News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Off Topic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24th Feb 2002, 02:10 AM   #1
Deathwing
Raucous Rodentia
 
Deathwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 15th, 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,792
Video card not there....sort of

I uninstalled GLSetup (the program that automatically downloads and installs video drivers for you) without realizing that I was obviously uninstalling something to do with my video card, cause it went screwy. I reinstalled GLSetup and let it do it's thing, installed the video drivers from the disk, updated ones for the Asus website (my card is an Asus 7100 series GF2 MX), and the detonator drivers. None of them made a difference. I tried booting 4 different games to see if they would work. Carmageddon 2 only sees my 2D software drivers, Unreal Tournament will only work in a window (if I try and maximize the screen just flashes and there's still just a window), and Return to Castle Wolfenstein and Medal of Honor gave me "cannot load OpenGL subsystem" errors.

What happened and what can I do about it?
Deathwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Feb 2002, 09:45 AM   #2
NeoNite
La douce souffrance...
 
NeoNite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 10th, 2000
Posts: 18,701
about the "cannot load opengl subsystem"
I remember getting this error two years ago, when I had trouble running q3...
Thing is, I had to uninstall my vc (voodoo banshee) etc...
Then I reinstalled the vc, drivers everything.. updated the drivers and well the problem was solved :-I
And yes I also had to use glsetup
I don't remember using if for Ut though. Ut detected my vc and suggested running the game in glide.
__________________


I find myself intrigued by your subvocal oscillations,
A singular development of cat communications
That obviates your basic hedonistic predilection
For a rhythmic stroking of your fur to demonstrate affection. -Ode to Spot, by Data
NeoNite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Feb 2002, 02:26 PM   #3
[BuF]Blorgg
Inhuman
 
[BuF]Blorgg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 11th, 2000
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,326
If you have a video card with an Nvidia chip on it(TNT1,2,GF1,2,3,4) you shouldn't f00l around with OpenGL setup but just go to the drivers section of the Nvidia website and download the latest official drivers there. They are still at 23.11 now, I'm using 27.42 for W2K/XP
http://www.pcextreme.de/downloads/de...7.42_WinXP.exe
Win9x/ME here:
http://www.pcextreme.de/downloads/de...7.42_Win9x.exe


Without any problems. But these drivers are not supported by Nvidia. So if you want to be on the save side download drivers from the Nvidia site
__________________

Last edited by [BuF]Blorgg; 24th Feb 2002 at 02:32 PM.
[BuF]Blorgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Feb 2002, 04:16 PM   #4
Law
I see...
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 2nd, 2000
Posts: 989
Question

How much of a performance increase have you had with the 27.42 drivers? I've been considering installing them, but I haven't been having any problems with the 23.11 drivers.
__________________
"Wit is educated insolence." - Aristotle (384-322 B.C.)
Law is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Feb 2002, 07:20 PM   #5
Deathwing
Raucous Rodentia
 
Deathwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 15th, 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,792
I installed both the 23.11 drivers and the 27.42. Neither of them fixed the problem. And like I said above, I also installed the ones from the cd and the newer ones from the Asus web site. Nothing is working.

I noticed that in the Medal of Honor auto-configure window, it says I have 16mb of video ram, but my card is 32mb. I don't know if it was like this when it was working though. Could this have something to do with it? How do I convince the computer that it's using a 32mb card and not a 16mb? I've uninstalled the card quite a few times, btw.
Deathwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Feb 2002, 05:41 PM   #6
Deathwing
Raucous Rodentia
 
Deathwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 15th, 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,792
*bump*
Deathwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Feb 2002, 06:09 PM   #7
Deathwing
Raucous Rodentia
 
Deathwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 15th, 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,792
*whistles*
Deathwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Feb 2002, 06:16 PM   #8
DeaJae
taking a month's break
 
Join Date: May. 7th, 2001
Location: England
Posts: 2,883
try updating the video card to "standard VGA Adaptor" restart, then when it detects it install the 23.11.. GLsetup had this nasty way of locking a file when it updates for you.
DeaJae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Feb 2002, 06:28 PM   #9
Deathwing
Raucous Rodentia
 
Deathwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 15th, 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,792
Asus drivers are automatically installed after restart, even if I've installed the card as a standard display adapter.
Deathwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Feb 2002, 07:00 PM   #10
DeaJae
taking a month's break
 
Join Date: May. 7th, 2001
Location: England
Posts: 2,883
hmmm, best grab detonator destroyer from 3dguru.com ... this one may need more research
DeaJae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Feb 2002, 08:26 PM   #11
Deathwing
Raucous Rodentia
 
Deathwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 15th, 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,792
I linked to this over at the NC boards: http://forums.beyondunreal.com/showt...hreadid=106134

More research was done there, problem not yet fixed.

Haven't tried the last suggestion yet though, just about to do that.
Deathwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2002, 06:45 PM   #12
Deathwing
Raucous Rodentia
 
Deathwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 15th, 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,792
la di da......
Deathwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2002, 06:57 PM   #13
DeaJae
taking a month's break
 
Join Date: May. 7th, 2001
Location: England
Posts: 2,883
which OS? if XP your'll need to upgrade your installation, if 98 just layer it.
DeaJae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Feb 2002, 07:28 PM   #14
Deathwing
Raucous Rodentia
 
Deathwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 15th, 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,792
I have 98SE.
Deathwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer