A few newbie questions

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

phil1076

Aug 17, 2001
Visit site
I'm a quake 1/2/3 veteran and have ben out of the FPS scene for around 6 months or so. I'm thinking of getting into UT and was wondering if someone could take the time to explain some of the things I need to know. How's the game? The weapons? Should I buy it? Thanks in advance

I_B_Bangin

habitual line stepper
Aug 6, 2000
Boston, MA
I can't compare it to the quake series for you, but I believe most people who ppst here would probably tell you to definitely pick up UT. I first saw UT a little over a year ago and watched two of my friends play each other in both UT and Quake 3 and I thought UT looked better and looked like it would be a bit more fun for me to get into. I love it. The gameplay is great and I have known some people who did the crossover from the Quake series and were able to pick up on how to play UT pretty well. Get the game!

truffles.jpg

SamD

Hooker with a penis
Nov 1, 2000
Brooklyn
when i first played Q3, it looked like Q2 with improved graphics. i got UT, and it wasn't just the graphics (heck, i put everything on low just to squeeze that 100 fps average :) ), its the fast intensive gameplay, original weapons with 2 fire modes (sometimes 3, if you combine the 2), a load of mods, game modes that come with the game (assault, deathmatch, team dm, ctf, last man standing, domination) excellent netplay and performance (especially voodoo cards!).

The game is something like 20-30 bucks now so pick it up

Cryognosis

might never have a icon
Aug 2, 2001