Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Registration is free! Calendar Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Home

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Mods > Infiltration > Off Topic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 2nd Oct 2003, 08:32 AM   #1
LifesBane[4C]
Registered User
 
LifesBane[4C]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 27th, 1999
Posts: 3,096
DNS Changed On Me Randomly?

Okay, that was weird... last night I suddenly, randomly, stopped having access to any page on the web, or things like mIRC or AIM.... but I could get onto game servers no problem! So, this morning, I went into the TCP/IP settings and there were two values inserted for the DNS server... I thought I had remembered it always being on "obtain automatically", so I set it back to that... and everything worked again.

Any clues as to what exactly happened? Maybe the ISPs DNS changed it's address or something? I'm kinda baffled...

Last edited by LifesBane[4C]; 2nd Oct 2003 at 08:33 AM.
LifesBane[4C] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Oct 2003, 09:47 AM   #2
Mr. Apocalypse
My brain must be broken
 
Mr. Apocalypse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 16th, 2001
Location: Everywhere but here or there
Posts: 1,097
The ISP couldnt change it to not be set on auto, and if it isnt set to auto they cant change it at all.
__________________


"I am become death, the destroyer of worlds."-- The Bhagavad-Gita, quote by Dr. J. Robert Oppenheimer

I am so 1337.. ppl call me 1338!
Mr. Apocalypse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Oct 2003, 09:49 AM   #3
TitanBlue
KATSU AKIGATA WA NAN DESUKA
 
TitanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 27th, 2001
Posts: 639
Perhaps something like the QHosts-1 trojan hit you -> http://vil.nai.com/vil/content/v_100719.htm

Can you tell which DNS-Servers were added? If so, google for the IP's and of course don't forget to ask your ISP
__________________
TitanBlue
German Armed Forces, 2./FmBtl 310, 3rd Platoon, ret.
Member of General sublime's Infiltration Beta-Team, ret.
Infiltration Battle Rifle Club 5.56 is for Pussies

changed to XBOX (was tired of upgrading my PC every 6 months)
TitanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Oct 2003, 11:37 AM   #4
LifesBane[4C]
Registered User
 
LifesBane[4C]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 27th, 1999
Posts: 3,096
Yay. Because of the many unfixed exploits in this piece of junk browser, today is the day I drop Internet Explorer and get Mozilla. Heh, I had a feeling it would happen someday.

Thanks Titan, it did happen to be that Trojan. I must've been unlucky enough to stumble upon that FortuneCity website or at least somewhere else hosting that banner while it was still up (supposedly the site that was hosting the script has been removed).
LifesBane[4C] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Oct 2003, 12:13 PM   #5
TitanBlue
KATSU AKIGATA WA NAN DESUKA
 
TitanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 27th, 2001
Posts: 639
noprobs and don't worry LB. It hit me too, last week.

Unfortunately I can't drop the IE cause I still need it to check the websites I made and it's dammned hard to get rid of something you used for years. I'll keep it but deactiveted ActiveX and scripting.
__________________
TitanBlue
German Armed Forces, 2./FmBtl 310, 3rd Platoon, ret.
Member of General sublime's Infiltration Beta-Team, ret.
Infiltration Battle Rifle Club 5.56 is for Pussies

changed to XBOX (was tired of upgrading my PC every 6 months)
TitanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer