News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Reviews > Nali City > Nali City - Map Making > Play Testing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27th Nov 2001, 06:36 PM   #1
Lord Dill
Registered User
 
Lord Dill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 25th, 2001
Posts: 91
Sarcastic CTF-Frostburn 99.99999% done

I've been fiddling around with this level for a long while now... for the most part its been the bots, everytime i change something i have to retest the bots

TELL me if you find anything wrong with the level... I do want it flawless I've tried to keep the polys under 200... most places are under 100

][ Changes in this version ][

This version has a Third entrance with bots that DO use it
Flak cannon was moved and ripper was added to level

][ Changes from older versions ][

Snow looks ALOT better
Bots attack different routes
tweaked some lighting and aligned some textures
Lord Dill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2001, 06:46 PM   #2
Lord Dill
Registered User
 
Lord Dill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 25th, 2001
Posts: 91
Sarcastic

attachment didn't want to work on the first post but here it is.
Lord Dill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2001, 08:48 PM   #3
Stilgar
Ninja
 
Stilgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 20th, 1999
Location: Toitle
Posts: 2,505
dwnloading
__________________
Runs Linux and is therefore better than you.

dotnetbeast: You don't have a laptop? Imagine gettng a J. Smoker while playing a fps?
Stilgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2001, 09:27 PM   #4
Stilgar
Ninja
 
Stilgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 20th, 1999
Location: Toitle
Posts: 2,505
Thumbs up

Ok, I like the layout of this map, I played with 7 bots and there was always something going on without things getting crowded,
although bots seemed like sitting ducks when they lined up to use the elevator that's outside ( nice snow effect btw )

What exactly is the point of the one way repspawning windows ? ....audio cues ? seems a bit over the top. Maybe quick spawning health vials would save on resources... and I never noticed the bots getting the damage amp... maybe it was just luck.

I really liked the geometry in this map... nothing really to get hung up on... nice details like the computers and dials, good continuity throughout the level.
The little hump outside on the ground, seems a bit unnecessary, doesn't add anything to the look of that section.
Texturing was nice and balanced.. if a little bland ? ..maybe that's what you wanted... minimilistic ? ...great use of the masked textures in the walkway section.

I can't really comment on the lighting, I had the gamma on full due to glare. I'll take a look at it later tonight when that's not a problem.

Overall a nice clean map
__________________
Runs Linux and is therefore better than you.

dotnetbeast: You don't have a laptop? Imagine gettng a J. Smoker while playing a fps?
Stilgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2001, 01:30 AM   #5
StoneViper
you can call me Mike
 
StoneViper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 3rd, 2001
Location: N43 03' 16" :::: W77 36' 03"
Posts: 1,907
Quote:
Originally posted by Stilgar
... and I never noticed the bots getting the damage amp... maybe it was just luck.
what diff. setting do you play ut at. i play on inhuman and they almost frequently went for it.
__________________
StoneViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2001, 02:10 AM   #6
Lord Dill
Registered User
 
Lord Dill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 25th, 2001
Posts: 91
Stilgar: Bots do go for the amp... usually only the bots defending or freelancing

And about the breaking glass... it respawns every 1 min, so i don't think its a resource hog... is it? I wanted to use breaking glass because hardly any maps have it.

the lifts do cause the bots to line up... oh well, what you gonna do

The little hump outside on the ground, seems a bit unnecessary... were you wondering where the bots found the shield belt?

StoneViper: Inhuman... are you crazy its hard to cap a flag on masterful
Lord Dill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2001, 12:25 PM   #7
StoneViper
you can call me Mike
 
StoneViper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 3rd, 2001
Location: N43 03' 16" :::: W77 36' 03"
Posts: 1,907
Quote:
Originally posted by Lord Dill

StoneViper: Inhuman... are you crazy its hard to cap a flag on masterful
Maybe i am crazy, but im no newb. when i find myself in a wide open room with one inhuman bot (and both of us have the same or similar weapons) i usually kill him without a scratch on me. Godlike however is well... Im not a god yet. I play on inhuman because the bots can impact jump and do other things better, and smarter.

