News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Unreal Tournament 2003/2004

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21st Feb 2009, 10:59 PM   #1
Thanatosaurus
Registered User
 
Thanatosaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 21st, 2009
Posts: 78
Question UT2004 and Windows 7

Has anyone tried running UT2004 under one of the betas of Windows 7? I'm thinking of changing over to 7 when it's released, but won't do so unless it can run 2004. Thanks.
Thanatosaurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Feb 2009, 11:09 PM   #2
shoptroll
Registered User
 
shoptroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 21st, 2004
Posts: 2,225
Haven't had any trouble here on Build 7000 (the public one) in 64-bit mode.
__________________
"Like I always say, there's no 'I' in team. There's a 'me', though, if you jumble it up" - Dr. Gregory House, House, M.D.
shoptroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Feb 2009, 01:06 AM   #3
vybz
Registered User
 
vybz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 2nd, 2008
Posts: 138
I am runs perfectly fine
__________________
Website | HOLP
vybz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Feb 2009, 07:14 AM   #4
GreatEmerald
Khnumhotep
 
GreatEmerald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 4,042
It runs perfectly, yes. However, the editor will not. I'm not sure, but you might just need to install DirectX 9 to make it run correctly, though.
GreatEmerald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Feb 2009, 09:05 AM   #5
Thanatosaurus
Registered User
 
Thanatosaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 21st, 2009
Posts: 78
I thought UT2004 installed DirectX when it's installed. Will DirectX 9c (the last version of 9 released) run under Win 7?

Last edited by Thanatosaurus; 22nd Feb 2009 at 09:06 AM.
Thanatosaurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Feb 2009, 11:07 AM   #6
shoptroll
Registered User
 
shoptroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 21st, 2004
Posts: 2,225
Yes.
__________________
"Like I always say, there's no 'I' in team. There's a 'me', though, if you jumble it up" - Dr. Gregory House, House, M.D.
shoptroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Feb 2009, 02:27 PM   #7
GreatEmerald
Khnumhotep
 
GreatEmerald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 4,042
Yeap, it does. However, the DirectX9 provided with UT2004 isn't the latest version, there were numerous updates to 9c. So you will still need this:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...DisplayLang=en

Alternatively, if you want to use download managers:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...DisplayLang=en

Last edited by GreatEmerald; 24th Feb 2009 at 09:34 AM.
GreatEmerald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Feb 2009, 07:01 AM   #8
cUnNiNg_StUnTs
Registered User
 
cUnNiNg_StUnTs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 7th, 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA
Posts: 227
AFIK Whenever a newer version of DirectX setup runs it just goes through the motions and does not replace any newer files. It's not like .NET where you can have all 3 versions running on one machine. 10 supersedes them all.

I am running Windows 7 32 bit and UT2004 installs and runs great.
cUnNiNg_StUnTs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Feb 2009, 03:02 PM   #9
Dark Pulse
Dolla, Dolla. Holla, Holla.
 
Dark Pulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 12th, 2004
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 6,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreatEmerald View Post
Yeap, it does. However, you don't need only DX9, you also need DX8 and DX7, because basically UT2004 is based on DX8. So you will still need this:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...DisplayLang=en

Alternatively, if you want to use download managers:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...DisplayLang=en
GreatEmerald, DX9 contains all implementations of DX prior to it. He won't need to get DX7 or DX8 if he downloads DX9.
__________________





Dark Pulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Feb 2009, 03:33 PM   #10
GreatEmerald
Khnumhotep
 
GreatEmerald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 4,042
I know. That's why I linked to DX9
GreatEmerald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Feb 2009, 05:32 PM   #11
Dark Pulse
Dolla, Dolla. Holla, Holla.
 
Dark Pulse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 12th, 2004
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 6,186
Yes, but the way your post sounded, it sounded like he'd need to get 7, 8, and 9 in that order.
__________________





Dark Pulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Feb 2009, 09:34 AM   #12
GreatEmerald
Khnumhotep
 
GreatEmerald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2008
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 4,042
Ah, OK, fixed
GreatEmerald is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
compatibility, ut2004, windows 7

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer