PDA

View Full Version : Extruder Masterclass


tarquin
9th Oct 2001, 02:48 AM
Alrighty.
Stuck with the extruder?
Daren't click on it in case it blows up your machine?
Can't work out how to do stuff with it?
Ask here, no matter how trivial & you shall be answered (though I reserve the right to an occasional dash of sarcasm).

You people had better post questions, or I'll be forced to assume that you're all having fun extruding stuff & I'll release a NEW, extra-complicated version of the extruder. Yes, one where you have to type in the QUATERNIONS yourself! (kidding :p )

could someone find a pic of a teacher in a mortarboard to put here? I think it would be amusing. ta.

LordKhaine
12th Oct 2001, 06:27 AM
/me feels he is qualified to use the Extruder to a a level 3a standard

PS. Random extruderness makes good caves :)

tarquin
12th Oct 2001, 07:20 AM
I really wanted to post a picture of Patti & Selma Bouvier stamping a driving licence for you, 3s... but I jsut don't have SC's google skillz :(

BitBasher
16th Oct 2001, 01:37 AM
Ya know, I just can't help but giggle when I read phrases like, "use the extruder tool", or "EXTRUDE THIS!". :D

Ok ok ok, family tech forum and all that. Er uh *cough*, um, I played with Tarquin's extruder tool *giggle*, and all I got was an eight inch sausage.

stomp stomp stomp stomp slam, insane laughter.

BB.

Notice how "rude" is part of EXTrudeR.

tarquin
16th Oct 2001, 03:58 AM
well I have a terrible filthy mind, and I must say I hadn't spotted that. So it's just you. pervert :D

(and hey, just to show, it was me that first said that the TakeThat song 'back for good' has a line about ... *cough* no, better save such depravity for OT ;) )

no-one has questions about using the damn thing...
[homer]I don't know if that's bad or good :(

(the frogurt is also cursed!)

Astyanax
7th Dec 2001, 05:37 PM
Hey tarquin, I made a nice looping with your extruder! I've attached a few pics of it.

If you wanna ride the looping yourself (it uses interpolation points), go to this thread (http://forums.beyondunreal.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=93194&perpage=30&pagenumber=2) to download the testmap.

First 2 pics are from the looping itself (not connected to other tunnels yet) and the 3rd pic has been taken while riding it (yes I'm up-side down!! :D).

tarquin
7th Dec 2001, 06:25 PM
wow!
very impressive. :D

TheSpoonDog
9th Jan 2002, 05:13 AM
i want it, give it to me now. I said gimme the loopy thing dammit.

SpoonDog (thespoondog@planetunreal.com)

Hunter
12th Jan 2002, 04:27 PM
what i wanna know is does it propell u through it?

TheSpoonDog
12th Jan 2002, 07:07 PM
easy enough to do :) As long as the loopy thing is constructed okay.

Hunter
13th Jan 2002, 08:44 AM
so i can run into it and get pushed thorugh?

Astyanax
13th Jan 2002, 10:54 AM
Originally posted by |-|UNTER
so i can run into it and get pushed thorugh?

The looping uses interpolation points, like the city intro. Touch the trigger and to start the looping.

The idea is to insert this looping into a high-speed tunnel system (which I've already done now). After entering the tunnel system, you approach the looping at high speed; when you're very close to the looping, you'll trigger the interpolation path, which will make you go upside-down :D through the looping and release you at the end, so you can go on through the high-speed tunnel till you reach the enemy base. :)

TheSpoonDog
13th Jan 2002, 10:20 PM
w00t!

Hunter
14th Jan 2002, 02:20 PM
ok so i dont need to put any triggers or anything?

Astyanax
15th Jan 2002, 11:09 AM
Run the preview map and you'll see what I mean! :)

Hunter
15th Jan 2002, 12:34 PM
yeah i will

yuriks
9th Oct 2004, 08:24 PM
yes, you DO need trigers to signal the game to make the player follow a path and...do the l-o-o-p! (with crystal voice.)

Never got anything decent from your extrude :) i have not played with it long enought.

CerberusPup
17th Sep 2005, 08:38 AM
Ok i installed as instructed but i get this critical error message everytime i start...any ideas...never claimed to be intelligent so if i made some stupid mistake just smack me and ill come around...thanks for you help ahead of time.

CerberusPup

Build UT2004_Build_[2004-09-02_05.02]

OS: Windows XP 5.1 (Build: 2600)
CPU: AuthenticAMD Unknown processor @ 2012 MHz with 1023MB RAM
Video: No Video

Bad expr token 3f

History: SerializeExpr <- (3F) <- SerializeExpr <- (B3) <- SerializeExpr <- (07) <- UStruct::Serialize <- (Function TarquinExtrudeBuilder.TarquinExtrudeBuilder.mod_FloatFloat) <- UFunction::Serialize <- LoadObject <- (Function TarquinExtrudeBuilder.TarquinExtrudeBuilder.mod_FloatFloat 5937==5937/62498 5903 71) <- ULinkerLoad::Preload <- PreLoadObjects <- UObject::EndLoad <- UEditorEngine::Init <- UUnrealEdEngine::Init <- InitEngine

CerberusPup
17th Sep 2005, 09:54 AM
problem solved...thxs