...and of'course it poses a little challenge on me, and i usually have little trouble capturing flags on inhuman.
__________________
StoneViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2001, 12:30 PM   #8
StoneViper
you can call me Mike
 
StoneViper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 3rd, 2001
Location: N43 03' 16" :::: W77 36' 03"
Posts: 1,907
so you say you only have .00001% left to complete it 'eh. I can't wait 'til it's done.
__________________
StoneViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2001, 05:06 PM   #9
Stilgar
Ninja
 
Stilgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 20th, 1999
Location: Toitle
Posts: 2,505
Like I said, it was just luck... the bots were grabbing the amp it after I gave the map a few more goes. ( I play on masterful btw )
I stilll dont see the point of that little mound.... belt or otherwise, it just looks silly.
__________________
Runs Linux and is therefore better than you.

dotnetbeast: You don't have a laptop? Imagine gettng a J. Smoker while playing a fps?
Stilgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Dec 2001, 10:38 AM   #10
Lord Dill
Registered User
 
Lord Dill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 25th, 2001
Posts: 91
Talking

/Lord Dill puts his foot down

mound is staying it might look a little odd but adds an element to the gameplay... is the Shield Belt there for the taking?!?!?!?! ONLY BOTS KNOW
Lord Dill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Dec 2001, 10:09 AM   #11
rmcollins3
AKA "Doublez-Down"
 
rmcollins3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 18th, 2000
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 999
well, i didn't pick it apart with a fine toothed comb, but it looks good to me. /me is feeling quite cold now..lol...and yeah, the mound is ghey
__________________
Get your maps reviewed at UT Unlimited
rmcollins3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 12:13 AM   #12
smeerkat
Hello, old friend...
 
smeerkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 10th, 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 141
Cool one problem

smeerkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 12:57 AM   #13
DialAJunk
fl;ksisj
 
DialAJunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 1st, 2000
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 219
Nooooo!
That is not a problem. It looks much better.
The snow was too sparce before.
We are on the eve of Unreal2, now. Everyone better upgrade... 'cause no one wants to hear that a custom U2 level is too detailed for thier system.
(This is considering that the new Unreal engine will run better on today's hardware than the current Unreal engine, so don't go making a technical issue out of this...... *you know who you are*)
DialAJunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 08:01 AM   #14
GMotha
The nipples from Napels
 
GMotha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 3rd, 2001
Location: Antwerp
Posts: 660
Sarcastic

Not everyone has a high-end pc, smartass
__________________

GMotha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 03:25 PM   #15
DialAJunk
fl;ksisj
 
DialAJunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 1st, 2000
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 219
Exactly my point. If everyone did I wouldn't have had to say that would I?
Its just good advice.
DialAJunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 10:43 PM   #16
DialAJunk
fl;ksisj
 
DialAJunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 1st, 2000
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 219
Question

Now that I look again, did you even increase/improve the snow in that level? I am not so sure now.
DialAJunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2002, 07:27 PM   #17
Lord Dill
Registered User
 
Lord Dill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 25th, 2001
Posts: 91
wow, those are some rather low frame rates outside??? im not sure why they are so low, i am on a 450 voodo 2 and get over 30 f/s outside... is it just that low outside? if so, it might be a video driver issue... some drivers don't like sheets at all

my friend bought a new dell, 1.8 gig and it runs UT like butter with Windows Mil... however they sent an upgrade to XP a month later, he installed and half of his games didn't work, UT ran at 10 f/s and the snow in my level looked shetty... he did a rollback the same night

and yes, the snow has been vastly improved
Lord Dill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Jan 2002, 07:21 AM   #18
[Rans0m4eveR]
The Tempest
 
[Rans0m4eveR]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 30th, 2001
Location: At my location
Posts: 60
downloading
__________________
THE TEMPEST IS COMING FOR YOU
I'm not weird, everyone else is just normal
Suicide? Suicide is my middle name! Well, actually it was my brother's middle name, the one who... died.
Hoody hoo!
And there was much rejoicing.
[Rans0m4eveR] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Jan 2002, 07:33 AM   #19
[Rans0m4eveR]
The Tempest
 
[Rans0m4eveR]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 30th, 2001
Location: At my location
Posts: 60
nice map, i like the snow effects when i go outside, there is a slowdown to about 45 f/s but its still playable. (Geforce 2, 256MB RAM, 750 Duron).
__________________
THE TEMPEST IS COMING FOR YOU
I'm not weird, everyone else is just normal
Suicide? Suicide is my middle name! Well, actually it was my brother's middle name, the one who... died.
Hoody hoo!
And there was much rejoicing.
[Rans0m4eveR] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2002, 10:12 PM   #20
Freakish
Speed Addict
 
Freakish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 23rd, 2001
Posts: 150
the snow is purty..even if sheety..
Freakish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer