UE1 - UT UED 2- Brush Limit?

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

The Good Doctor F

Detailed BSP Recoveree
Jan 23, 2011
www.atomiccrowbar.com
First of all, hi. I've been doing mapping for Source Engine games for the last two years, some mapping design for Crysis and recently have decided to give unreal a shot.
However, none of the default static meshes in UT3 have inspired me to do anything, so I'm mapping for Unreal Tournament (transitioning from using BSP details to meshes is harder then I thought)

So anyways, I'm working on part of my first map for unreal tournament just to get my feet wet. It takes place on top of and inside of a sky scraper. I just started working on an office complex after finishing the basics of the outside. Heres a quick picture of one of the cubicles.

brushlimit.png

Now multiply that by... Well... Alot :lol:
brushlimit2.png

Now when I try to rebuild the geometry, it crashes on me. Judging by the error message that pops up, I'm assuming its a problem with the number of brushes I'm using. Also, my map file is 2.4mb (most other default maps I've seen are around 1.8mb or 900kb) I have a couple of custom 2d extruded brushes that I've used for things like computers and other details, could those things have brought the map over the edge?

tl;dr version

What is the maximum number of brushes a map can handle?
Also, some tips for optimizing would be nice. It seems things work MUCH differently in the ways of performance than Source :p

If you need more pics of the rest of the map, I can easily provide them. And thanks in advance for the help :)

Metalfist

Nov 6, 2010