PDA

View Full Version : CTF Map Network playability


Poppa_Cap
2nd Dec 2001, 07:12 PM
I have built a CTF map and I tested it on my machine and it works fine. The problem is, that when I try to play it on a network, it gets to the connect screen but never goes any further than that point. I have tested other levels and they work fine. Is there some sort of setting that needs to be enabled or configured so it will work in a network game?

Chrysaor
2nd Dec 2001, 08:01 PM
You might need a texture package or a music file. Does your map have any extras that didn't come in the box? Without those, nothing happens :)

Poppa_Cap
2nd Dec 2001, 10:53 PM
Ya, there is one texture file and one sound file. I gave the person on the other end those files and told him the correct locations to place them. The only other question is:
Do I have to give him those two files every time I re-build the level? Do the original texture and sound files get changed when the "build-all" process has been initiated?

P.S. I like your picture of pulp fiction. That's a pretty good part. lol

Hourences
3rd Dec 2001, 01:15 PM
they dont get saved by rebuild, those files have nothing to do weith the map, ued doesnt need to change them , he only uses it

Chrysaor
3rd Dec 2001, 02:00 PM
As long as the texture and music files don't change you should have no problems. If u add some textures to that custom package and then work on it, the name of the tex packages may be the same but UT won't load the map becuase their different versions.

Poppa_Cap
8th Dec 2001, 10:46 PM
Oh!
Ok. I'll try that. Thanx.
:D :sniper: