News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > UnrealEngine2 Runtime > Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21st Oct 2003, 03:14 PM   #1
sheepsteak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 13th, 2003
Location: England
Posts: 1
Beginner help

There are a couple of things I need to know before I can start messing around with the U2R. I can't seem to get my HelloWorld mutator working. I've only played with mutators in UT2003 and I was able to select it from the main menu in that so there was no problem. I've tried using "EM_Runtime?=MutHelloWorld.HelloWorld" as a command line but it starts the map and doesn't use the mutator.

Also I can't seem to get the console working, I tried using "Tab=Console" in the User.ini but I've had no luck. Could someone help me with these problems, please?
sheepsteak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Oct 2003, 04:05 PM   #2
Vito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar. 18th, 2002
Posts: 143
The console drops down with the ` (tilde) key. I believe it's hardcoded. And EM_Runtime?mutator=MutHelloWorld.HelloWorld might work. We didn't test mutator functionality, though. Might not.
Vito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Oct 2003, 04:40 PM   #3
Wormbo
 
Wormbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 4th, 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheepsteak
Also I can't seem to get the console working, I tried using "Tab=Console" in the User.ini but I've had no luck. Could someone help me with these problems, please?
Try the ConsoleToggle or ConsoleOpen commands. They will only work for opening the console, though. For real toggleing throug ha key you'll have to change the keycode in [Engine.Console] ConsoleKey in UE2RUNTIME.ini. Valid codes can be derived from the EInputKey enum declared in the Engine.Interactions class. If you're not sure about a key name, just bind the desired key to any command (e.g. "jump") using the built-in keybinder and check which key name this command was bound to in User.ini.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vito
And EM_Runtime?mutator=MutHelloWorld.HelloWorld might work. We didn't test mutator functionality, though. Might not.
From what I can see the GameInfo.InitGame() code is almost identical to the UT2003 version, so adding mutators or gamerules from the URL should work.
__________________
Wormbo's UT/UT2004/UT3 mods | YouTube channel | PlanetJailbreak/JDN | Unreal Wiki | Liandri Archives
Everything you ever wanted to know about replication| UnrealScript security considerations
<elmuerte> you shouldn't do all-nighters, it's a waste of time and effort
<TNSe> nono
<TNSe> its always funny to find code a week later you dont even remember writing
<Pfhoenix> what's worse is when you have a Star Wars moment
<Pfhoenix> "Luke! I am your code!" "No! Impossible! It can't be!"

Last edited by Wormbo; 21st Oct 2003 at 04:45 PM.
Wormbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer