PDA

View Full Version : expands versus extends


navboy
17th Nov 2001, 04:26 PM
i just noticed that hitting the New button in UED2 uses "expands" to do the subclassing, while all of the existing actors use "extends" .... Is there any difference between these?

Euphoric Beaver
17th Nov 2001, 05:23 PM
Expand is getting dropped in U2.

TaoPaiPai
17th Nov 2001, 07:08 PM
Originally posted by Ciced
Expand is getting dropped in U2.
Where did you get that info ?

Wormbo
17th Nov 2001, 07:18 PM
Well, there's no difference in Unreal/UT.

Euphoric Beaver
18th Nov 2001, 05:47 AM
http://www.esconline.org/unrealscriptFAQ-serve/cache/4.html


UnrealScript originally used "expands," but long ago switched to "extends," the keyword used in Java. The UT compiler supports both and treats them the same, but in the next version of the engine, "expands" won't work. So, always use extends when you have a choice.

Eater1
24th Nov 2001, 11:31 PM
Yup. Looks like some people are going to have a very fun time porting their mods to U2... Hehehehe...

Eater.

Raeled
25th Nov 2001, 09:09 AM
and uclasses uses expands :(

eXoR
25th Nov 2001, 09:14 AM
I think your UT mods/mutators won't work (without porting) with U2 anyways so I'll just continue to use UClasses with expands.

2COOL4-U
25th Nov 2001, 01:24 PM
I always use expands, never extends :/

usaar33
25th Nov 2001, 05:52 PM
it is dropped alright, but it isn't that big of a deal.
Your mod won't work without editing anyway.....

Captain Kewl
26th Nov 2001, 12:23 PM
You can hex-edit UClasses to use extends instead.