News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Reviews > Nali City > Nali City - General Forums > Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21st Feb 2002, 04:18 PM   #1
Rath
a.k.a Archon/Ultra Beotch
 
Rath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 20th, 2001
Location: The Place Where Existance is Created
Posts: 23
Talking My life blood spills out... thats bad then I guess

I need mega help....

[paste]
No! Woe is me! My map has bugged out and theres nothing i can do about it... and it was just getting good......

But, is that a light at the end of the tunnel? or is someone just lighting there farts...

Well, maybe you can help. I will now Paste my Editor.log file here, and attach the map itself.

[Log File]

Log: Log file open, 02/20/02 21:37:29
Init: Name subsystem initialized
Init: Detected: Microsoft Windows NT 5.1 (Build: 2600)
Init: Version: 436
Init: Compiled: Oct 24 2000 12:22:20
Init: Command line:
Init: Base directory: D:\UnrealTournament\System\
Init: Character set: Unicode
Log: Bound to Editor.dll
Log: Bound to Core.dll
Log: Bound to Engine.dll
Log: Bound to Window.dll
Init: Object subsystem initialized
Init: Computer: EVILHE37L16SEH
Init: User: Peter
Init: Memory total: Phys=130612K Pagef=315640K Virt=2097024K
Init: Working set: 32000 / 159000
Init: CPU Speed=601.365465 MHz
Init: CPU Page size=4096, Processors=1
Init: CPU Detected: PentiumPro-class processor (GenuineIntel)
Init: CPU Features: CMov FPU RDTSC PAE MMX KNI
Init: Unreal engine initialized
Log: Bound to Galaxy.dll
Init: Galaxy is using WinMM
Init: Galaxy initialized
Init: Transaction tracking system initialized
Log: Bound to Fire.dll
Log: Bound to IpDrv.dll
Log: Bound to UWeb.dll
Log: Bound to WinDrv.dll
Init: Mouse info: 6 10 1
Init: Initializing DirectDraw
Log: DirectDraw drivers:
Log: display (Primary Display Driver)
Init: DirectDraw initialized successfully
Init: Client initialized
Log: Bound to Render.dll
Init: Lighting subsystem initialized
Init: Rendering initialized
Init: Editor engine initialized
Log: Startup time: 19.132302 seconds
Init: Input system initialized for U2Viewport0
Log: Opened viewport
Log: Bound to SoftDrv.dll
Init: Input system initialized for U2Viewport1
Log: Opened viewport
Init: Input system initialized for U2Viewport2
Log: Opened viewport
Init: Input system initialized for U2Viewport3
Log: Opened viewport
Init: Input system initialized for MeshViewer
Log: Opened viewport
Init: Input system initialized for TextureBrowser
Log: Opened viewport
Log: New File, Existing Package (Package MyLevel, Package DM-Korantor)
Critical: appError called:
Critical: ReadFile beyond EOF 650113+2/650113
Critical: Windows GetLastError: The operation completed successfully. (0)
Exit: Executing UObject::StaticShutdownAfterError
Exit: UGalaxyAudioSubsystem::ShutdownAfterError
Warning: glxStopOutput() failed: 6
Exit: Executing UWindowsClient::ShutdownAfterError
Log: DirectDraw End Mode
Critical: ULinkerLoad::Serialize
Critical: FObjectExport<<
Critical: LoadExportMap
Critical: ULinkerLoad::ULinkerLoad
Critical: UObject::GetPackageLinker
Critical: UObject::LoadPackage
Critical: UEditorEngine::Exec
Critical: (MAP LOAD FILE="D:\UnrealTournament\Maps\DM-Korantor.unr")
Critical: FileOpen
Critical: WEditorFrame::OnCommand
Critical: WM_HSCROLL
Critical: WWindow::WndProc
Critical: WWindow::StaticProc
Critical: DispatchMessage
Critical: 00030288 273
Critical: MessagePump
Critical: MainLoop
Exit: Exiting.
Uninitialized: Name subsystem shut down
Uninitialized: Log file closed, 02/20/02 21:38:09

and the ma[P]

http://www.lordarchon.fsnet.co.uk/DM-Korantor.zip
[/paste]

