Develop a full fledged game using UR runtime

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Carbon Rock

Oct 4, 2005
Hi I am new to Game programming. I have downloaded unreal Engine 2 Runtime.
I have two queries.

1) Is it possible to develop a full fledged game using UE2 Runtime for non commercial purpose? If it is not possible, then what are the requirements to develop a full fledged game?

2) Please list down the features that are unavailable in Runtime version compared to full version.

3) What is the use of engine source code unless I modify it and also what is native code? what can I do with this?

Thanks in advance

[SAS]Solid Snake

Jun 7, 2002
New Zealand
www.digitalconfectioners.com
No, you cannot make a game.

You need to purchase the engine, you need to be both a company and have around 450'000 US to do it.

EULA Extract
YOU MAY NOT USE THE RUNTIME SOFTWARE TO DEVELOP GAMES. YES, I KNOW THIS SOUNDS NASTY BUT LET’S FACE IT, EPIC‘S PRIMARY MEANS OF INCOME COMES FROM GAME SALES AND ENGINE LICENSING. WE WOULD BE SHOOTING OURSELVES IN THE FOOT IF WE ALLOWED AN ENGINE WE GAVE AWAY FOR FREE TO TRAMPLE OUR PRIMARY MEANS OF INCOME. SORRY, BUT IF YOU WANT TO DEVELOP A GAME PLEASE DEVELOP IT AS A MOD FOR ONE OF OUR EXISTING RETAIL GAME PRODUCTS OR CONTACT US REGARDING A PROPER ENGINE LICENSE.

Carbon Rock

Oct 4, 2005
Sorry. I am not going to sell it. My further plan is to license Unreal Engine 2. But can't I develop game using Unreal Runtime version and then convert it to original version.

I cant get you. Does the runtime engine doesn't have the features to develop a game? Please explain.

[SAS]Solid Snake