PDA

View Full Version : High-End rig playtesters needed


[IMD1]KillRoy
3rd Dec 2001, 08:34 AM
Heres my remake of CTF-ThornsV2

http://members.ams.chello.nl/ptbuys/images/thorns2002ed.jpg http://members.ams.chello.nl/ptbuys/images/thorns2002ed2.jpg

I dont need ideas or somthing, but I just need you to play the map on your high-end rig. I want to know what the FPS are on your machine with this map.

Please play the map with 13 bots for 5 minutes, then place your FPS stats here in this thread together with the Stats of your rig like this:

I have a 550 Mzh, 128 ram, G-Force 2 GTS 32 MB

AVG FPS : 45
LAst sec FPS : 30

It would mean allot!!!

Rukee
3rd Dec 2001, 12:19 PM
I played with 16 botts and found it easy to run up either side were it`s so dark and the botts hardly bothered me at all. Also...they got stuck in the water alot.

I have a Tyan s2390 MB 348mb pc100 Elsa Gladiac Ultra 64mb ....sound blaster live...everything set to max and running in open GL.
System soon to be upgraded to a Soyo sy-k7v Dragon MB (the altimate for overclocking...winner of the Tom`s hardware page shootout) with Kingston 256mb pc2400 and a 1.4ghz Thunderbird.
If santa brings me what I want!! :)

http://www.justwebit.com/sites1/42124/193.jpg

Hourences
3rd Dec 2001, 01:46 PM
erm, havent played your,map but if i look to the shotd i dont see lots of stuff that would slow doewn my pc, then why do you need a fast pc if its rather low poly ?

[IMD1]KillRoy
3rd Dec 2001, 01:57 PM
Well my rig is kinda old... :(

I get a 14 avg FPS if i have 14 players in the field doing there thing for 5 minutes. I have to use a low polycount because it is an open map (players/ items/ blasting etc also add to the poly count...

Because I have a low end rig (see the specs above), I was just wondering if it would play much better than it would do on my rig. Otherwise it would not be such a good idea to release it anyway...

@kuma
3rd Dec 2001, 02:09 PM
the best CTF map ever just got a high poly makeover? I'm all over that **** like white on rye, baby.


mmm, it doesnt go over 350/170 so the map isnt the problem, its the number of meshes onscreen & the bot AI....

Djazaus
3rd Dec 2001, 03:01 PM
(opengl/d3d bout the same) running on athlon 1800/512ddr/gf3/sbl/bleh... I think that tho the map is fun for ram-it-with-bots-and-blast-the-****-out-of-everyone-games, it really needs more paths, distance and z-action between the flags... More deco/architechture too:)

Chrysaor
3rd Dec 2001, 07:20 PM
There's already a ThornsV2 and Thorns][, heck there's a V4 isnt' there?

BTW, Thorns sucks. Face is better.

Lord Dill
4th Dec 2001, 01:09 AM
Originally posted by Chrysaor
BTW, Thorns sucks. Face is better.

Agreed, I don't like maps that don't require team work and are total chaos.

Chrysaor
4th Dec 2001, 01:23 AM
Hey dill what's ur IRC channel? we should have a match :D

I swear i've played against one of ur ppl b4

Lord Dill
4th Dec 2001, 03:19 AM
Well I don't play online anymore because i moved and am on a 56k now. I am still part of the [AxE] clan... just not a active player (me misses my DSL :( )

oh well, wish i could play online but my 56k forces me to have small lan matches with friends ;)

faderide
4th Dec 2001, 05:51 PM
I ran it for about 3 flags with 16 bots and didnt spend too much time on the sides.....
Average was 73fps

System: AsusA7V133(1006.01f beta bios, and Via4in1 V4.32 drivers)
Tbird 1.33g@1.33g(266fsb), 384 pc133 cas 2 ram, SBlive,Geforce2GTS Pro 64mb with 21.81 det drivers and GTU--card flashed to custom bios, non oc'ed), Win98SE tweaked hard.
Nice map!

Oh yeah..I was running in opengl(don't know about D3d, dont use it for UT)

TheRealFluffy
11th Dec 2001, 10:38 AM
Faderite, i have Windows 98SE also, can you send me a mail with some tweaking advice???? fluffy@spelletjesgarnaal.be

TheRealFluffy
11th Dec 2001, 10:40 AM
Rather old system?????? a 550Mhz?????, check out mine

http://fluffy.shrimpwars.be/ < click on about me!!!!!!!!!! THAT'S OLD!!!!

Hourences
11th Dec 2001, 11:20 AM
500 mhz = slow
your pc = antique

GMotha
11th Dec 2001, 12:43 PM
Watch out, hourences got a new pc...
Now he knows... you know what he kwnows, you know?

faderide
11th Dec 2001, 06:48 PM
Faderite, i have Windows 98SE also, can you send me a mail with some tweaking advice???? fluffy@spelletjesgarnaal.be

No problem..I love tweaking Pc's. Tweaking was my first Pc addiction before I found out about the Ued.
For some basic win98se tweaks go to my main website.....
www.geocities.com/ruiners_space/index
All these tweaks have been tested on many systems and are not
dangerous and wont hurt stability(they were all learned the hard way).
Theres nothing on my site about vid card tweaking, but if you
have a Geforce card I can help you get some major FPS gains in
this area too.
I'll mail you about the rest.

ProgamerZ
11th Dec 2001, 09:13 PM
Originally posted by Chrysaor
There's already a ThornsV2 and Thorns][, heck there's a V4 isnt' there?

BTW, Thorns sucks. Face is better.



ThornsV5 is the lastest thorns map out:rolleyes:

Chrysaor
12th Dec 2001, 10:21 AM
Originally posted by ProgamerZ




ThornsV5 is the lastest thorns map out:rolleyes:

Good lord, what's with ppl? there's a million face rippoff and probably 7 for thorns, can't u ppl do more than 200 brushes?

Hourences
1st Jan 2002, 07:54 PM
the number 201 is cooler

[IMD1]KillRoy
2nd Jan 2002, 10:34 AM
In the meantime, the map has chanced a bit, including the name: CTF-Thorns2002ED = CTF-FastandFurious

Here Some pics

http://members.ams.chello.nl/ptbuys/images/shot2.jpg
http://members.ams.chello.nl/ptbuys/images/shot3.jpg http://members.ams.chello.nl/ptbuys/images/shot4.jpg

Here the download:

[Rans0m4eveR]
15th Jan 2002, 09:02 AM
downloading now....

[Rans0m4eveR]
15th Jan 2002, 09:26 AM
too much chaos :)

[Rans0m4eveR]
15th Jan 2002, 09:30 AM
750Mhz Duron, 256MB RAM, Geforce 2 MX 32MB

32 bit, Medium World Detail, High Skin Detail, dynamic lighting and everything else, 1024x768.

phew.

[IMD1]KillRoy
15th Jan 2002, 12:08 PM
Thnx... :)

LXIXGTO
15th Jan 2002, 09:56 PM
Originally posted by faderide


No problem..I love tweaking Pc's. Theres nothing on my site about vid card tweaking, but if you
have a Geforce card I can help you get some major FPS gains in
this area too.
.
.
I just upgraded my card from a 16mb 1st gen. TNT to a 64mb Ge Force 2 MX. :D...
Any performance tweaks you could provide would be
greatly appreciated. :D

:biorifle:




:cool:

faderide
17th Jan 2002, 12:35 AM
Ill send you a Pm with some info.........