News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 1st Mar 2001, 09:57 AM   #1
Bogdon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 21st, 2000
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 69
After a lot of revisions redesigns etc.I am finally getting a map done but I have a quick question for u pros out there. How do u get the map to display the player position, example: kbind, I need backup will show the players position Red base, Red courtyard etc. Is it just a simple matter of naming the brush cos I don't think that worked when I tried it a while ago.
Any one willing to test my map in a few days would also be welcome to have look. It's a ctf with low grav insta gib consideration I call it X's and O's and it uses a few dues ex textures.
Thanx
Bogdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Mar 2001, 12:14 PM   #2
ChrisToth.hu
Level Designer
 
ChrisToth.hu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 2nd, 2000
Location: Atlantis
Posts: 2,740
You'll need to Specify a LocationString in the area's ZoneInfo.

Or if you need in-zone division then place LocatioIDs (Actor-Keypoint-LocationID) to the areas and set their radii to the needed value.

If you need the player's XYZ location (debugging?) then type in REPORT into the console...
__________________
Chris Toth
-------------
Chris@message.hu

ChrisToth.hu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Mar 2001, 04:13 PM   #3
Bogdon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 21st, 2000
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 69
Thanks ChrisToth I'll give it a try on a copy so if I screw up
Bogdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Mar 2001, 07:13 AM   #4
Bogdon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 21st, 2000
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 69
ChisToth
That worked to a degree but no matter what I do I can only get one script to show for the entire map. I put 3 different info zones (with 3 different strings). I tried putting location id's near each one with radius set(to subdivide an area,even different values 100-400) I tried tagging and eventing each one differently to assign the individual values to an area (info zone) but all I get is the first location string coming each time.The first one I assigned RAMP MIDDLE comes up throughout the map but red base and blue base won't when the player is in those areas.
I had a look at face which has three info zones with different location strings red, blue base and astroid area with no locationids and it works there.Any thoughts on what I am doing wrong does placement of zone portals have anything to do with getting these strings to work properly?
Confused
Bogdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Mar 2001, 08:07 AM   #5
Fuzzpilz
klkk
 
Join Date: Jun. 28th, 2000
Location: :noitacoL
Posts: 984
I see your problem. You evidently do not know what zones are and what ZoneInfos do. When you make a level, you can partition it into different zones. You do this by sealing all openings between zones off with nonsolid portal sheets and then putting a ZoneInfo in each zone. There's probably a tutorial at UnrealEd.exe.
Fuzzpilz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Mar 2001, 10:19 AM   #6
Bogdon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 21st, 2000
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 69
jeez Fuzzpilz your assumption is just that, I am pretty sure I know how to place zone portals properly at least been doin it 4 quite some time now and they work fine that is why I can't figure out what is wrong. But I will have another look at the hand book
Bogdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Mar 2001, 01:13 PM   #7
Fuzzpilz
klkk
 
Join Date: Jun. 28th, 2000
Location: :noitacoL
Posts: 984
Sorry.

I really have no idea what might be causing this; it works without any problems for me.
Fuzzpilz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Mar 2001, 01:15 PM   #8
ChrisToth.hu
Level Designer
 
ChrisToth.hu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 2nd, 2000
Location: Atlantis
Posts: 2,740
I don't know what's the problem...this MUST work. Check the level in ZP view and check if you have different zones...you know, different colors...you can have 1 zoneinfo in each and each can have 1 loc this way. If you are sure that you've zoned up the level correctly but you can't see the different zones in the ZP view then that means that something is messed up.

Try rebuilding and/or changing the portal placement.

If you simply put in Zoneinfos into the zones you'll need to rebuild first before they would work.


If you can't figure it out then post the map so we could check it.
__________________
Chris Toth
-------------
Chris@message.hu

ChrisToth.hu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Mar 2001, 02:08 PM   #9
Bogdon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 21st, 2000
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 69
Thanks for the suggestion ChrisToth I'll dig a little deeper and failing that I'll throw my map out there.
Bogdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Mar 2001, 07:45 AM   #10
Bogdon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 21st, 2000
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 69
Found what I was doing wrong. I had forgotten some of the ed basics learned over 6 months ago ( zone portals worked but badly placed) to many revisions and redesigns I guess.Thanx Fuzzpilz for giving me the kick in the arse I needed it. Re learning some of the fundementals again, I wonder if I am the only amateur mapper who goes through this .
Bogdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer