PDA

View Full Version : Will U II work with (GeForce 2 MX400 64MB)


tuto
8th Oct 2001, 02:32 PM
Will my Video card work when U2 is release or I will have to get a GeForce 3 to play it. I just want to know because as soon as this game comes out I be a the door of my store looking for it and I want to play right away. Just making sure my video card will be compatible. Thanks if you guys can help me with an answer.

Tetris L
8th Oct 2001, 03:01 PM
Rest assured, it'll work just fine. Any hardware T&L card should give you acceptable framerates. Probably Legend will even add a software T&L mode for non hardware T&L cards, but they won't guarantee good performance in that case.

A GeForce 3 (or any other card supporting DirectX8 shaders) will allow you to see a few exclusive special eyecandy effects that you won't be able to see on other cards though.

tuto
8th Oct 2001, 05:12 PM
Originally posted by tuto
Will my Video card work when U2 is release or I will have to get a GeForce 3 to play it. I just want to know because as soon as this game comes out I be a the door of my store looking for it and I want to play right away. Just making sure my video card will be compatible. Thanks if you guys can help me with an answer.


thank you very much for the repply, I think I feel safe now with this card.

Tetris L
8th Oct 2001, 11:00 PM
Certainly it's not just a matter of the video card. What CPU and how much RAM do you have?

IntRed
9th Oct 2001, 10:16 AM
L, don't you ever get sick of these will my comp work threads?
;)

Tetris L
9th Oct 2001, 10:26 AM
I *will* get sick of it when we get as many of these over here as they have over there, if you know what I mean. ;) But by now it is still okay.

tuto
9th Oct 2001, 06:29 PM
Originally posted by tuto



thank you very much for the repply, I think I feel safe now with this card.


I'm Running a Dual PIII 1GHZ server with 1GB of RAM, I use it for Rendering and Playing . I think It will work ok with that power, I was just a bit worry about the Video Card. Thanks again.

Wild Weasel
13th Oct 2001, 07:23 PM
:eek:

lucky bastard..

Master_Blaster[MASTER
14th Oct 2001, 08:24 AM
I'll beat that with my PII 233Mhz :D :p

The ultimate novice
14th Oct 2001, 05:57 PM
I've got a P4 1.5G, 256Megs RDRAM, and a GeForce 2. Now what sort of things will be exclusive to Geforce 3?

Major-Lee-High
14th Oct 2001, 06:26 PM
PIII Gig 425 ram geforce2

>E*V<seahawk
15th Oct 2001, 06:20 AM
Athlon 1,4; 256 Mb DDR; Geforce3

ravenus
15th Oct 2001, 09:15 AM
P5 3.4 Ghz, 1.5GB RAM, GeForce4 Ultra 128MB with supercalifragilistic terra-texel shader mangelwurzel.

Beat that ;)

grimstar
15th Oct 2001, 10:20 AM
I bought this new set-up yesterday. :)http://forums.beyondunreal.com/images/icons/icon14.gif
Still have to put it all together. :(

MainBoard: Abit KG7 RAID
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 1800
CPU Cooler: Global Win CAK38
RAM: KingMax 256DDR x4
Case: Lian-Li, bare-metal midi Tower all-Aluminium case
Power supply: Topower 350w ATX power Supply
Hard Drive: IBM Deskstar 60GXP 20Gb
Sound: Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum
Graphics: Hercules 3D Prophet III
CD Drive: Pioneer 16X DVD-ROM IDE Drive, bare Tray-loading drive
Monitor: Sony 25, GDM-FW900 ~Took my ages to find a place that had one in stock.

little red rooster
15th Oct 2001, 10:46 AM
Grim you make me sick.;)

I have an
athlon 900
512 sdram
19"monitor
Radeon 64meg

I am upgrading next year before U2 comes out

Master_Blaster[MASTER
15th Oct 2001, 11:13 AM
Hoping to upgrade to:
P4 1.5
512MB RAM
GeForce 3
40GB Hard Disk

But by the time i have the money for that I won't be very good anymore. I will get my dad to buy me one instead :)

ravenus
16th Oct 2001, 09:28 AM
Master Blaster's dad must be feeling so pissed at him.
He's been forever talking about how he's going to get him to buy such-and-such rig.

Major-Lee-High
16th Oct 2001, 02:35 PM
Yeah im not upgrading agin untill u2 comes out, if i have to for that i will!!

Hopefully i dont!

Phaeta1733
19th Oct 2001, 10:53 PM
setup:

Asus A7M266
Athlon 1.33GHz 266FSB --> 1.45GHz (overclocked)
512 MB PC2100 DDR --> 2.5,2,2 (overclocked)
Visiontek Geforce3

winter is nice for OC'ing :D

ravenus
20th Oct 2001, 11:41 AM
Make sure you got enough cooling there phaetal, or the hot rig might jut fry out.

Phaeta1733
20th Oct 2001, 01:28 PM
oh yeah, the cooling situation is under control.

HSF: taisol copper with delta black label (noisy but good)
case: Enlight but Lian Li PC 68 on the way

although i must say the thing that most improved cooling for me was lowering room temperature. i keep my window open a crack, knowing that my athlon will provide more than enough heating for the room. :D

Zaphrod
20th Oct 2001, 11:13 PM
Originally posted by Major-Lee-High
PIII Gig 425 ram geforce2

Um 425 RAM, are you sure about that?

Master_Blaster[MASTER
21st Oct 2001, 04:31 AM
Hmmmm, that does sound a bit odd