, 2003
Posts: 4
..the rest of images...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1280owncliffsturquesa.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	72.1 KB
ID:	68596   Click image for larger version

Name:	1280UTblackground.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	20.7 KB
ID:	68597  
Szehang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2003, 11:53 AM   #3
hyrulian
Rainbow Brite
 
hyrulian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 20th, 2001
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,545
This certainly is strange, and I don't know what's causing it. Try posting this in the Troubleshooting forum as well.
__________________
My Profiles: Facebook :: MySpace :: Steam
My Photo Album :: FragBU Community Wiki :: IRC Quotes
hyrulian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2003, 04:16 PM   #4
MÆST
Registered User
 
MÆST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 28th, 2001
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 2,731
I think I have that same problem, running a 17in LCD at 1280x1024. The best suggestion I could recommend is just use the dot as a crosshair. I too would like to know the cause of this though
__________________
MÆST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2003, 04:26 PM   #5
MÆST
Registered User
 
MÆST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 28th, 2001
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 2,731
I took my own screenshots ... a crappy map with a nice black backround

Nice find Szehang ... now all we need is a fix
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	crosshair1024.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	24.3 KB
ID:	68605   Click image for larger version

Name:	crosshair1280.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	29.0 KB
ID:	68606  
__________________
MÆST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2005, 05:45 PM   #6
MÆST
Registered User
 
MÆST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 28th, 2001
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 2,731
bump

I reinstalled UT and this prob is annoying me once again. Also, does anyone know of a crosshair pack that contains a plane dot that I could try that may work better then the default one?
__________________
MÆST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Feb 2005, 06:48 AM   #7
Predcaliber
One Day I'l Beat Lauke
 
Predcaliber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 17th, 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,165
hmm you could try to create your own dot perhaps and see wich is the most effective on that resolution by creating your own chrossair
__________________
Predcaliber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Feb 2005, 02:12 PM   #8
MÆST
Registered User
 
MÆST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 28th, 2001
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 2,731
Not sure if you have any experience creating crosshairs, but I gave it a try and it didn't work and I'm not exactly sure why. I made a simple dot in PS, saved it as a .pcx, imported it to Ued, (it looked okay in Ued), edited my user.ini etc. But when I tried to use it in UT while the crosshair scroll went farther to the right then before, the image of the crosshair below was messed up. Pic attached below. The left image was a standard crosshair and the right was what happened when I tried to select my new one. (Though it is interesting, the standard crosshairs aren't blurry when viewed in the HUD settings tab, but in game they are ... so that leads me to believe that making my own won't help)

[EDIT]Okay, got it to work. I just exported one of the default crosshairs and then edited that pcx instead of making one from scratch. I ended up just making a 1pixel by 1pixel dot and saving it. I can't seem to get rid of the bluring, but with the 1x1 dot the bluring isn't as bothersome[/EDIT]
Attached Images
File Type: png chprob.png (1.8 KB, 19 views)

Last edited by MÆST; 21st Feb 2005 at 02:29 PM.
MÆST is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer