PDA

View Full Version : light with out a source!


toxikcunk
1st Sep 2001, 02:39 PM
u see, i am making this map and i went through and added tourches and light, but when i play the map, there is light but no flame.

can someone please help me out here???????

Machismo
1st Sep 2001, 03:00 PM
right click on your fire texture go to surface properties and check Unlit. rebuild the map and play it now u should be fine :)

Zaphrod
1st Sep 2001, 07:51 PM
How new are you to Ued?

You know when you add those little things called light actors that little picture of that torch doesnt show up in game, it is only to represent the light source.

If you want a flame you have to add sheet brushes with a masked translucent fire texture . Have a look at how the flames were done at the top of the towers in CTF-Face for an Idea how they should be done.

kvak
2nd Sep 2001, 08:12 AM
If you open de actors screen and open up the "lights" sub-menu, you'll find the torch flame actor in there. This torch flame looks better than sheet based torches. Note that it itself is a light source using dynamic lightning, so it might slow down your level.

- To switch of the dynamic lightning open the "torchflame-properties", go to "advanced" look for something like "lighttype" (I think), switch this to none.
- To scale down your light go to "advanced" again and decrease the "drawscale".
- To change it into a different kinda torch. Select a nice torch texture, under "advanced" again open up "multiskins" and add this texture under skin no. 2 by hitting the use button. If you're using a different color of torch you might want to add a black texture under skin no. 1
- To turn of the lightning simply set "lightbrightness" under lightning to 0

rmcollins3
2nd Sep 2001, 10:58 AM
That's true, but I don't know about torchflame actors looking better than sheet flames. You have more variety with lighting and texturing with sheet flames.

Zaphrod
2nd Sep 2001, 03:36 PM
Kvak, the Torch flame actor is nothing more than a sheet based torch that has been made into a mesh. It looks identical to a sheet brush torch. It is easier to use but it doesnt have the flexability.

You dont have to use the dynamic lighting of the torch actor if you dont want to and I always add a seperate light when I am using a dynamic light because otherwise when yuo turn of dynamic lighting you have no lighting at that point.

toxikcunk
2nd Sep 2001, 06:53 PM
thanks Machismo i will try it and see if it works.

and zaphrod, i am not new to ued, and i know that the little tourch just represents the light source.

Zaphrod
2nd Sep 2001, 08:23 PM
Ok, just checking, you never know.

kvak
3rd Sep 2001, 02:10 PM
Any other (torch) texture can be applied to the Torchflame-actor using the multiskins options.
Next to that a torchflame actor won't display the darkish edges around torches in software mode, like you see in many maps and a torch flame actor as far as I know behaves as an ordinary light, the only thing with it is the lightning is set standard to a orange like dynamic light, "firery wave or something".
Any of these options is editable.

Machismo
3rd Sep 2001, 02:20 PM
Originally posted by kvak
Any other (torch) texture can be applied to the Torchflame-actor using the multiskins options.
Next to that a torchflame actor won't display the darkish edges around torches, like you see in many maps and a torch flame actor as far as I know behaves as an ordinary light, the only thing with it is the lightning is set standard to a orange like dynamic light, "firery wave or something".
Any of these options is editable.

i used the mutiskin option on my map and been told it sucked big time 'cause of the way in which it shrinks or expnds the tex to fit the original tex.

oh hell what does it matter ;)

kvak
3rd Sep 2001, 02:32 PM
nope....:)