PDA

View Full Version : Infiltration in Windows ME


Kleinicus
27th Oct 2000, 11:02 AM
Last night I downloaded Infiltration version 2.80. I already had version 4.28 of UT installed, but it was cracked. Infiltration did not work. Every time I tried to select Infiltration in the drop down box in "Start Practice Session" UT crashed and Windows gave me the following critical error message:

"UWindowComboControl Transient.UWindowComboControl1 (Function UWindow.UWindowComboControl.Notify:0000) Infinite script recursion (250 calls) detected

History: FFrame:: Serialize <- UObject:: ProcessEvent <- (UTConsole Transient.UTConsole0, Function UTMenu.UTConsole.UWindow.KeyEvent) <- UEngine:: InputEvent <- UWindowsViewport:: CauseInputEvent <- UWindowsViewport:: UpdateInput <- UViewport:: ReadInput <- AActor:: Tick <- TickAllActors <- ULevel:: Tick <- (NetMode=0) <-TickLevel <- UGameEngine:: Tick <- UpdateWorld <- MainLoop"

After this, I uninstalled UT totally, reinstalled it, installed the UT 4.28 Patch, installed Infiltration 2.80, and I received the same error message. I repeat the entire process again, only this time I downloaded and installed the UT 4.32 Patch instead of the 4.28 patch. I still received the same error messgae.
The only thing I can figure out as the problem is that I'm running Windows ME. I have a Pentium III 800 MHz, 128 MB RAM, a Voodoo4 4500 video card, SoundBlaster Live! Value sound card, and a very minimal amount of programs running in the taskbar, one of which is Norton AntiVirus 2000.
Someone please let me know what the problem might be. Thanks.
SHGK

element
27th Oct 2000, 11:39 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> "I already had version 4.28 of UT installed, but it was cracked." [/quote]

Hmm, what does this mean? Are you still running UT cracked?

Not meaning to be a ****head here, but I don't trust cracked things. Like if I go into a store to buy something, and it is cracked. I'd be like...nuh uh I don't want that one, it's cracked. See what I mean?

If you don't own UT, might want to get it, I think it is a great game and deserves our money.

If it was just the no-cd crack because you wanted to be able to run UT without having to put the CD in there, that's fine but not necessary with version 4.32

I'm not trying to accuse you of anything here, just trying to understand what cracked means.

Then there is the age old Chinese proverb RTFM, or perhaps that wasn't Chinese afterall. But sometimes I get to thinking it might be written in Chinese cause no one seems to get it. /infopop/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

-------------------------
Which button to call in an air strike?

Jody
27th Oct 2000, 11:41 AM
You are not supposed to start Infiltration fom within UT...
Infiltration has its own starter icon on your desk top if you complete the instructions properly...
It is clearly stated in the Online Manual..you will find a link on the News page.
Also read Troubleshooting forum and Announcement forum...
I also now see a link to the "Manual" at the top of this page next to "Home".

[This message was edited by Jody on Oct 27, 2000 at 11:47.]

Stompy
27th Oct 2000, 12:54 PM
I especially liked the "Chinese" part. MMmmm...chinese...but I digress. Did you just say that with the 432 UT patch you no longer need the CD to play? I've been toying with the idea of looking for a no-cd crack, but ultimately decided against it "just to be on the safe side". If 432 does it all by itself, that would be handy to know.

Kleinicus
27th Oct 2000, 01:20 PM
The crack I was talking about was a no CD crack. I do own the game, I'm just a lazy son of a b*tch and I don't like to take the time to put in a new CD every time I want to play a game.
Thanks for the info, Jody. I'll look at the manual. I just figured that I would still be able to run Infiltration the same way you used to be able to run it, in 2.75.
Thanks all.

I_ABuGa
28th Oct 2000, 11:23 AM
Kleinicus wrote:
>Every time I tried to select Infiltration in the
>drop down box in "Start Practice Session" UT
>crashed and Windows gave me the following
>critical error message:

You arent supposed to select INF from the drop down. Please read this (http://www.planetunreal.com/infiltration/manual/install.htm#spec) for correcting your problem.

shan
28th Oct 2000, 04:45 PM
Moved to Troubleshooting...

[b]Dedicated to providing the Infiltration community with a one-stop source for information and fun, friendly on-line gaming.</B


<a href="http://www.sgservers.com"><img border="0" src="http://www.sgservers.com/images/title_sm.gif"></a></p>