PDA

View Full Version : suspension bridge?


lucifix
24th Dec 2001, 10:39 PM
how do you make like a wooden suspension bridge? it seems hard when i think about it, but its probably easy........

bobtheking
24th Dec 2001, 11:19 PM
check out the bridges in my level, http://forums.beyondunreal.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=94744

it has three supsension bridges between three treehouses, i could have had more chains hanging it, but the polycount in the rest of the level was skyrocketing

lucifix
25th Dec 2001, 08:51 AM
nice way to pimp your map ;)

how did you get the bridge curved like that, using the 2d editor?

Hourences
25th Dec 2001, 08:54 AM
or cubes and vertex :)

now that i see, why did you took the pic with hypersnap ?:)

lucifix
25th Dec 2001, 08:58 AM
or cubes and vertex i have no idea how to do vertex editing.......

can someone tell me some more maps that have them? so i can use them as references........

Rabid Wolf
25th Dec 2001, 09:50 AM
check our very own Twrecks' CTF-MadEvilTwin (http://nalicity.beyondunreal.com/review.php?id=8517).

bobtheking
25th Dec 2001, 12:54 PM
this is my first level, and i didn't know about bsp or anything(if it matters), but the cubes are rotated, and i easily could have done vertex editing, but i didn't think of it. i took the pic with hypersnap because i didn't know of F9, and if i printscreened, it would be random garble in the pic. vertex editing has two ways, in normal mode, click a vertex, hold alt and click+drag it. in vertex edit mode(next to the normal mode), select a brush, hold ctrl+alt, and drag a box around the vertexs you want to move, then click+drag wherever.

Bot_40
25th Dec 2001, 01:41 PM
Rotating sux. As a general rule, avoid at all costs. If you have to rotate for a decoration or something, use semisolids, that way the w3rd bsp cuts won't affect the surrounding area.

And will people plz stop pimping Twrecks' maps and pimp mine instead :)

Hourences
25th Dec 2001, 02:35 PM
i rotate everything all over the place, as long as you rotate and be sure it stays on the grid no prob, but if you go of the grid you have a prob indeed :D

lucifix
25th Dec 2001, 02:50 PM
would a bridge like this look stupid in a building?

lucifix
25th Dec 2001, 04:00 PM
how does this look? and is there a way i can make those chains brushes block the players? ya know from falling off.......

bobtheking
25th Dec 2001, 05:55 PM
it looks good, much shorter than i though it was going to be, but i would vertex edit those beams, so the tops and bottoms are angled so it looks better, and reduce polys;)

use a invisible collision hull(under add special, me thinks), in the chain. i have never used it before, so i don't know what to do from there. only put the hull on the right, i think it might be part of the bsp

Bot_40
26th Dec 2001, 12:02 PM
No need for those poles to me cylinders. Cubes will look fine + lower polys /me thinks

lucifix
26th Dec 2001, 12:11 PM
does it look stupid?

as of now theres no problem with polys, Bot ;)

GoldenMouse
27th Dec 2001, 08:36 PM
that looks pretty sweet luci

Bot_40
28th Dec 2001, 07:08 AM
/me is obessed with low poly counts that's all

Euphoric Beaver
28th Dec 2001, 07:43 AM
Originally posted by GoldenMouse
that looks pretty sweet luci

Agreed. Looks damn sweet. :D:tup:

lucifix
28th Dec 2001, 09:39 AM
Originally posted by Bot_40
/me is obessed with low poly counts that's all me too, especially with my suckass pc. i didnt realise cubes would lower the poly count, if it gets too high ill make them cubes ;)

RigorMortis
30th Dec 2001, 12:55 AM
invisible collision hull doesnt work...

"Sheets will never block anything no matter how hard you try" -shane caudle

you need to put a BlockAll keypoint (actually a few of them) and edit the collide radius so its small enuff to just block the area of the chain... or just make a cube brush the size of the chain and add special non-solid & invisible.

LP
8th Jan 2002, 03:34 AM
OR add an invisible brush where the chain is, which will stop player getting thru

StoneViper
8th Jan 2002, 10:49 AM
Originally posted by lucifix
me too, especially with my suckass pc. i didnt realise cubes would lower the poly count, if it gets too high ill make them cubes ;)

you probably quadrupled the node count using cylinders for posts, definitally use cubes. take at look at in the zone/portal 3dview and look at how many cuts there are, then change them to cubes and see how many cuts it didn't have to make anymore.

GringoLoco
8th Jan 2002, 04:52 PM
Hey lucifx, you better correct the texture alignement on those supended bridges. doens't look very good, or at least trick it with some cool lighting... by the way, where did you get all those 'evil' textures? they look damn good :)

later,
GriNGoLoCo

LXIXGTO
10th Jan 2002, 05:10 PM
Originally posted by RigorMortis
invisible collision hull doesnt work...

"Sheets will never block anything no matter how hard you try" -shane caudle
.
.
.
.
True, a sheet brush will not block actors. It has no
substance/depth. :p
What do you mean invisible collision hulls (i.c.h.) don't
work? They work just fine for me. :)
Just don't make the i.c.h. brush a sheet.
.
From the cool pix you provided, I'd say that a thin i.c.h. brush (say, 4 grids) would work just fine to keep players
from falling off the side of your bridges.
You can even make it a semi to keep polys down.

I have used that technique frequently.



Now, ... can someone please answer my mover question? :D
http://forums.beyondunreal.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=99929



:redeemer:








:cool:

lucifix
10th Jan 2002, 07:46 PM
you can see more screens of this map in the "showcase" thread.....

Bot_40
11th Jan 2002, 04:59 AM
Originally posted by LXIXGTO

From the cool pix you provided, I'd say that a thin i.c.h. brush (say, 4 grids) would work just fine to keep players
from falling off the side of your bridges.
You can even make it a semi to keep polys down.


Invisible collision hulls are semi-solid by default and ALWAYS should be left as semisolid. Especially if it is as amall as 4 units. Infact, any brush less than 8 units is good to have as semi-solid.

LXIXGTO
11th Jan 2002, 04:22 PM
Originally posted by Bot_40


Invisible collision hulls are semi-solid by default ...
.
.
.
Oh, how true Bot 40!! ... I was thinking that after
I submitted the post ... :lol:
.
.

[QUOTE][B]Infact, any brush less than 8 units is good to have as semi-solid.[B]
.
.
A brush less than 8 units is best when semi?
Really? :hmm: I don't doubt it but, could you
please be more specific why?

I think semis are used far too seldomly in many maps.
I have been able to shave much of the file size of my maps by
making every brush possible a semi-solid. ;)

[B]Question:[B] ... is it true that non-solid brushes add almost nothing to the poly count?
(read that somewhere, ... :hmm: )

:redeemer:







:cool:

Bot_40
11th Jan 2002, 04:54 PM
Solidity makes no difference to the poly count at all. It does, however, change the node count (or BSP cuts).

Solids make BSP cuts and are the most common type (ALL subtractive brushs are always solid).

Semisolids don't make BSP cuts to the surrounding area leading to a lower node count. There are a few side effects however, such as collision errors, sometimes bot problems, and if you have a semisolid brush, I personally find you are more likly to get BSP errors on that particular brush than if you make it solid.
They also do not mix sell with zone portals, non-solids, or bots :)

Non-solids are as semi-solids except the player can walk though them. Sheets are ALWAYS non-solid, even if you set them as solid or semi, they will always be treated as non-solid as the player can always pass though them.
Coronas, and I think sprites also, can be seen through non-solids (so they make good hanging lanterns). Bots can see through them.
They so not mix well with semi-solids and I find can frequently cause nasty errors even though they don't mak bsp cuts to the rest of the map.


The reason I said semis are best for any brush with a dinension of <8 is because semis don't make bsp cuts to the surrounding area and brushes that are <8 units can start to cause bsp problems.


I don't know if making brushes semi-solid reduces the map size, It might slightly if there are less bsp cuts, but I really doubt it's worth the risk of errors.

If you really want to keep the size of the file down, do your final rebuild, then delete all the brushes. (always keep a backup with the brushes not deleted for obvious reasons :))
You will still be able to play the map etc, but you won't be able to edit it at all in the editor as if you rebuild the geometry, the whole level will dissapear.



Enough talk for now. I can't even remember what this post was origionally about lol :lol:

LXIXGTO
11th Jan 2002, 05:25 PM
Originally posted by Bot_40
I don't know if making brushes semi-solid reduces the map size, It might slightly if there are less bsp cuts, but I really doubt it's worth the risk of errors.
.
.
Well, ... I have saved my map and then gone back
and made every brush possible a semi instead of a solid.
(including floors and ramps)
Just this one operation made the file size significantly
smaller. (3.5mb to 2.8mb etc ...)
And, yes, I did experience the usual BSP errors.
Had to be very careful which brush was last/first etc ... ;)
However; I'm not sure if going back and forth to check for holes
after rechanging the problem brushes back to solids is worth
the smaller file size though. :hmm:
I guess that would depend on the complexity of the map.
.
.
.
_________________________________________
Originally posted by Bot_40
If you really want to keep the size of the file down, do your final rebuild, then delete all the brushes.
_________________________________________
.
.
Yes, I have heard that before. But I haven't gotten as far
as releasing my maps online yet.
(though I have been making them for over a year :))
Well, I have shared them with a few friends with positive results. :D
.
.
_________________________________________
Originally posted by Bot_40
Semisolids don't make BSP cuts to the surrounding area leading to a lower node count. There are a few side effects however, such as collision errors, sometimes bot problems, and if you have a semisolid brush, I personally find you are more likly to get BSP errors on that particular brush than if you make it solid.
They also do not mix sell with zone portals, non-solids, or bots
_________________________________________
.
.
Oh, how true! I have learned those lessons the hard way. :lol:
.
.
.
Thanks for the info Bot_40!
You are a veritable cornucopia of useful info. :D

:biorifle:



:cool:

Seco_In_The_Bushes
11th Jan 2002, 06:15 PM
On the original topic, a suggestion from me would be to add a triggered or ambient sound of creaking wood on those bridges, and maybe make some of the planks missing.