News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Coding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 05:07 AM   #1
Supremacy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug. 21st, 2003
Posts: 34
BuyMenu, Again !!!

Hey guys,

found out how to make a BuyMenu GUI ???
wich responds with a key (for example: "V")
and then it pops up and shows weapons and other items.

if anyone got a complete buy-system i would send him/her money for it :/
Supremacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 06:13 AM   #2
clam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul. 24th, 2003
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supremacy

if anyone got a complete buy-system i would send him/her money for it :/

****, i'd MAKE one for you for money ;\
clam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 06:21 AM   #3
Wormbo
 
Wormbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 4th, 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,753
Is this a request for others to do this for you? In that case the Mod Recruitment forum might be a better place...
__________________
Wormbo's UT/UT2004/UT3 mods | YouTube channel | PlanetJailbreak/JDN | Unreal Wiki | Liandri Archives
Everything you ever wanted to know about replication| UnrealScript security considerations
<elmuerte> you shouldn't do all-nighters, it's a waste of time and effort
<TNSe> nono
<TNSe> its always funny to find code a week later you dont even remember writing
<Pfhoenix> what's worse is when you have a Star Wars moment
<Pfhoenix> "Luke! I am your code!" "No! Impossible! It can't be!"
Wormbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 06:23 AM   #4
BlackHornet
Global Warzone Project Leader
 
BlackHornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 24th, 2002
Location: Aachen - Germany
Posts: 76
BuyMenu is simple GUIPage opened within an exec functionin your playcontroller class.
Then build up the GUIpage......should it be react on key strokes?...then define KeyEvents (or keytypes...im not sure what exactly). after all those things (spawn a copy of your item,give it to the player and substract the money from his playerreplicationinfo...i suggest to define the money there)

it isnt as difficult as it seems to be (instead of the grafiks)

if you have more questions.....we are all in here :P
__________________
BlackHornet - Project Leader, Programmer

Global WarZonE - a UT2k3 total conversion
irc://irc.quakenet.org/globalwarzone
www.globalwarzone.com
BlackHornet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 06:37 AM   #5
Supremacy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug. 21st, 2003
Posts: 34
i didn't find the keyevents / keytypes ...
Supremacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 08:10 AM   #6
Konma
Have u ever seen the truth?
 
Konma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 22nd, 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 17
just open other gui pages from standard ut and u can see how it works.
__________________
Global Warzone
http://www.globalwarzone.net
Konma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 09:07 AM   #7
Supremacy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug. 21st, 2003
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Konma
just open other gui pages from standard ut and u can see how it works.
yes, but how to get the new guipage displayed ?
Supremacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 09:23 AM   #8
RegularX
Master of Dagoth Lies
 
RegularX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 2nd, 2000
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,215
Create an exec off your controller that does an open page. Look at the code that opens the MidGameMenu for some samples. Then create a keybind for that exec, or if you want to get fancy on it - a key interaction.


For example, the modified ShowMenu in riftwar:
Code:
exec function ShowMenu()
{
	// Pause if not already
	if(Level.Pauser == None)
		SetPause(true);

	StopForceFeedback();  // jdf - no way to pause feedback

	// Open menu
	ClientOpenMenu("SpeciesBattle.SBMidGameMenu");
}
__________________
_____________________________
I remember old school.

Champion of Glaucoma Inducing Radiation Everywhere

Last edited by RegularX; 22nd Aug 2003 at 09:29 AM.
RegularX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 09:57 AM   #9
Supremacy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug. 21st, 2003
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by RegularX
Create an exec off your controller that does an open page. Look at the code that opens the MidGameMenu for some samples. Then create a keybind for that exec, or if you want to get fancy on it - a key interaction.


For example, the modified ShowMenu in riftwar:
Code:
exec function ShowMenu()
{
	// Pause if not already
	if(Level.Pauser == None)
		SetPause(true);

	StopForceFeedback();  // jdf - no way to pause feedback

	// Open menu
	ClientOpenMenu("SpeciesBattle.SBMidGameMenu");
}
i made it, even b4
but then came an error something about exec stuff

ClientOpenMenu("TacStr.TS_MidGameMenu.uc");

thats what i did and an error about exec stuff apeared.


EDIT: this is the message:

TacStr is not a DLL package; can't find export 'intATS_PlayerConrollerexecSetNetSpeed'

Last edited by Supremacy; 22nd Aug 2003 at 10:00 AM.
Supremacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 09:59 AM   #10
RegularX
Master of Dagoth Lies
 
RegularX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 2nd, 2000
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,215
Code:
ClientOpenMenu("TacStr.TS_MidGameMenu.uc");
Probably because your are referring to a file rather than a class ... try dropping the .uc
__________________
_____________________________
I remember old school.

Champion of Glaucoma Inducing Radiation Everywhere
RegularX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 10:01 AM   #11
Supremacy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug. 21st, 2003
Posts: 34
what means dropping the .uc ?
Supremacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 10:02 AM   #12
Supremacy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug. 21st, 2003
Posts: 34
i copied the original PlayerController.uc and put it in my code dir and then i renamed that file to TS_PlayerController.uc and named the class right.
and then i made this little code line:

ClientOpenMenu("TacStr.TS_MidGameMenu.uc");

instead of

ClientOpenMenu("Xinterface.UT2MidGameMenu");
Supremacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 10:05 AM   #13
RegularX
Master of Dagoth Lies
 
RegularX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 2nd, 2000
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,215
...and did that work?
__________________
_____________________________
I remember old school.

Champion of Glaucoma Inducing Radiation Everywhere
RegularX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 11:38 AM   #14
Supremacy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug. 21st, 2003
Posts: 34
hell no :/
the error i posted before appeared
Supremacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 11:46 AM   #15
RegularX
Master of Dagoth Lies
 
RegularX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 2nd, 2000
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,215
sorry, I misread

You have - ClientOpenMenu("TacStr.TS_MidGameMenu.uc");

You need (I think) -
ClientOpenMenu("TacStr.TS_MidGameMenu");

No ".uc"
__________________
_____________________________
I remember old school.

Champion of Glaucoma Inducing Radiation Everywhere
RegularX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 12:45 PM   #16
SoSilencer
Harry Goz (1932 - 2003)
 
SoSilencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 27th, 2000
Posts: 834
Quote:
Quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally Posted by Supremacy


if anyone got a complete buy-system i would send him/her money for it :/
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

****, i'd MAKE one for you for money ;\
Totally man, for like $15 an hour I'd make an awsome buy system for you. Hell, maybe I'll just make a universal buy menu system and sell it (I bet this is against the EULA though, damnit).
__________________
German Guy: Is there an indicator to see where the blue flag is?
Mark Rein: Yeah it's a blue flag
SoSilencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 02:43 PM   #17
Euphoric Beaver
impeccably groomed
 
Euphoric Beaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 19th, 2001
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 3,158
Yeh then once you've sold it, add it to the wiki. \o/
Euphoric Beaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 03:56 PM   #18
Supremacy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug. 21st, 2003
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by RegularX
sorry, I misread

You have - ClientOpenMenu("TacStr.TS_MidGameMenu.uc");

You need (I think) -
ClientOpenMenu("TacStr.TS_MidGameMenu");

No ".uc"
yeah its without .uc sorry i posted this mistake but the code is without .uc




@SoSilencer:
if you need 1-2 hours for it (a tiny buymenu is enough, without pictures and stuff) then you are my worker and i pay

PM me
Supremacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 04:27 PM   #19
RegularX
Master of Dagoth Lies
 
RegularX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 2nd, 2000
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,215
It sounds like you have a compile error causing your package to implode. Either in your PC or the GUIPage itself. Can't tell from your posts if you are getting this error during the build or when you try the exec. If it's during the build, it's probably a syntax error in your PC. If it's not, it might in your GUIPage. Try swapping out your GP with MidGameMenu to see if that's true.

You'll have to post more code for debugging if that fails you.
__________________
_____________________________
I remember old school.

Champion of Glaucoma Inducing Radiation Everywhere
RegularX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2003, 07:06 PM   #20
-=[MAD]=-Hmpf
Registered User
 
-=[MAD]=-Hmpf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 15th, 2002
Posts: 25
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supremacy
i copied the original PlayerController.uc and put it in my code dir and then i renamed that file to TS_PlayerController.uc and named the class right.
and then i made this little code line:

ClientOpenMenu("TacStr.TS_MidGameMenu.uc");

instead of

ClientOpenMenu("Xinterface.UT2MidGameMenu");
That's something you shouldn't do.
You don't need to copy that whole stuff...
just make a subclass of PlayerController instead.

You should familiarize yourself with the principles of OOP before attempting to write a mod with buy menus and stuff.
Unreal Wiki - OOP Overview


trust me...
even if you get your buymenu working, you'll never finish your mod if you're not willing to learn the basics. (or if you're to lazy to write it yourself!)
-=[MAD]=-Hmpf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer