News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Coding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23rd Jun 2003, 05:31 PM   #1
Dexter13
The Coding Machine
 
Join Date: Dec. 18th, 2001
Posts: 106
Arrow Replication 'Spawn()' (UT2003)

Hi!
I have a function that calls spawn() and I get it to basically spawn an explosion if an actor is hit, very simple.

Works fine offline but as soon as I go online the Effects don't spawn at all, no-matter how I seem to replicate the function, the sounds work fine but the FX don't appear for clients!

Does anyone have any ideas?

Dex.
Dexter13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jun 2003, 07:30 PM   #2
Mychaeel
 
Join Date: Oct. 3rd, 2001
Location: Frankfurt/Main, Germany
Posts: 3,829
Replicated functions are only sent to the actor's owner.

Either spawn your effects client-side (initiated by some engine notification), or configure your effects actor to be replicated itself when it is spawned server-side.
Mychaeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jun 2003, 08:21 PM   #3
Dexter13
The Coding Machine
 
Join Date: Dec. 18th, 2001
Posts: 106
Smile

Thanks for the reply man,
Sorry to be such an idiot, but how exactly would I do the 2 things you mentioned?

Thanks again,

Dex.
Dexter13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jun 2003, 09:52 PM   #4
Dexter13
The Coding Machine
 
Join Date: Dec. 18th, 2001
Posts: 106
Does no-one know how to do this?
I'm kinda desperate I guess, lol,

Dex.
Dexter13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jun 2003, 02:15 AM   #5
Mychaeel
 
Join Date: Oct. 3rd, 2001
Location: Frankfurt/Main, Germany
Posts: 3,829
Well... post the class header and the default properties of the effect class you're spawning (unless it's a built-in class---then just say its name) so we can look into it.
Mychaeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jun 2003, 10:01 AM   #6
Dexter13
The Coding Machine
 
Join Date: Dec. 18th, 2001
Posts: 106
Smile

Ok, basically, in my fireModes' 'DoFireEffect' function, I simple do a trace and return a material, then test that material according to it's type and do this:

'Spawn(class'pclImpactSmoke',other,,HitLocation, rotator(HitNormal));'

(or another built in emmiter using the same syntax.)

That's all ,and it doesn't ever show for clients!

The reason I am handling the FX here and not in the attatchment where UT2003 spawns sparks, etc. is that when I do that, the FX are always one shot behind, ie: they spawn where I last fired : /

Any ideas?

Dex.
Dexter13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jun 2003, 06:24 AM   #7
Payback
Ive got a big stick
 
Payback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 21st, 2002
Posts: 94
If my amazingly crap memory serves correctly, someone figured out what was causing that one shot behind thing and fixed it.
It may have been AD-Squirrel or SquirrelZero, or something to do with furry animals. Unfortunatly I think it was posted up mere days before the board was nuked and all that data was lost. Did anyone keep the code or know if it was posted elsewhere?

It might serve you better to find the existing solution to the problem. Sorry I cant be of more help there.

Last edited by Payback; 26th Jun 2003 at 06:25 AM.
Payback is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer