News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > UnrealEngine2 Runtime > Level Design, Skinning and Modelling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11th Dec 2003, 11:20 AM   #1
TheArtfulDodger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 25th, 2003
Posts: 15
Can I change default "Box Character"???

I'd like to make some generic people for the Runtime Engine.

Is it legal?

Would interacting on the net constitute a game?

How do I change the default player "Box Character" to my own mesh?
TheArtfulDodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2003, 07:53 PM   #2
[SAS]Solid Snake
Registered User
 
[SAS]Solid Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 7th, 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,633
Quote:
Is it legal? Would interacting on the net constitute a game?
Ask the liscensing department at Epic for that.

Quote:
How do I change the default player "Box Character" to my own mesh?
Change the default player which I think it RTPawn to use your mesh.
__________________
I make the impossible possible ... ... ... to some extent.

Digital Confectioners
[SAS]Solid Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Dec 2003, 09:35 PM   #3
cyberdigitus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec. 1st, 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4
why wouldn't that be legal? in fact, if you look around on the udn site, you can find a runtime version of the udn charactres, wich have pretty detailed skeletons. It seems they're really updating the site often lately.
cyberdigitus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jan 2004, 04:48 PM   #4
hottoast
Art Worker
 
hottoast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 4th, 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 92
Quote:
why wouldn't that be legal? in fact, if you look around on the udn site, you can find a runtime version of the udn charactres, wich have pretty detailed skeletons. It seems they're really updating the site often lately.
The runtime versions of the UDN characters were done by the Unreal Developers Network, so that if you wanted people running around instead of a box, you could have that (without having to make them yourself).

I believe that you can replace the UDN models with your own without any legal repercussions.

- Tom
hottoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2004, 11:47 AM   #5
patrickrho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 31st, 2003
Posts: 24
where can i find the runtime version of the example characters?
Can you post an address?
and how can i export models that i made with max and/or maya to the Runtime? is it possible to use ActorX?
patrickrho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2004, 05:50 PM   #6
hottoast
Art Worker
 
hottoast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 4th, 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrickrho
where can i find the runtime version of the example characters?
Can you post an address?
and how can i export models that i made with max and/or maya to the Runtime? is it possible to use ActorX?
Ok, the first part of your question can be found here:

http://udn.epicgames.com/Technical/M...ng_the_Example

It's a little technical, so be sure to follow the instructions exactly.

To export your own characters and models to the Runtime build, you can use ActorX with either Max or Maya. If you are just getting started, take a look at this page:

http://udn.epicgames.com/Content/Mod...ableOfContents

There is a link in that document that links to ActorX pages for Max and Maya, since the process is slightly different for each of those programs.

-Tom
hottoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jan 2004, 01:02 PM   #7
afecelis
Registered User
 
afecelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 17th, 2003
Location: Colombia
Posts: 80
I got the boy character to work ok but now the game is defaulted to third person view. I know hitting "b" is the default to switch person views but how can I default it back to first person (without loosing the boy character).?
afecelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jan 2004, 01:31 PM   #8
hottoast
Art Worker
 
hottoast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 4th, 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 92
easy peasy

Quote:
I got the boy character to work ok but now the game is defaulted to third person view. I know hitting "b" is the default to switch person views but how can I default it back to first person (without loosing the boy character).?
To make this change, you'll need to look at the source code and make a change, then recompile. My programmers tell me that this is a trivial change (if you're a coder). Take a look at this page for a complete description:

http://udn.epicgames.com/Technical/M...wn#PointOfView

Good luck!

Tom
hottoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jan 2004, 05:30 PM   #9
afecelis
Registered User
 
afecelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 17th, 2003
Location: Colombia
Posts: 80
thank hottoast!

When you say "compile" you mean you gotta have the source to the engine or you mean just in terms of unreal script?

thanx for the help
afecelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jan 2004, 05:42 PM   #10
hottoast
Art Worker
 
hottoast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 4th, 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by afecelis
When you say "compile" you mean you gotta have the source to the engine or you mean just in terms of unreal script?
You just need the script.

tom
hottoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jan 2004, 09:14 PM   #11
afecelis
Registered User
 
afecelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 17th, 2003
Location: Colombia
Posts: 80
Which file and which line shall I modify before compiling?
afecelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2004, 11:04 PM   #12
afecelis
Registered User
 
afecelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 17th, 2003
Location: Colombia
Posts: 80
Ok, I read the article carefully and got what you meant. But even changing "bStartBehindView" to false in examplepawn.uc and compiling won't make it start in first person. What else needs to be done?
afecelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2004, 11:41 AM   #13
hottoast
Art Worker
 
hottoast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 4th, 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by afecelis
Ok, I read the article carefully and got what you meant. But even changing "bStartBehindView" to false in examplepawn.uc and compiling won't make it start in first person. What else needs to be done?
Odd, that should be all you need to do. Are you sure you're compiling correctly and using the recompiled files?

Tom
hottoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2004, 01:26 PM   #14
afecelis
Registered User
 
afecelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 17th, 2003
Location: Colombia
Posts: 80
well, I'm doing the regular "ucc make" compiling and I get all the files compiled in release mode ok. Success, 0 errors, 0 warnings.
The newly compiled files are stored somewhere else besides "system"?
afecelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer