how to export images from .utx?

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

teh derd

Amateur Lamer
Jan 14, 2004
at my terminal
What is the simplest way to extract bitmaps or pngs or whatever out of .utx files so I can skin? UnrealEd doesn't seem to have this function. I want to use my favorite applications to edit the skins, but there doesn't seem to be an easy way. I can use upaint to put the images back in, it appears.

I am a good artist, but not much of a hacker. I see no obvious way of getting the images out, except the dirt-simple one of printing the screen while using the texture browser. And up doesn't seem to support getting the images out of a .utx either. I hope I am missing a simple solution. Pls let me know!

TheArtfulDodger

Nov 25, 2003
Visit site
Right click the texture in the browser.

teh derd said:
What is the simplest way to extract bitmaps or pngs or whatever out of .utx files so I can skin? UnrealEd doesn't seem to have this function. I want to use my favorite applications to edit the skins, but there doesn't seem to be an easy way. I can use upaint to put the images back in, it appears.

I am a good artist, but not much of a hacker. I see no obvious way of getting the images out, except the dirt-simple one of printing the screen while using the texture browser. And up doesn't seem to support getting the images out of a .utx either. I hope I am missing a simple solution. Pls let me know!

Right click the texture in the browser and "Export to File".

teh derd

Amateur Lamer
Jan 14, 2004
at my terminal
[SAS]Solid Snake said:
Well if you use Adobe Photoshop, there is a DDS plug-in for it.