UE2 - UT2kX Textures Won't Import

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

JimmyPop

Sep 27, 2009
Hey people. I'm new to the whole forum thing and have never done this but I'm hoping I will find the answer I need on here. I tried searching for a related post to my problem for a while and didn't find one so I'm posting...

My problem is with importing textures. I want to create a Doom level using UnrealEd for 2k4. I got a WAD editor to extract the textures from the WAD file and saved them as BMPs. I then went into Photoshop to convert them to the required sizes/dimensions and .TGA files.

I go into the editor, open the texture browser, choose import texture and all that jazz. I name the created package something along the lines of "myLevel" or "myPackage." I then click OK, and the damn file doesn't import. The dialogue box on the texture browser (the one that says which package your viewing) goes blank and reverts to viewing all textures in the entire game. After I make the custom package, it should open it in the browser, but it doesn't.

I have used UnrealEd before and I know the specs required for imported textures and the process to do so. I have never encountered this problem before. Ive tried re-saving the TGAs, re-scaling, restarting the program, even double check the import requirements...nothing. Any thoughts?

Wormbo

Administrator
Staff member
Jun 4, 2001
Germany
www.koehler-homepage.de
Open the log window right after you tried to import the texture file.