I heard from someone that Varpu might be able to help me.. must get hold of him...

oh, and there is no MyLevel.utx file in my textures folder
__________________
Rath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Feb 2002, 06:16 PM   #2
Varpu
Novice Nali City Reviewer
 
Varpu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 21st, 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 309
This is a short conversation at #nalicity

Varpu: ReadFile beyond EOF 650113+2/650113
GrimmEDiti: whats the nature of the error
Evil_Cope: map wont open no more. i thibnk.
Hourences: yah
Hourences: its insane
Varpu: This means that the file has been truncated for some reason
Hourences: if you even select it in ut
GrimmEDiti: waaa
Hourences: so you get the previw shot
Hourences: it allready chrashes
Hourences: just from the preview shot
GrimmEDiti: that is weird
Evil_Cope: truncated? huh?
Varpu: Means - it has lost it's tail
Varpu: symbolically speaking
*** Mode change "+l 17" on #nalicity by ChanServ
Varpu: The file has a table - export table - where all items, brushes etc are listed
Evil_Cope: aah
Hourences: so the guy is totalty ****ed ?
Hourences: cause its totaly destroyed ?
Varpu: Each item in this list has a number that is actually the position of the item in the map file
Varpu: Now there may have happened two things:
Varpu: 1) the file saving process was prematurely terminated causing the file being not completely written
Varpu: 2) the export table is fuxored up so that it point to some insane position (the error message indicates this not being the case)
Evil_Cope: so its basically ****ed.
GrimmEDiti: lol
Hourences: lol
Varpu: I have only one good advicxe for You ellows: Make backups - and make them VERY often.
Hourences: i know
GrimmEDiti: ellows = ?
Evil_Cope: it wasnt me! lol
Hourences: i got 15 differnt versions from some of my maps
Varpu: It is basically and I would like to say "terminally" ill
Hourences: on multiple ftps and hds
Evil_Cope: i recently enable the backup thing lol. yay for terrain.
Hourences: nah
GrimmEDiti: i usually keep 3-4 backups of any map im currently working on
Hourences: if the map is too big
Varpu: The UED backup is OK but I would make additional snapshots now and then.
Hourences: it will interterup your work all the time
Hourences: anoying
Evil_Cope: Mm.
Hourences: and it creates too many files
Hourences: a big map needs multiple sec too sabe
Hourences: ve
Varpu: I usually use the copy-paste on OS window. Takes care of naming etc.
Varpu: Hmmm - the zip was not too big - only 280 Kb
Hourences: map is 640 or so
Varpu: I just wonder if this map opens in UED ?
Varpu: It might do - I'll check it out
Hourences: nop
Hourences: no ut
Hourences: no ued
Hourences: no d3d
Hourences: o software
Hourences: no ogl
Hourences: nothing
Varpu: Oh - hopefully he has a backup.

I feel bad. I always get some tears on my eyes when someones work gets wasted.

Well - if You have played the map from editor You actually have backup. It is the Autoplay.unr. If You have NOT ran any map from editor - this should be the latest working copy of Your map. Hopefully it is intact.
__________________
Another day with UTCMS
Do not send spam here
Varpu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Feb 2002, 12:14 PM   #3
Rath
a.k.a Archon/Ultra Beotch
 
Rath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 20th, 2001
Location: The Place Where Existance is Created
Posts: 23
... ahhh... then i have some bad news and good news for myself...

I remembered that I had saved the terrain brushes in there most recent state, and i built them and saved the map. I hope that hasnt over writen it. chances are it has. Thanks for your help anyway. 'preciate it

EDIT: DUDE! it worked! well, i dont have my cool lava thingy in it, but that can be redone! thanks a lot! your great!
__________________

Last edited by Rath; 22nd Feb 2002 at 01:04 PM.
Rath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer