PDA

View Full Version : Can somebody please help?


Dexter13
18th Dec 2001, 02:25 PM
Hi,
i have created a gun (with code, model, texture, etc.) for U.T, and everything compiles.
when i summon it in the game nothing appears although i can walk over it, and pick it up. no gun is displayed when i am holding it, but i can still fire.

does anyone have any ideas as to what i am doing wrong?

Lemoni
18th Dec 2001, 02:32 PM
CHECK MESHES IN DEF PROPS (IN UED RIGHT CLICK WEAPON AND PIC DEF PRPOS(I ABBREAVATED THIS)) TRY PUTTING THE PLAYER MESH IN THESE SETTING IF NOT THERE no garantees i a newby

DexterII
18th Dec 2001, 03:27 PM
Imposter! :D

Hunter
18th Dec 2001, 03:28 PM
couldnt u come up with something orignal?

Lemoni
20th Dec 2001, 01:24 PM
GROOOOWWWLLLLLL, what do u mean inposter?

2COOL4-U
20th Dec 2001, 02:27 PM
The guy who posted named himself Dexter13, so DexterII said Imposter :p

Lemoni
20th Dec 2001, 02:33 PM
oh ok sorry didn't realise , me is a lamo

Euphoric Beaver
20th Dec 2001, 04:15 PM
We know.

2COOL4-U
21st Dec 2001, 02:06 AM
w00t nice new sig mate!

Euphoric Beaver
21st Dec 2001, 05:15 AM
Thanks. :D:tup:
I redesigned my site and thought I'd make a new sig and av at the same time.

2COOL4-U
21st Dec 2001, 05:25 AM
As long as the lego pron is there, I dont' mind :)

Euphoric Beaver
21st Dec 2001, 05:34 AM
:lol:

Yep it's still there. ;)

2COOL4-U
21st Dec 2001, 12:40 PM
wweeeeeeeeeeeeeeee :D

L0sT(NDS)
3rd Jan 2002, 12:12 PM
Dex, You might wanna make sure U have a 3rd person mesh set up:

#exec MESH IMPORT MESH=mymesh3rdIVFILE=MODELS\MyMesh3rd3D_a.3d DATAFILE=MODELS\MyMesh3rd3D_d.3d

and the following line in UR defaultproperties:

ThirdPersonMesh=LodMesh'MyPackage.MyMesh3rd'

(these examples are for Vert based animation, it's relatively the same for skeletal, but I'm assuming UR using vert based)

on top of that, there are the usual third person animations (I can't say what kind, as I don't know what sort of weapon You're talking about) and texture setup, as every weapon MUST have a third person mesh for it to display properly.

and if U got the anims set up in fist person, then U probably know how to do UR uscript headers to define it's third person animations as well, or, the third person mesh could be unanimated and just sit there in the player's hand, the point is you MUST define a third person mesh, and any imported Mesh MUST have an animation file attached to it, even if the animation file has no actual animation in it.

Alos, out of curiosity, U got a link to UR weapon, I'd like to take a look ;)

//"Thank you for taking the AOL tour, what you WON'T see on your left is the tech support staff..."

TaoPaiPai
3rd Jan 2002, 12:49 PM
You have to setup 3 different mesh variables in the default properties:
PlayerViewMesh
PickupViewMesh
ThirdPersonMesh

Self explanatory