PDA

View Full Version : Several questions . . . .


Ocelot
19th Mar 2001, 05:43 PM
Hello all. I am fairly new to INF. a few questions here:

1. Does saving your character skin work in that when a server sets a certain camo, you will have the face, hat, and mask that you "set" for that camo? So, do I just save a face/hat/mask under each camo skin? Why does it always show the default arctic skin when you go there in the menu, and not show you what you saved in each set?

2. On a server, is it possible to set skins to match each map? ie. they change to fit each map. I think R6 did this. It is QUITE unfair to be red (desert, usually) in a map such as Dockside or Kosovo (night version, I guess--if there is a day version too (i dunno)). The woodlands totally blend in and the deserts stick out like sore thumbs.

3. am I the only one that sees squares around player shadows and footsteps? (geForce2 GTS 64MB)

4. can you see where a landmine is, before you step on it? LOL I have died in 2 different places on Extreme Prejudice due to what I believe are landmines. Scares the HELL outta me with my speakers and subwoofer. BOOM--AAAaaahhhhh! LOL

5. What weapons can shoot through what surfaces. ie. walls, etc. And, are those surfaces brick walls, or metal walls/doors? Are there ricochets?
In Action HL, you can shoot the sniper rifle through multiple brick walls, floors, boxes, whatever--pretty cool, hehe. I haven't played that in a long time tho.

anyways, thanks.

[121st]Burton
19th Mar 2001, 05:53 PM
1. The server determinds your skin, but your model won't be changed. I don't know why it always shows the arctic skin per default.

2. I don't know if the server is able to change the skin on every map.

3. never noticed that on my Geforce 2 GTS (32MB)

4. The mines are always on the same spots.
And yes, I can see where they are lying. The texture is slighly different

5. With every gun (except the M3 I think) is able to shoot through walls. But not every gun can penetrate the same thickness. The Beretta is weak, while the Robar can go through quite thick walls.

http://www.burton.purespace.de/seal.jpg

Party's over ! *grin*

Ocelot
19th Mar 2001, 06:15 PM
hmmm . . . another question: is there any way to be completely stealthy? In HL, I can hold ALT, and walk, which completly cuts the footsteps sounds. Is there any way to do that in INF? (aside from prone, hehe)

StreetPreacher
19th Mar 2001, 06:26 PM
I have the same problem with the sqares (on a GeForce MX) around shadows, footsteps, and blood stains. This is apparent in regular UT as well as INF, and I believe it is a driver problem. But it's annoying as Hell and I wish I could figure out how to fix it. It's so unrealistic.

SP

DarkBls
19th Mar 2001, 06:26 PM
They are not a a thing like that. Anyway i think it could be added.

This feature have been discussed often..

<p align="center"><img border="0" src="http://unreal.infopop.net/OpenTopic/page?s=10009422&a=ga&ul=8280981901" width="208" height="300">

Ocelot
19th Mar 2001, 06:33 PM
DarkBls: What are "not a a thing like that"? which feature are you talking about?

DarkBls
19th Mar 2001, 06:38 PM
I'm stupid.
I replyed to the wrong thread... I must go to sleep... I think i need some repose :D

<p align="center"><img border="0" src="http://unreal.infopop.net/OpenTopic/page?s=10009422&a=ga&ul=8280981901" width="208" height="300">

Ocelot
19th Mar 2001, 06:42 PM
LOL, ok :D

anyone else have more comments on the above questions?

The_Reactor
19th Mar 2001, 06:54 PM
Well, getting a MP5 SSD and walking(not running!) near the walls and in the buildings can be stealthy enough.

---------------
The only way...

BA Baracus
19th Mar 2001, 06:55 PM
on my mac(PCI Radeon 32m DDR) i get the boxes around foot prints and things. [EDIT]: regarding post below - come to think of it, i don't think i've seen them in 2.85, but in 2.82 i got them even at 32bit

i can see the landmine areas(texture above them is just a little bit brighter)

*all* weapons do shoot through walls, but afaik it only has to do with wall thickness, not what the wall is made of, i'm not a mapper but i don't think unreal is able to differentiate wall material, only thickness. for more info on wall penetration see this thread (http://unreal.infopop.net/OpenTopic/page?q=Y&a=tpc&s=10009422&f=76309922&m=5590917711)

currently the servers cannot switch skins for each map, although i think this is a good idea for the future.

for the skins, the first couple times i played it kept reverting me back to arctic(and yes i did save) but then it started saving like it should. and from what i've experienced, no matter what skin the server is using, i uses whatever option i have set in my character profile as far as hat/face/etc, don't have to set it up for every different skin(not even possible to do that anyway)

http://home1.gte.net/res02js9/t_cereal.jpg
i pity the fool who don't eat my cereal!

[This message was edited by BA Baracus on Mar 19, 2001 at 19:27.]

Eyes-Only
19th Mar 2001, 07:16 PM
Seeing how most have the questions are answered I will answer the mysterious square foot steps question on my Geforce2 MX 64mb all I have to do is put the color to 32bit..problem solved...well for me at least...pretty sure it will be for you also

http://mathiu.homestead.com/files/Eyes_Only.jpg

I_ABuGa
19th Mar 2001, 07:41 PM
referring to the boxes around the decals and certain textures, this is mostly a GeForce/TNT card problem. There are several ways to "fix" it. One is to do whut Eye-Only just posted. You can also try switching from D3D to OpenGL. I also noticed that some of my friends who have this problem dont have updated drivers.

Make sure you use the D3D or OpenGL dll from Unreal Technology site as they have are designed to optimize UT performance and quality.