Writing a Cover Letter?

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

DRT-Maverick

Lover of Earwigs
Dec 4, 1999
Reno, NV
Hey guys, I'm about to apply for my first Real job! (By Real I mean a job that pertains to my education rather than say, serving tables, or retail or something crap).

I don't have experience in the field I'm applying. It's a biochemical engineering company. I've got educational experience, including lab experience, but I have no Work experience in the area.

How do I present myself as a valuable asset that they will want to keep? I'm going to be continuing my education until I achieve a Masters or higher, and I'm enrolled in a 5 year accelerated masters course at my local University...

How would you go about telling them that you want to work for them, but you don't know what you're good at yet, but that the career opportunity will not only shape where you'll go with your education but also may end up being your career plan of choice?

Well, yeah that's the jist. I've got a 3.98GPA and I'm in Honors Society... not sure if that'll help me.

Zur

surrealistic mad cow
Jul 8, 2002
Their address and contact details on the left.

Your address and contact details to the right.

Dear Sir, Madam,

Explain why you are contacting them and where you saw the offer.

Go into details about yourself and what you can do.

Go into what they can get from taking you in.

State that you wish to meet them in person and will contact them in 1-2 weeks time.

Formal closing of the letter.

meowcat

take a chance
Jun 7, 2001
I concur with what Zur and Jacks listed above. A few other recommendations for consideration.