News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Original Unreal Tournament

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 9th Jun 2000, 04:16 PM   #1
rimfireguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May. 22nd, 2000
Posts: 14
Post

All right you Gods. Educate me. Should I trash my cable modem for DSL ? DSL is a fast phone line right ? Also, why do you guys get such low ping numbers when all I can get is 300-600 at best (even when i ping and ping)? I live in central Ohio. Do you all live next door to the servers ? Am I going to have to move in order to play this game ?
rimfireguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jun 2000, 04:25 PM   #2
jenny?
i am teh
 
jenny?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 2nd, 2000
Location: massholia
Posts: 1,966
Talking

wow dude.. that ping's not even really acceptable for a 56k modem. definitely go with dsl..


The_Other_Girl[NWA]
jenny? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jun 2000, 04:29 PM   #3
Mclarenlover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 16th, 2000
Location: The Great 'ole state of NC
Posts: 122
Exclamation

Whoa.. someone from central Ohio... would that be Mansfield or Wooster? I used to live in Ashland if you've ever heard of it... and if you are only getting 300-600 ping with a cable modem.. go with DSl. The Cable company has obviously overloaded your area wth cable modems... the more people with cable near u, the lower your bandwidth gets, that doesn't happen with DSl, and you can still use the phone line to make normal calls ... Go with DSL. I'm still on a 56k and I get about 300 ping easy on a good day...
Mclarenlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jun 2000, 04:31 PM   #4
BigSpike|MyU
Skilled
 
Join Date: Jun. 4th, 2000
Location: Kansas
Posts: 93
Talking

Most definitely go with DSL if you are pinging that high. Jenny is right, I used to get sub 200ms pings with my 56k modem before I went to DSL. I live in KS and can ping servers in NYC under a 100ms ping. DSL rocks. Your cable company is probably overloaded with users while you are trying to play or they have you routed through Hell and Back to get to where you need to go. I would definitely go with DSL if you have a choice in the matter.


BigSpike|MyU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jun 2000, 04:41 PM   #5
Stosh
A legend in his own mind
 
Stosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 9th, 2000
Location: Southern MD, US
Posts: 1,402
Post

You are definetly getting screwed by your cable. I connect with 56k, I always get a few servers below 200. I really try to avoid anything over 250.

[This message has been edited by Stosh (edited 06-09-2000).]
Stosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jun 2000, 04:41 PM   #6
rimfireguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May. 22nd, 2000
Posts: 14
Post

OK, OK. Central Ohio is Columbus. What should dsl cost ? Also, would it help to put a RL to my cable company's head and ask what they are doing ? Is there something they can fix ?
rimfireguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jun 2000, 04:43 PM   #7
Stosh
A legend in his own mind
 
Stosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 9th, 2000
Location: Southern MD, US
Posts: 1,402
Post

I can't speak for Ohio, but in Maryland, it's $100 for the modem, $50 a month, and probably $20 for the ISP. I'll be DSL by Sept.
Stosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jun 2000, 04:45 PM   #8
Stosh
A legend in his own mind
 
Stosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 9th, 2000
Location: Southern MD, US
Posts: 1,402
Post

The problem with cable is that the more users, the slower it gets. You cable could be really saturated.
Stosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jun 2000, 04:49 PM   #9
Mclarenlover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 16th, 2000
Location: The Great 'ole state of NC
Posts: 122
Post

Stosh is right... DSL will cost more... but you are obviously wasting your time with your cable company...
Mclarenlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jun 2000, 04:53 PM   #10
[OF]candyman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1999
Location: OHIO
Posts: 500
Post

I live about two hours north of you and I ping alot of servers (normally around 20 to 25)under 100 and would not go to servers with a 400 to 600 ping if I had a choice. I have Road Runner cable and I love it. What is you cable service? I would if nothing else contact them and tell them that something is wrong. What kinda cable modem do you have? I only have a isa network card and I would only assume a pci network card would be better for bandwidth. Sorry to hear that a cable service so close is so bad.
[OF]candyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jun 2000, 05:02 PM   #11
rimfireguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May. 22nd, 2000
Posts: 14
Post

I have Roadrunner. Maybe I'm not looking at the servers correctly. I set up a favorites list early on and mostly use it. I will go to the all servers list and look at the lowest. Hurray for Ohio. Fragmeister Farmers. (Maybe a new clan ?)
rimfireguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jun 2000, 05:04 PM   #12
Mclarenlover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 16th, 2000
Location: The Great 'ole state of NC
Posts: 122
Post

Wait a minute... isn't Columbus in Northern Ohio? But I bet my Geography is off... I never paid attention to anything that had to do with Ohio since I moved there half-way through the 4th grade from NC and now I am back in NC, moved back on the 1st day of 7th grade... hehehe... CandyMan, you have to remember that Comlumbus is a very densly populated city...
Mclarenlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jun 2000, 05:29 PM   #13
The Toastman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 19th, 2000
Location: Arkansas, USA
Posts: 194
Post

Long story made short: Between DSL and Cable, the technologies are basically equivalent (except that cable can get overloaded). Speed and cost both depend entirely on what is being offered by the services in your area. I pay $40 a month for my DSL total (service and provider), and equipment (such as DSL modem) is free to new subscibers, but I seem to have a better DSL deal than most...
If your cable ping is that high, something is VERY wrong! Call the cable company first to find out if there is a problem with your line.
The Toastman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jun 2000, 03:59 AM   #14
[OF]candyman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1999
Location: OHIO
Posts: 500
Post

My cable is only around 6 months old now (if that) It has probably been around columbus alot longer. Yes columbus is alot more populated and would explain a little bit of a difference but man those pings are ungodly high. You did not by any chance change the amount of servers unreal tournament pings at the same time did you? I tried that and my pings were way off. Do you have ping tool? Another pinging program might tell you if it is correct pings or not. Have you checked your in game pings? How are your download speeds? Is your dowloads fast or slow? I download anywhere from 5 to 9 meggs a minute (outside of UT)That is naturally dependant on the net and the site you are downloading from. I use download accelerator to get around 124 kbs to 145kbs per second.
[OF]candyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jun 2000, 04:30 PM   #15
pusswart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun. 9th, 2000
Location: your butt
Posts: 28
Post

rimfireguy,

You should go to dsl reports for info, it has some good comparison info, and will even let you check which companies are offering it in you area.

[This message has been edited by pusswart (edited 06-10-2000).]
pusswart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jun 2000, 05:03 PM   #16
Steppin'_Razor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun. 10th, 2000
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 34
Post

I checked my in game pings and see about 85-185 which is much better that what I see in the lists of servers (I chose a server in the list at about 350 ping). I am very lucky to find servers in the list less that 500. I do see maybe6 in the 200-300 range and then some (maybe 15) in the 300-500 range. But my in game pings seem to be not bad. PS: Name change in PuF from rimfireguy to Steppin'_Razor.


=======================
Steppin'_Razor|PuF
=======================


Steppin'_Razor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jun 2000, 10:54 PM   #17
Biohazard
"LPB Dad"
 
Biohazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 22nd, 1999
Location: Costa Mesa, CA, USA
Posts: 22
Post

Hey Rimfireguy,
I just got DSL and there is NO comparasin.
I live in So. California and got my DSL through PacBell at $39 per month, FREE EQUIPMENT, AND NO SETUP FEE if you install it yourself.
The best deal I have heard of is through Earthlink-- 1 year contract $39/month, 3 months free and Free equipment.
You cannot find good DSL much cheaper than that. (I hope they are still having the special).
Biohazard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer