NewsUnrealEdFilesModsFragBULiandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Off Topic > Hardware, Software & Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17th Sep 2003, 11:34 PM   #1
Traxis
Waiting for the deathblow
 
Traxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 29th, 2001
Posts: 338
Installing a new Mobo and RAM, should I reformat?

I just bought a new mobo, (Gigabyte SINXP1394 if you were wondering) and I wanted to know if XP would have any problems recognizing my hardware if I didn't do a fresh install and just replaced my old mobo.
Traxis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Sep 2003, 05:39 AM   #2
Swedix
Retired from UT2004
 
Swedix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 19th, 2000
Location: In position
Posts: 4,854
If you have a different chipset on your new mobo, there might be some problem.
XP will probably start, it will find the new hardware and trying to install the drivers.
This might work but to be sure you get 100% of your new hardware, I suggest you make a new install of Windows.
__________________


Download my filemanager for UT2004, UT2004Mi
Swedix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Sep 2003, 05:48 AM   #3
Hunter
BeyondUnreal Newsie
 
Hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 20th, 2001
Location: ...Behind You...
Posts: 6,990
should be ok, heard people changing hardware over etc in XP, if it doesnt work you can always do a fresh install
__________________

UnrealFans | Hunter's Home
Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Sep 2003, 12:23 PM   #4
0bside0
Transmogriphying...
 
0bside0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 20th, 2000
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 299
It will probably work though you will wind up with duplicate entries for your chipset fuctions (system devices, etc.) most likey and will have many registry entries that are unecessary/redundant and problematic.
In the long run your system will be unstable and chances are you'll wind up reinstalling anyhow.

Replacing a video card, or memory, or drive is not a big deal, but ANY time I replace a mobo/proc I plan on a clean install.
Besides with a new mobo combo you'll want a fresh install so you can really feel the improvement from your old.
__________________
-- SiD
formerly "ArAñA"



"To the last, I grapple with thee..." -Melville
http://www.klondike5.us
0bside0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer