Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Registration is free! Calendar Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Home

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Mods > Infiltration > Off Topic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15th Jul 2003, 02:47 AM   #1
Crowze
Bird Brain
 
Join Date: Feb. 6th, 2002
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 3,554
UT2k3 mod concept - need help with 1 little thing

Well, the idea we (me and my bro) came up with was a Diablo/Dungeon Siege-style RPG for UT2k3 (it's practically the only genre of game that ut hasn't been modded into afaik). One thing we'd love to do is have random maps like in Diablo, but I've got no idea how to go about this. I seem to recall a map in 2.9 has randomised stuff in it - if whoever made that map could get in touch with me and explain how it's done, that'd be great (or, of course, anyone else who knows a way of doing it). My email is dj_robe@hotmail.com, or ICQ 116195382.

Plus, anyone else interested in this project, let me know. It's just a vague idea at the moment, but other people's ideas would be good to have.
__________________

Infiltration | Sentry Studios
Crowze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Jul 2003, 03:19 AM   #2
das_ben
Concerned.
 
das_ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 11th, 2000
Location: Teutonia
Posts: 5,883
SoSilencer [you'll find posts of him in the development forum] once created DynaTrig where things can be randomized within a map. Not sure, but I think it was also mentioned somewhere that something similar was implemented in INF 2.9. I'd guess that the feature could be coded into UT2K3 easily if you know how the original works.
__________________
- Ben. [Flickr] | [Blog] | [Tumblr]
das_ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Jul 2003, 06:10 AM   #3
Freon
Braaaaiinss...
 
Freon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 27th, 2002
Location: France
Posts: 4,550
the map you're thinking of is Iraq, made by Raekwon. some barrels and small stuff are place randomly using movers. each frame of the mover represent a different position. one of these frames will be chosen when the game begins.
it can be done in ut2k3 as well, but you're limited by the movers count. it will affect both the fps and the network performences.
__________________

"I don't have a ****ing clue why I'm wasting precious brain cells arguing with
a man who names himself after the fluid that runs behind my fridge." - BadMojo

** Infiltration - Vega clan - dichlorodifluoromethane **
Freon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Jul 2003, 07:10 AM   #4
-Snakebite-
Hero
 
-Snakebite-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 26th, 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,112
Crowze - Why mod UT2k into a RPG game? Are their specific feature from the UT2k engine your mod needs?
__________________
Snakebite - Back in Japan.

Infiltration: Counter-Strike fans in denial.
-Snakebite- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Jul 2003, 09:14 AM   #5
Crowze
Bird Brain
 
Join Date: Feb. 6th, 2002
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 3,554
No reason really, just thought it would be an interesting thing to do . Looks like the completely randomised thing won't work out, time to think of another way to do it.
__________________

Infiltration | Sentry Studios
Crowze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Jul 2003, 01:40 PM   #6
spm1138
Irony Is
 
spm1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 10th, 2001
Posts: 2,662
IMHO, hand to hand combat never works well in first person mode.
__________________
spm1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Jul 2003, 04:09 PM   #7
Crowze
Bird Brain
 
Join Date: Feb. 6th, 2002
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 3,554
Who said first person?

This most likely won't happen, I don't have the time. Of course, unless a lot of other people are willing to help out.
__________________

Infiltration | Sentry Studios
Crowze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Jul 2003, 04:26 PM   #8
randomas
Registered User
 
Join Date: May. 24th, 2001
Posts: 442
Hmmm from what I remember you could generate a random terrain with fractal generator giving you an rgb hight map of a fixed size. the textures would be have to be preset though.
randomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jul 2003, 12:56 PM   #9
das_ben
Concerned.
 
das_ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 11th, 2000
Location: Teutonia
Posts: 5,883
Hmmm. Another interesting solution would be having dozens of static meshes that are randomly thrown together at joints that have been specified before. Not sure if that's possible though.
__________________
- Ben. [Flickr] | [Blog] | [Tumblr]
das_ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer