PDA

View Full Version : My XDSL seems to actually be working.. Odd...


the real pacman
19th Oct 2000, 01:36 AM
Well after about 4 formatting incidents and my third NIC card I am now able to play games again and even obtain a different IP at will!! Well things can't be so sweet can they? This all started when I tried to install Diablo 2 and I am about to give it my last and final attempt to play the damn game online. Wish me luck because if it doesn't work I fear that I will destroy my PC out of anger.

P.S. THIS IS MY ****ING 3RD NIC CARD!!

http://www.planetunreal.com/redeemer/board/upso.gif Ï Äm tHå MâsTõÖ® RøxXõ®

Christopher Webb
19th Oct 2000, 05:16 AM
I don't know too much about networks (i plan to correct that sooner or later), but good luck!!!

<insert cute/ interesting/ bizarre signature here>

Ballistophobia
19th Oct 2000, 09:44 AM
I only needed one NIC card. I got a 3Com NIC and a 3Com cable modem. I love this thing. I can get over a meg a sec. /infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
I usually get like 700 k/sec on DLs. Napster is great with it,I get most songs in 5 secs or so. /infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I had some probs with the card though Mega. I am experiencing one as I type this. For some reason,the USB plug for the card,or the card itself,causes anomalies and pops in anything mpeg based. Play an mp3,pops constantly,play a DVD,TONS of pops. As soon as I unplug is,no more pops. That is why I hope companies don't choose to use the mp3 format for sounds in games cuz when I play em online,that **** would be annoying. Gun fire with all kinds of static sounding pops would just ruin a game. /infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

the real pacman
20th Oct 2000, 01:19 AM
The NIC that I actually got working in this damn thing believe it or not, I got it from a second hand PC repair shop. It is
/start drumroll
D-LINK 10/100 ISA ETHERNET COLTROLER!
/me grins
I never thought that the new stuff was the problem. This one costed me only $4.99, and Canadian funds at that! LOL

http://www.planetunreal.com/redeemer/board/upso.gif Ï Äm tHå MâsTõÖ® RøxXõ®

Kung-FuGrip
22nd Oct 2000, 03:04 AM
Man what a POS!I think it's time for a new card Mega.I also tried a 3COM,but that sucked as well.
I have an Intel 82557 Pro PCI 10/100 now and I ain't goin back ; )

the real pacman
22nd Oct 2000, 05:19 AM
well mine is working just fine and its gonna stay that way as long as I'm around.

http://www.planetunreal.com/redeemer/board/upso.gif Ï Äm tHå MâsTõÖ® RøxXõ®