News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > News & Articles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29th Aug 2008, 11:10 AM   #1
hal
Dictator
 
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1998
Location: ------->
Posts: 21,383
Tim Sweeney Interview

Tim Sweeney talks to GameDaily about all things Unreal Engine 3, including the adoption of the engine for use in television and film. Interestingly, he also reveals that the engine is now up to 2 million lines of C++ code for the engine and 150,00 lines of UnrealScript.

Quote:

The introduction of Unreal by Hollywood is really neat. They're actually creating backdrops to some TV shows using the engine. It's all done in real-time. We're starting to see this be adopted by movie production houses for films, which is crazy. When you look at the history of Hollywood they started out with extraordinarily powerful movie business tools that are heinously slow. On the other end, we have simpler and less powerful tools that are completely fast in real-time.
__________________
hal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Aug 2008, 11:37 AM   #2
elmuerte
Master of Science
 
elmuerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 25th, 2000
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,936
lines of code doesn't tell anything except the number of times the "enter" or "return" key was pressed.
elmuerte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Aug 2008, 11:53 AM   #3
JaFO
bugs are features too ...
 
JaFO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 5th, 2000
Posts: 5,483
...
OTOH how what unit of measurement would be useful to measure the 'size' of a program ?
Lines of code ?
#number of classes or files used ?
...
JaFO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2008, 03:01 PM   #4
Deapblade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul. 15th, 2004
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaFO View Post
...
OTOH how what unit of measurement would be useful to measure the 'size' of a program ?
Lines of code ?
#number of classes or files used ?
...
Nothing, it's just plain stupid to 'measure' a program. A program has to fullfill the tasks it's written for in the most efficient way possible. Like elmuerte said, lines could mean anything: empty spaces, redundant code, programmer notes, actual useful code, etc.
__________________

Deapblade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2008, 08:07 PM   #5
ShatteredX
!?!
 
ShatteredX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 25th, 2000
Posts: 56
While the number of lines of code in a program is certainly not an accurate representation of how much actual "code" is present, it does give someone who is unfamiliar with programming some sense of how much thought and work goes into creating a game engine such as UE3.
ShatteredX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Sep 2008, 01:31 PM   #6
8-4-7-2
Registered User
 
8-4-7-2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 6th, 2000
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaFO View Post
...
OTOH how what unit of measurement would be useful to measure the 'size' of a program ?
There are tons of metrics. Usually they measure not so much the size of the program, but the complexity of its modules and its design. That is how many loops, checks, dependencies, etc. are present.

But as said, that's still not all that useful to compare any project to any other project.
8-4-7-2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Aug 2008, 02:04 PM   #7
elmuerte
Master of Science
 
elmuerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 25th, 2000
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,936
depends, what do you mean with "size"?

size metrics for source code have only a useful relative meaning, but number of lines of file size is pretty much always a useless metric. Number of statements can be useful, memory size can be useful, compiled code size, etc. these can be useful
elmuerte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Aug 2008, 04:25 AM   #8
elmuerte
Master of Science
 
elmuerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 25th, 2000
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,936
no it doesn't, there is no relation between required thought and the number of line of code that it resulted in.
also, previously invested thought time for old solutions is not shown because those lines of code have been replaced.
elmuerte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Aug 2008, 01:42 PM   #9
JaFO
bugs are features too ...
 
JaFO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 5th, 2000
Posts: 5,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmuerte View Post
no it doesn't, there is no relation between required thought and the number of line of code that it resulted in.
also, previously invested thought time for old solutions is not shown because those lines of code have been replaced.
That part of the development-process is interesting indeed.
Imagine a program that needs 10,000 lines less code because someone found a better solution ...

I think there is no real way to indicate the complexity of code to anyone who is not familliar with the subject at hand.

// another example :


Code:
int addone(int i)
{
   return i + 1;
}

main()
{
...
  int i = 0;
  int j = 10;
  while (i < j)
  {
    doThis();
    i = addOne(i);
  }
...
See ... I've added even more lines, the routine became even more complex (and has an increased chance of having bugs). It has not become 'better' code.

// ---
It is interesting to see what game-development tools are doing to 'traditional' Hollywood industry.

Last edited by JaFO; 31st Aug 2008 at 01:43 PM.
JaFO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Aug 2008, 04:30 AM   #10
[SAS]Solid Snake
Registered User
 
[SAS]Solid Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 7th, 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,633
Also lines of code means nothing other than what elmuerte has stated, and gives the wrong impression of why code is complex.

Code:
for (i=0;i<j;++i) dothis();
Code:
for (i = 0; i < j; ++i)
{
  dothis();
}
__________________
I make the impossible possible ... ... ... to some extent.

Digital Confectioners
[SAS]Solid Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Aug 2008, 01:48 PM   #11
MonsOlympus
Registered User
 
MonsOlympus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 27th, 2004
Posts: 2,222
On the flipside less lines does not always make 'better' code either
__________________
MonsOlympus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Aug 2008, 03:52 PM   #12
elmuerte
Master of Science
 
elmuerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 25th, 2000
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,936
McCabe's Cyclomatic Complexity metric is quite a good indication of code complexity, and there are a few other good metrics when it comes to code complexity.
But code complexity is something very different from source code size metrics.
elmuerte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Aug 2008, 07:08 PM   #13
Severin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb. 8th, 2008
Posts: 199
elmuerte is correct. 2 million lines of 'print' statements does not equal a complex piece of code neither does 20 million.

With the case in hand though a fair chunk of that can be assumed to be complex code and not just 'print' statements.

Last edited by Severin; 31st Aug 2008 at 07:14 PM.
Severin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Sep 2008, 02:56 AM   #14
elmuerte
Master of Science
 
elmuerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 25th, 2000
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Severin View Post
With the case in hand though a fair chunk of that can be assumed to be complex code and not just 'print' statements.
Everybody should know that assumptions are bad. Assumptions result in rockets blowing up, collapsing bridges, demoguy and darkpulse.
elmuerte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Sep 2008, 08:04 AM   #15
Severin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb. 8th, 2008
Posts: 199
If they managed to get UE3 up and running just by using prints then hats off to them I say.

But your right you can't assume that its not. (though it almost certainly isn't )

Last edited by Severin; 1st Sep 2008 at 08:09 AM.
Severin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Sep 2008, 10:01 AM   #16
elmuerte
Master of Science
 
elmuerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 25th, 2000
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Severin View Post
If they managed to get UE3 up and running just by using prints then hats off to them I say.

But your right you can't assume that its not. (though it almost certainly isn't )
doing that is much more complicated than doing it the "normal" way.
elmuerte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Sep 2008, 11:45 AM   #17
elmuerte
Master of Science
 
elmuerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 25th, 2000
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,936
ok, then show me a program that only uses `print' and can list the number of lines in a file.
remember, you can only use `print' in the source code, nothing else.
erm.. is there even a print function in C? ok, you can only use `printf'
elmuerte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Sep 2008, 12:56 PM   #18
Severin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb. 8th, 2008
Posts: 199

I did say such a thing would be an insane way of coding.

Print "1"
Print "2"
...

Quote:
is there even a print function in C? ok, you can only use `printf'
I was trying to be nonspecific about language and used quotes to make it distinct from BASICs Print statement.

Edit..
Oops my bad. I misread your challenge. Nope I cannot come up with a version that would read another file.

More edit...
For something graphical you could conceivably come up with something by overlaying prints at the same x,y coords... aggh i'm starting to take this premise seriously.

Last edited by Severin; 1st Sep 2008 at 01:22 PM.
Severin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2008, 12:23 PM   #19
niaz2
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep. 3rd, 2008
Location: Dhaka
Posts: 3
FINE SYSTEM

HI

THIS INTERVIEW IS FINE.
THIS SYSTEM IS NICE.
__________________
-spam removed-
niaz2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer