News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Reviews > Nali City > Nali City - General Forums > Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 7th Dec 2001, 11:48 PM   #1
StoneViper
you can call me Mike
 
StoneViper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 3rd, 2001
Location: N43 03' 16" :::: W77 36' 03"
Posts: 1,907
Somebody Help Me

i've had this motherboard with 2 primary ide controllers. (udma33 primary and secondary, and ata66 primary and secondary) built into the mobo. i was never able to use the ata66 controller without problems. i replace my mobo (cause i wanted a new processor) and this only had ata66 onboard.

my problem with both mobos is that i can never use winXP or win2K. winME worked fine on both mobos. I can't even install an NT based operating system! and this is killing me. somebody help.

I refuse to switch the motherboards again just to recover my files over at the other partitions that had NTFS file formats.

Does this make sense

I need to have two OS running. I install UT on both partitions so i can map using only official ut files, and play UT on the other partition installing any umx, utx, and any other unofficial files that can't leak into my maps.
__________________
StoneViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Dec 2001, 02:31 AM   #2
Skorch
Banned
 
Skorch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 5th, 2000
Posts: 1,826
motherbord compatibility...you already know this...break down and buy a 266...*hic*
Skorch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Dec 2001, 09:00 AM   #3
StoneViper
you can call me Mike
 
StoneViper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 3rd, 2001
Location: N43 03' 16" :::: W77 36' 03"
Posts: 1,907
Quote:
Originally posted by Skorch
motherbord compatibility...you already know this...break down and buy a 266...*hic*
so basically you have no idea
__________________
StoneViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Dec 2001, 09:59 PM   #4
Claw
Weird little hermit on dried frog pills
 
Claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 3rd, 2001
Posts: 929
Unhappy Sorry

I've never even heard of such a problem before... what kind of freaky mainboard do you have??
__________________
Cogito Eggo Sum.
Claw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Dec 2001, 06:58 PM   #5
Rukee
Coffee overclocks the overclocker!!
 
Rukee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 15th, 2001
Location: Over here!!!
Posts: 6,642
try spending more then $30 for a MB mabee??!!


what brand and model is it??
__________________
"This is your life, good to the last drop. It doesn`t get any better then this, and it`s ending ~one minute at a time."
"Take care of your body, where else are you going to live"

My car ownz you!!
Restoration pictures password is 'GTO'
Rukee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Dec 2001, 07:20 PM   #6
StoneViper
you can call me Mike
 
StoneViper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 3rd, 2001
Location: N43 03' 16" :::: W77 36' 03"
Posts: 1,907
the mother board cost $150 by the way.

same thing happened on two mobos, so i doubt the problem lies there

they are: Gigabyte BX2000+, and the Intel VC820

both have ata66. the gigabyte also had udma33.

the screen i get talks about it may be a virus (i have none), or if i installed a new HDD (i did not) then all i have to do is reboot and this screen will not appear (and it did). This is the screen i get when trying to install win2K, and is the reason why i can't load into winXP.

gigabyte bx2000+ http://www.giga-byte.com/products/bx2000+.htm

intel vc820 http://developer.intel.com/design/motherbd/vc/vc_ds.htm
__________________
StoneViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Dec 2001, 05:36 PM   #7
diddlysquat
FlamingPsychoTrannyBitch
 
Join Date: Nov. 3rd, 2001
Location: Under the heel of the Patriarchal hegemony, for the moment.
Posts: 477
Did you by any chance check the MS KB about this, and the "proper" way to load a dual boot system?

Depending on the error, you may just need to dl a newer version of the Windows ATA storage driver.

Some essentials:
You HAVE to put 2K on a seperate partition than ME, and you HAVE to load ME or any DOS based or Win9x based OS first.
You can not use any skank partitioning software like Disk Commander or Partition Magic, use the utilities that come with Windows.
__________________
Spam;
the most sincere form of flattery.
diddlysquat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Dec 2001, 09:50 PM   #8
StoneViper
you can call me Mike
 
StoneViper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 3rd, 2001
Location: N43 03' 16" :::: W77 36' 03"
Posts: 1,907
Quote:
Originally posted by diddlysquat
Did you by any chance check the MS KB about this, and the "proper" way to load a dual boot system?
what is MS KB?....

Quote:
Originally posted by diddlysquat

Depending on the error, you may just need to dl a newer version of the Windows ATA storage driver.
ill try that, but where do i find this driver...

Quote:
Originally posted by diddlysquat

Some essentials:
You HAVE to put 2K on a seperate partition than ME, and you HAVE to load ME or any DOS based or Win9x based OS first.
You can not use any skank partitioning software like Disk Commander or Partition Magic, use the utilities that come with Windows.
all my 3 operating systems are on separate partitions created by fdisk from windows.

winME was installed first. Then win2K and winXP was installed later. Im not trying to install them, they are already installed. The partitions winXP and win2K use the NTFS file format. (When i tried to install them earlier, i got that same error message, so i switched it back to the udma33 from the ata66.)
__________________
StoneViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Dec 2001, 05:07 PM   #9
diddlysquat
FlamingPsychoTrannyBitch
 
Join Date: Nov. 3rd, 2001
Location: Under the heel of the Patriarchal hegemony, for the moment.
Posts: 477
I am talking about the Microsoft Knowledge Base, never use Windows without it. I seem to remember issues with 2K and some ATA66 drivers.

You may also want to update the BIOS and the chipset drivers.
(I am talking about the Intel board, which is what I know more about than the other.)

I am not using NTFS, but I am using 2K on this system with a ATA100 controller, and running XP on a laptop with an ATA66 controller, and am having no problems. I also know people who are using XP and 2Kwith NTFS on ATA66 and ata100 controllers, so this isn't an impossible task.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Spam;
the most sincere form of flattery.
diddlysquat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Dec 2001, 08:58 PM   #10
StoneViper
you can call me Mike
 
StoneViper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 3rd, 2001
Location: N43 03' 16" :::: W77 36' 03"
Posts: 1,907
what partition do i install the ata66 drivers. i installed them to my c:\ drive and it still didnt work. [c:\ = winME]
__________________
StoneViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Dec 2001, 09:16 PM   #11
StoneViper
you can call me Mike
 
StoneViper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 3rd, 2001
Location: N43 03' 16" :::: W77 36' 03"
Posts: 1,907
Quote:
Originally posted by diddlysquat
...Microsoft Knowledge Base, ...
i've also searched through the MS KB online for a while finding no answers.
__________________
StoneViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer