PDA

View Full Version : tiled screens


tarquin
27th Oct 2001, 11:22 AM
I've got a screen map to work, with a custom texture too! wahey!

slight problem with the tiling so far though. (I'm being dense :) )


Set the Width and Height properties of the master Screen actor to the total pixel width and height of the tiled scripted textures (not the total width and height of the screen brushes in world units). The slaves' Width and Height properties are ignored, so leave them as they are.


have I got this right?
The master screen actor's Width & Height set to the total width of height of all the screens in the set, ie the pixel size of the entire mosaic.
So for two tiles side by side, total mosaic size 512x256, the master screen is set to 512x256 and the slave has TileLeft=256.

Or: all textures used in the mosaic must be the same size, and the master's Width & height is set to this size.
ie. in my example, the master is set to 256x256.

[edit]
to summarize: does the master screen hold information on the size of the entire mosaic, or on the size of a mosaic tile?

tarquin
27th Oct 2001, 12:42 PM
got it.
I'll just answer my own question & slink out of here before anyone notices...

it's option 1. :)

Mychaeel
27th Oct 2001, 09:53 PM
Yes, you're right; Screen.Width and Screen.Height describe the total size of the "virtual screen area." You can actually arrange the partial screens any way you like; it's not necessary to actually put them border-to-border of each other.

...and if that "Subscribe to this forum" thingy had worked I would have given you this answer even before you figured it our yourself... sorry... :(

Monday..
4th Apr 2005, 12:30 PM
Use a Thumbnail program (easy thumbnails is free and v.good)..use can re-size the textures or whatever and make most issues a thing of the past..