PDA

View Full Version : Where to get the best Voodoo 2 drivers?


Striker
3rd Dec 1999, 09:28 AM
There's been a lot of helpful threads on where to get the Diamond MX300 sound card drivers. I appreciate all the advice on that topic. Now, what are the best drivers for the Voodoo 2 card and where can I get them? --Thanks

GetFried!!!
3rd Dec 1999, 09:54 AM
I get all of my Glide reference drivers from 3DFX's website www.3dfx.com (http://www.3dfx.com) They seem to have the best quality drivers available. Hope that helps, as that is about the best place to go for reference drivers.

http://www.planetunreal.com/images/bullet2.gif
Chaos, Panic And Disorder...My Work Here Is Done.

Meister
3rd Dec 1999, 10:15 AM
I'm not sure about that. When I tried the 3dfx drivers, I lost some FPS. It also corrupts text on some menus in the game SIN. Plus I get wierd pallette problems in Tribes. The only reason I tried them was to run Q3A.

I have the ideal setup now(I have a Diamond Monster V2 12meg):

I use Creative Labs drivers(for their 3D Blaster V2, works fine with my Monster V2) AND to run Q3A, I installed the Wicked 3d MiniGL(I used Creative's, but they haven't updated it to work with the latest version of Q3Ademotest).

This setup gives me the best of both worlds, the fastest possible FPS while being compatible with all my games(without bugs).

[This message has been edited by Meister (edited 12-03-1999).]

GetFried!!!
3rd Dec 1999, 10:29 AM
Kewl. I was not aware of all that. I have STB VooDoo Cards, which 3DFX now owns, so that is where I go. As for OpenGL and stuff, I use my Creative 3D Blaster Savage 4 Pro 32 MEG. Anywho, I stand corrected =)

http://www.planetunreal.com/images/bullet2.gif
Chaos, Panic And Disorder...My Work Here Is Done.

Mr. Clark
3rd Dec 1999, 10:41 AM
What about a V2 1000 PCI? Am I stuck using the 3DFX reference drivers? or will other drivers work with it?

http://www.planetunreal.com/images/bullet2.gif
"In my business... I have another motto. It's 'Live and Let Die.'"

Meister
3rd Dec 1999, 11:38 AM
Mr. Clark,
You can try using other drivers. If they don't work, just uninstall and reinstall the 3dfx drivers. I think they will work fine tho, as most V2 boards(except the Canopus Pure 3d2) are almost identical(very close to reference design) except for things like TV out.