Making mods for UT ... Have I missed something?

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

prsFnuque

Sep 26, 2001
Copenhagen, Denmark
Visit site
Hi guys!

I am very new to UT modding (in fact, I know about nothing about it) but i've done a little quake 3 programming...

When making mods for UT:

1> Is the SDK free for d/l or do I have to sign up somewhere? (Can't seem to find it, though)

2> How much of the game is "changable"? Or do I just overload the methods with the Unreal scripts? (note that I might not even have a clear idea of what these scripts are ;) so plz keep the flames at a minimum )

greetings from Denmark,
prsFnuque

phillys

Continuing the Legacy....
Aug 31, 2001
Home @ Malaysia
www.youth-fellowship.vze.com
Welcome to your new home :)
Answers:
1) You dont need to buy anything or download anything to make mods or mutators or map or skin for the mutator. You can use various things for different jobs like UnrealED(came with UT) for mapping, coding(minor not hardcore) and also [something else]

2) You should go around asking people on how to make this, make that and people will surely help you as people in here are EXTREMELY HELPFUL and let me emphsize that, EXTREMELY HELPFUL.

I myself is very new to the Editing skin and you are not recommended to start modding right away since you have to make yourself at home here and feel cozy with the enviroments of UT.

Hi, I am Psychotic Fighta. Your first friend here if you have none yet :D

FireSlash

Whats a FireSlash?
Feb 3, 2001
Central Ohio
www.unrealannihilation.com
Originally posted by prsFnuque