PDA

View Full Version : Default UT properties......


Nemephosis
10th Oct 2001, 08:27 PM
I found out you can change enemies behaviour patterns, their attitudes to humans, default weapon properties, etc.

What I wanna know is, if I change these and try connecting to a UT game which has the defaults, will I get a UT mismatch error or something?

I know you can reset the defaults but is there a way to set "mass default" settings, as in everything at once?

If not, I can just take out the specific files, then replace them to get the defaults back, I'll bet. What files would I need to take out?

Thanks

someguy_99
10th Oct 2001, 08:55 PM
No clue in hell.

Nemephosis
10th Oct 2001, 08:57 PM
Then why the hell did you bother replying to this?

someguy_99
10th Oct 2001, 09:08 PM
To pass time. Again. This will probably be cut out, but what do you think of my diagram?

Nemephosis
10th Oct 2001, 09:25 PM
Please keep that in the appropriate thread if you know what's going to happen to it. Use some sense. :)

Postal
11th Oct 2001, 02:43 PM
If your using the set command

exit out of ut, and load it back up, all defaults reset

Nemephosis
11th Oct 2001, 04:09 PM
No, I'm not using the set command. If I was, I would have said I was.

Besides, I tried it and it didn't seem to work.

I mean in UED.

I can click on Default Properties and change them around, ie. unreali.nali

bIsWuss = False (default true)

AttitodeToPlayer=Hate (default Friendly)

Did you know the Nalis have a ranged attack?

Yeah, neither did I. They just never use it cause they're friendly, wussy, and they love you.

If I change these properties from UED will I get mismatch errors? And how can I restore the defaults then?

I know they won't change back when I start UT that's what I'm looking to do. I just wanna know if I try connectig to a game which has the defaults on can I get in or not? And what files would I need to back up to restore the defaults?

Postal
11th Oct 2001, 04:36 PM
I doubt there would be mismatch error for that is in unreali or unrealshare

heres what you do, copy botpack.u, unreali.u and unrealshare.u

made what ever changes you want

then when you want to play online, use your backups.

And dont you people at ModSquad ever review anything?

Nemephosis
11th Oct 2001, 09:24 PM
Thanks much Postal. I'll have to make copies of the original and the changed ones now. :)

And yeah we review, when there's stuff to review anyway. SAS is practically never gonna see the light of day. Defense Alliance is finishing up, I just hope it isn't a gigantic download. Although I fear it is.

Bytekeeper
12th Oct 2001, 08:04 AM
Hehe, we're really trying to keep stuff little and it is actually not too big imho.

About your first post:
Your can connect to a server with your custom default settings, but you will not see any effects, since the default settings are sent to you as a client from the server. IMHO you can change the values after you connected again, but it will only affect your local machine.

Nemephosis
12th Oct 2001, 04:06 PM
heeeyy it's a DA guy! cool...

so how big if your mod going to be? What's reasonable to you may not be to people on 56K modems.

So I can alter the defaults and still connect to a server? Cool, that's all I needed. Thanks :)

Psycho_Leech
28th Oct 2001, 04:24 PM
Killer Nali's? I'll try that.
I'll just write an exec though, I'm only going to mess around with default properties like that on my own mods.
What does IMHO mean?
I'm on a 56k, I can handle 20 megs using getright, so I should handle 40 megs with getright doing the download over a week or so, but only if it's really good, the problem is that by the time I'm halfway, fileplanet will have another update and for unknown reasons I then have to start all other while fileplanet falls apart. Or maybe I'm just being cynical.

FireSlash
1st Nov 2001, 08:48 PM
i think IMHO means In My Humble Opinion...

Nemephosis
1st Nov 2001, 09:08 PM
Humble, or Honest, either one I think.

Psycho_Leech
2nd Nov 2001, 11:03 AM
Acctually, it would probably be easier to hack the nali properties apart with UnrealED.
What is DA? How big is it?

Nemephosis
3rd Nov 2001, 01:45 PM
DA is Defence Alliance, and it's been so freaking long I don't even know what it's about anymore.

Smoke39
3rd Nov 2001, 08:52 PM
You deffend against a ton of bots, 'r somethin'.

Psycho_Leech
4th Nov 2001, 01:45 PM
What weapons do you get? Anything to the effect of akimbo flak cannons? I could hack away tons of bots with that(especially with an infinate ammo mutator or a very generous supply of ammo).

Smoke39
4th Nov 2001, 04:35 PM
I think they're a little more on the "real world" side.

Psycho_Leech
5th Nov 2001, 12:49 PM
DAMN!! Sounds pretty cool though.

Postal
5th Nov 2001, 05:33 PM
Looks like DA will be quite nice. Good models, and appears to be working.

Nemephosis
6th Nov 2001, 03:58 PM
Then why don't they finally release it to us? Maybe they're still uploading it cause it's like 300 megs ;)

naaah I dunno but if it's over 50 megs I likely won't bother on my 56K modem

Postal
6th Nov 2001, 07:20 PM
Agreeded

Thats why I am trying to keep the main section of C4 under 5 megs

Nemephosis
8th Nov 2001, 02:02 PM
Sure but all those booster packs you're talking about will still up the size of the mod. I mean you would have to get the packs too to get the whole experience so it's still gonna be huge.....